We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, average facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Hoi An Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Anantara Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hoi An Half Board Special
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely location, average facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was conveniently located along the river in Hoi An, just minutes from the old quarter. While they do try to offer a 5-star experience (service is good, breakfast is excellent), unfortunately the maintenance of the room itself was somewhat lacking. The bedding, though clean, was dank and smelled strongly musty. The bathroom sink tap did not work well, and the shower water pressure was weak. All in all, an inconsistent Anantara experience.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    112
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
79
290
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Whilst the resort is well located , the staff friendly , the food good it was not what we expected from the on line photos we used to make our choice .
The resort is more suited to bus tours and large groups so if you are a couple contemplating a more intimate setting like ourselves look elsewhere .
This was our 4th visit to Hoi an and we usually pay around $100us a night , the Anantara was double and did not deliver in terms of value .

Room Tip: If you can book a room on the river not with the busy road at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback and for your acknowledgement of our amazing location in the ancient city of Hoi An, for our friendly staff and our good food.

If I may also share with you over the years Anantara Hoi An has been a residence of choice for a multitude of satisfied individuals, couples, groups of families and friends and all round travelers from all corners of the globe. We have been fortunate to have received quite a number of positive guest’s comments and praises reflecting this in regards to the time that our valued guests have spent with us.

As General Manager of Anantara Hoi An Resort the team and I take tremendous pride in our guests satisfaction and I sincerely regret that we did not have the occasion to discuss your feedback in person while you were on property vs being advised in your chosen form. Please allow me to assure you I would have made every effort to ensure that you left with the amazing memories that make Anantara Hoi An so special.

On behalf of the team and I thank you again for your review and enjoy your future travels.

Thank you again and
Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Not being sure whether to stay closer to the beach or the city, we left our booking until the last minute, and so glad we did! What an absolute jackpot the Anantara was. Such a great location just minutes from the old city and markets, rooms are exceptional, pool incredible, great airport transfers and staff SO friendly and accommodating. We were made to feel so welcome and special being on our honeymoon from Martin and his staff, and the breakfast boat cruise with our personal tour guide Phung (peanut) was exceptional, looking after us throughout our stay. Free bikes and umbrellas very handy.

From our experience here, we'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic stay at Anantara. The location is great - a perfect leisurely ride into the Old Town.

The accommodation and grounds are lovely. What really stood out was the amazing staff - they were friendly and helpful and just really nice to be around.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Christina A

Thank you very much for your choice of Anantara Hoi An Resort for your place of residence whilst visiting the ancient city of Hoi An.

We are delighted that you have been able to create so many amazing memories as a result of staying with us and I would like to reserve a special word of thanks from our entire team for your generous recognition of their services.

It’s been a genuine pleasure to be of assistance and we do hope that we can persuade you to return again in the future.

Kind regards and a big thank you from the team and I.

Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Quite simply this one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Great staff and facilities. unbelievably good staff. Great pool but no fitness centre. What a delight. Would definitely recommend and go back!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear badja2014

We are sincerely humbled by your recognition of the team and all that they strive to achieve with our valued guests. Each and every one of us thanks you for your amazing review and we are delighted that you choose to stay with us here at Anantara Hoi An Resort during your visit to Central Vietnam.

I do hope that your allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not to distant future and if so please be encouraged to contact me direct should you require any assistance.

On behalf of the entire team and I, thank you again and we are delighted to be of service and glad you have had such a memorable stay with us.

Kind regards
The team and Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staymonth=11
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a beautiful Resort in an excellent position and offering great service. From our first step into our room which smelt like fresh lemons till we checked out 5 days later we felt as though we were the only guests. Very personal touches and friendly staff. Nice pool and close to the main hub of Hoi An Old Town.

Room Tip: Very roomy , separate sitting area, raised bed platform, separate bathroom and 2 outside day beds on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear larryjamespatrickm

Thank you very much for choosing to spend your vacation with us here at Anantara Hoi An Resort during your travels to Central Vietnam.

We do appreciate you taking the time to share your amazing experiences and we are delighted that your stay has resulted in such a great experience for you.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautifully restored colonial type building with a great feel good factor. The hotel is in a perfect position, at the waterside and also a few steps from the delightful old town. The staff are charming and professional and will do everything to help your stay. Our onward travel was quickly booked by the front desk team.
The bedroom was nicely furnished with a good amount of hanging and drawer space. However, the bedroom portion of the room was quite small and really not enough room for two people to move around eachother. The sitting area was nice to have but if you wanted to watch TV the only option was to lie on your bed. The bathroom was spacious and the towels and toiletries plentiful.
There is a nice pool area with good sunbeds, although there would not be enough for a hotel this size, should many guests want one.
The breakfasts are good, plenty of choice and good service.

Room Tip: if you are keen on a water view, then request this. All other rooms have a balcony sitting area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Awaywegoagain22

On behalf of the team and I thank you very much for taking the time to share your amazing experiences on social media and for choosing to stay with us here at Anantara Hoi An Resort.

We are delighted that your choice has resulted in so many amazing stories to share now and in the future regarding this unique destination, its people and culture.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future and should I be able to assist in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again and kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.