We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Hoi An” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Hoi An Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Anantara Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Anantara Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in Hoi An”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were deciding between the Anantara and the Essence Hoi An, and I think the Anantara was a good choice.

Location: Excellent location right outside of the Hoi An ancient town. Just a few minutes walk to the Yaly tailor shop, and about 10 minutes to the heart of the town. Also about 8 minutes walk to the Phuong Banh Mi shop. There is a walk path along the river that is accessible from the hotel. This offers a less crowded way into the town center. To go to the Danang, you'll need a car/driver/taxi.

Service: The services were professional and welcoming across the board. Check-in was great with the cold towel, drinks and snacks. A special thanks to Le, the food and beverage manager, who was wonderful. We talked to her during breakfast and she was a wonderful hostess. She was also at the restaurant during their various "happy hours".

Food: The breakfast buffet was nice, but I wish there were more Vietnamese food. Mostly western, but they do have a pho bar. The cafe sua da was very good.

Gym/Pool: They do not have a gym, but there is a nice pool. Not for laps, but more for lounging and dipping. It was clean and in good condition - I'm not sure about the previous complaint of it not being clean. After a day of walking around, it's a great place to relax before dinner.

Room: The room was nice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    109
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
272
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
E Anglia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Well positioned by the river and on the edge of town (easily walkable).
Big room, big bed, very clean with a big bathroom and all you could want. Staff throughout our stay were wonderful – polite, helpful and accommodating. Food was good, fresh and plentiful for breakfast. Elsewhere on the site the food service was up to the same standard.
All facilities we used were of a high standard and the pool area was great.
Would certainly recommend this hotel even for a longish stay (we were there two nights).
One tip - No 1 Laundry across the road – great quick, cheaper service!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My spouse and I spent two nights at the Anantara Hoi An Resort (previously called the Life Resort Hoi An) in mid-March 2014. Although the Anantara is a member of the Global Hotel Alliance (GHA) and we could have booked through their website, we made our reservation on-line using the direct Anantara website. The GHA website seemed to offer different packages than the Anantara website; in particular, the GHA website offered packages that awarded frequent flyer miles. GHA operates its own loyalty program that you can apply to on-line.

The Anantara has a fantastic location in Hoi An, just on the edge of the Ancient Town. The distance is about a 10-minute walk from the hotel, through populated streets. A clear delineation does not exist between Ancient Town and the rest of Hoi An, other than the point at which Ancient Town becomes pedestrian only. Before we booked our room at the Anantara, we considered staying at one of the larger hotel chains outside of Danang, or at the ultra-luxurious Nam Hai, but we were thrilled that we chose the Anantara because its location let us visit Ancient Town whenever we desired. (The other hotels would have required us to take a shuttle or taxi transfer to the historic area.)

The hotel is located alongside the Thu Bon River, where guests can watch boats and fishermen sail by. (Boat traffic is light, so do not concern yourself that it might be noisy.) Many restaurants and shops are located just off the hotel property and between the hotel and Ancient Town. Especially entertaining are the eight+ women with stalls outside of the hotel entrance who rush guests with offers to do their laundry (they even have business cards). The women are friendly and amusing, so even if you do not need to have your clothes cleaned, you may want to purchase cold non-alcoholic drinks to take back to your room for a much lower price than drinking the mini-bar items. (Alcoholic beverages are for sale at shops a bit farther down the street.)

When we arrived at the Anantara, the staff greeted us with chilled towels, cold lemonade, and crispy dried fruit as a welcome treat. The manager personally welcomed us, and he thanked us for using the Global Hotel Alliance program.

The Anantara Hoi An property offers several dining establishments. Lanterns restaurant enjoys a second floor, semi open-air location. Lanterns serves a lovely buffet breakfast, with hot and cold selections, pastries, and cooked-to-order egg dishes. Lanterns also serves an a la carte dinner. Located downstairs from Lanterns is the Riverside Cafe, a black-and-white checkered space with both indoor and outdoor seating that is open for breakfast and lunch. The Heritage Bar, with indoor and outdoor seating, is an attractive place to have a drink and / or meal. Guests can also order a meal or drinks at Reflections, the poolside bar and restaurant. The main “restaurant” building also houses the spa. This hotel does not offer a fitness center, but a walking / jogging / biking path is located alongside the river. A small boutique that sells unique handicraft items is located off the open lobby.

Wooden lounge chairs with blue cushions positioned beneath palm trees surround the outdoor swimming pool, constructed of dark blue tile and dark blue stone. A small restaurant / bar called Reflections near the pool offers chair-side service, or guests can choose to dine more traditionally at tables and chairs. Near the pool is an activity desk, and the passageway / hallway nearby contains a small lending library. The grounds of this hotel are a compact but peaceful oasis with foliage, water features, gazebos, and stone pathways; we wish that we had more time to relax there! The hotel has 10+ bikes that guests can borrow. In addition, the hotel owns a long tail boat that guests can hire (including a captain) for a scenic boat ride or picnic. On-site at the Anantara, guests can take a lantern-making class, cooking class, or painting class.

The Anantara Hoi An has 93 rooms and suites in several different categories (Deluxe Room, Deluxe Balcony Room, Junior Garden View Suite, Junior River View Suite, and Anantara River View Suite) that are spread throughout two main buildings. The design of the main buildings of this hotel is clever because an interior (yet inaccessible) courtyard space exists between the two sides of the building, thereby giving every room windows at its front (in the living area) and at its back (in the bathroom).

