We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Hoi An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Hoi An Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Anantara Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

A group of us stayed for 3 nights early August 2014 - the staff were very welcoming & friendly, especially the bell boys who were very helpful in helping us with the SIM cards we bought for our mobiles, helping us explain to the taxis our requirements, and of course with our bags.

The buffet breakfast has a big spread with lots of variety, and the waitstaff there are excellent, and remember you the next day when you go.

We stayed at the garden junior suites which are very comfortable - I didn't really like the dark wood they use but that's just a personal preference. The bed was comfortable and the lounge area was large enough to fit in extra beds if we wanted to. But the rooms could do with extra lighting as it was pretty dark even with all the lights turned on. The bathroom and shower area are well laid out and spacious.

An who works at the hotel's spa is very sweet and gives a good massage. Too bad they don't have a hair salon though...

The best bit is the hotel's great location - you could walk to anywhere, whether it was the restaurants, cafés or the shops.

I'm bringing my family back end of December, and am happy to say that we will stay at the Anantara again.

Room Tip: The room layouts for the deluxe rooms & the suites are similar. The only differ in size - 36sq m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear MWLing

Warm regards from Anantara Hoi An Resort and on behalf of the entire team and I thank you for your amazing review, for staying with us and for choosing to return again in December this year.

We are just thrilled that your time has resulted in so many incredible experiences and amazing stories that you have very kindly shared on social media.

I would be delighted to offer any personal assistance that you may require regarding your next stay in December and wish to thank you once again for choosing to stay with us while visiting the unique ancient city of Hoi An.

See you in December and best regards
The team and Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    158
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
114
421
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ilford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just returned from fortnight stay at this wonderful hotel. Location, accommodation, food all fantastic and exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Amazing garden area around very attractive pool. Cannot wait to return. Elaine & Jeff Shaw.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Elaine & Jeff

We are extremely happy that your two weeks with us at Anantara Hoi An Resort has resulted in such an amazing collection of experiences and encounters for you both.

We will be just thrilled to have you back again and we also cannot wait to welcome you to this beautiful city of Hoi An.

If the team or I may be of any assistance at all regarding your next trip please feel free to contact me.

Thank you both again and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights which wasn't long enough for us. We had a lovely ground floor room overlooking the pool. I agree that the pool wasn't deep, but it was just right for me at 165 cms.

Loved the food and the staff were courteous and very friendly. The restaurant was up a flight of stairs and therefore not suitable for those with a disability.

The hotel is at one end of the town and we enjoyed walking via the shops to the market. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to back there again one day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear 1JEH

Thank you very much for your amazing recommendation of Anantara Hoi An Resort and for choosing to stay with us during your time visiting Vietnam.

I am delighted that your visit has resulted in a wish to return and I would be more than happy to assist in any way should you require it. Thank you also for taking the time to share your amazing stories on social media

On behalf of the team and I we do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nothing to complain about, but nothing really to praise. Room was fairly spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Service was good. Stayed here as a couple when it was still the Life Heritage in September 2011.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Moe2007

Looking forward to welcoming you back now that we are the proud Anantara Hoi An Resort.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We had 4 nights at Anantara in June and loved the location. It was walking distance to the Towns many restaurants and quaint bars. The staff were very friendly and helpful in all areas of the resort. The pool area was lovely although the pool is quite shallow. We had a riverfront suite which was nice although the rooms were quite dark. We would stay again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear lexyAustralia

We are very happy you have chosen to stay with us at Anantara Hoi An Resort during your time visiting Vietnam.

Thank you very much for your recommendation of our resort and for wishing to stay with us yet again, we do hope this does come true and is not to far away as we would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Thank you also for sharing your experiences on social media and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was our 4th stay here, our first two stays were as Life Heritage and the last two as Anantara. The resort is just as it was on our first stay, lovely rooms, grounds, pool and all immaculately maintained. The garden view room while being their base room is lovely, of ample size and contains good quality bathroom amenities and supplies you with copious bottles of water daily.
All the staff are really lovely and have the most amazing memories, lots of them remembered us from our first stay when we were there for our daughters wedding (held at a beach resort).
My husband needed medical assistance in the last few days of our 10 night stay and Noel and the reception staff were all very helpful in arranging appointments at the Da Nang Hospital (where he received excellent treatment) A BIG THANK YOU to all of you.
The only negatives I could find would be while the breakfast is good it's still the same as on our 1st visit, and often the food in the warmers was luke warm at best. Personally we'd prefer more Vietnamese food there, but I realise that lots of tourists just want western food. Each of our stays have been long stays so we have had time to become bored with the food, if your only there a few days or a week you probably wouldn't think this at all. The meals we had at the pool and as room service were excellent, actually better than the one we had at the Heritage Bar.
We got a good deal though Otel.com as booking direct with the resort since becoming Anantara is now out of our budget which is a pity as I've always preferred booking direct.
We hope that we are able to return again in the future and spend time among all the lovely Vietnamese community.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear netteTasmania

Warm regards from Anantara Hoi An Resort and thank you very much for your amazing patronage of our property and we do look forward to welcoming you both yet again.

On behalf of the team and I it has been a pleasure to serve you for the time that you spent with us and to also be of assistance during your recent medical issues of which we do hope has had a very positive outcome.

We hope you will be able to return again and in the not to distant future and I would be honored to be of any assistance that you may require for your next trip.

Thank you again and kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay here.
The hotel is not overly big, hence it's a nice quiet environment.
We had a river view suite, where you could watch the river traffic (although not that busy), the room faced away from the gardens & pool area, so it was very quiet.
It has a nice pool area with a bar.
The pool is not very deep, so it is great for just sitting in and cooling off.
The room was fantastic, the decor was modern, the shower & bathroom fantastic and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The room also had a nice sized lounge and a patio area outside with a couple of lounges.
The restaurants were good also, there was a wide variety of foods for each course & the staff were very attentive and well trained.
The hotel is very well situated, only a very short walk to shops, markets and attractions.
The staff were very nice, always polite, courteous and friendly.
I would recommend staying at the Anantara........sadly we couldn't stay longer!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear TeeJayGee74

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Anantara Hoi An resort and for sharing all of your incredible encounters here on social media.

We are delighted that you have taken so many amazing memories with you and thank you also for your kind recommendation of our resort.

We will be absolutely delighted to have you stay longer on your next trip to the incredible destination of Hoi An and I will be honored to be of any assistance that you may require for such a trip.

On behalf of us all thank you again and kind regards
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.