Each building contains either two or three floors. Every room has a split-level design, with a lower lounge area and an upper bedroom and bathroom. We booked a Junior River View Suite, which was located on the second floor of the building nearest the river. (Foliage may obscure your view if your room is located on the ground floor.) Each room has a patio / relaxation area with two daybeds. The patio is a few steps up from the main walkway of the hotel, yet it is open to the passageway. At the Anantara, access your room by entering through the patio (unlike most hotels, where you access the patio by walking through the room). Because all of the patios open onto the public passageway, other guests walk by as guests relax on their patios; however, everyone maintains a degree of anonymity and does not try to engage others as they walk past them. This hotel still uses big old traditional metal keys. The doors to our room locked by themselves, so when we went out to sit on the patio, we had to take along our key or risk being locked out. (Was this an issue only with the door to our particular room, or did all of the doors function the same way?)

Our Junior River View Suite had two levels: the living area, and then a few steps up to the sleeping area, off which was the bathroom. The living area featured a sofa, loveseat, coffee table, and a small desk and chair. The bedroom area held a king-size bed (decorated with flowers and a towel animal upon arrival), two nightstands, and a closet / entertainment center combination that contained the mini-bar, electronic safe, and television as well as two closets. Although we could easily hear the television from the living area, it was difficult to watch the TV from there. A complimentary fruit bowl on the coffee table in the living area offered unique fruits such as dragon fruit, jackfruit, star fruit, mangosteen, and rambutan. The hotel thoughtfully provided a little booklet on the various fruits so that guests knew what they were eating.

The double-wide sliding doors that lead from the bedroom area to the bathroom provide plenty of privacy. A step-down enclosure open to the rest of the room contained the shower. Because a shower curtain did not surround the shower, it took some time to adjust to the open design. The rainfall showerhead and the hotel bathrobes and slippers made the room feel spa-like. The bathroom featured lots of tile and was light and bright because it had several windows. The windows in the shower area are made of opaque glass blocks, but the other windows near the sink and the toilet contained mini-blinds for privacy. This ecologically minded hotel offers refillable ceramic bottles for their toiletries (shampoo, body wash, lotion, but NO conditioner).

The hotel offers maid service twice daily, and will exchange used sheets and towels at both times. The service staff works in pairs / teams; they are demure and polite, and they remove their shoes before they enter your room. As with every hotel room that we stayed in Vietnam, the air conditioning in our room at the Anantara worked well to keep our room chilly.

We liked this hotel, and we loved charming Hoi An. Next time, we might even upgrade to the only Anantara River View Suite for an even more luxurious experience!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fantastic position. Never before wrote a review while still on holiday but the staff here really deserve a great thank you. Absolutely nothing to much trouble.
Problems charging moble, no problem we lend u a phone!!
Barmaid turns massure in helping hubby with neck pain.
Great rooms. Good breakfast everything u need for a fantastic time and thank you Ananatara for the lovley cake and flowers for my birthday it was an unexpected lovley toutch. So pleased we are staying here!!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I recently spent 3 delightful days at this lovely resort in Hoi An. We upgraded at very little extra cost to a riverview unit where we could enjoy the comings and goings of fishing boats and other water traffic from the comfort of our 2nd floor balcony which had most comfortable seating for leisurely relaxing. Service from all areas was exceptional and the facilities are top notch.
Our room was spacious with a huge bed, good quality linen and furnishings and a huge bathroom with excellent toiletries. The weather was very hot and each time we returned to our 'haven' we found that towels had been replaced, more drinking water than we could ever use provided and little touches made us feel really pampered. Breakfast is excellent with a wide range of the usual Asian and European choices - the fresh juices were some of the best we've found in Asia/Pacific resorts. The pool is sparkling clean and beautifully equipped with comfortable loungers and a delightful luncheon area for those who want to spend a few hours just enjoying the resort's surroundings. A river cruise on the resort's own boat was money well spent - most interesting trip to see fishing activities and villages while a 'snack; consisting of wine or beer and numerous canapes was served by a charming hostess from the resort who accompanied us.
We would recommend this resort without hesitation to those who want a comfortable haven just moments from the bustle of Hoi An town.

Room Tip: Level 2 or 3 facing the river is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Anantara was like a quiet oasis in Hoi An, the staff were so lovely and accommodating, they even managed to teach us a few new words in Vietnamese!

We loved our time there, the only suggestion i could make for improvement wuld be the bathroom doors; they were quite thin and so any noise made seemed to travel into the room

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hoi An itself is a wonderful part of Vietnam and was the first stop on our travels in this lovely country, so the Anantara Resort hotel was an ideal setting from which to enjoy the old town. The casual luxury and friendly atmosphere of this wonderful resort was absolutely lovely, and from the moment we arrived, to be welcomed by the general manager, until the time we had to leave we were made to feel at home. Breakfast on the terrace was superb - fresh fruits, a huge selection of dishes to suit any taste and staff always on hand to tend to every need. The pool was very relaxing too, so after a hard day's tourism, it was a great place to come back to to cool off.

Ideally located, we would strongly recommend the Anantara as a little bit of opulent luxury from which to enjoy Hoi An and it surround. Truly special.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.