We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs freshening up although best option to be near town!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Hoi An Resort

Save Saved
You added Anantara Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer with FREE Spa
Ranked #6 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
NORTH WEST LONDON
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Needs freshening up although best option to be near town!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Although the Hotel was well situated a short walk from all the shops, restaurants, cafes & sights of the old town of Hoi An, it was a disappointment by South East Asian standards. The room was nice enough, and the service fine but not excellent. The pool area felt gloomy. There were insufficient staff there. They made no effort to see whether clients wanted a drink, perhaps the offer of cool towels might have been good. The breakfast was pedestrian, the staff were helpful enough but seemed to lack professionalism. There seemed to be an absence of management & training compared to other hotels in the region. This hotel is okay but has the potential to be very good or excellent given its privileged location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear NW2Foodie:

Thank you for staying at Anantara Hoi An and for taking the time to share your valuable input with TripAdvisor’s readers

Please accept our sincere apologies as it appears that we fallen short in providing you with the Anantara experience you are to expect and fulfilling our promise to create an amazing story from your visit with us team.

Thank you for bringing up your candid feedback to our attention and please be assured that I have personally reviewed all service delivery in the property and we have implemented the required actions to ensure any such experiences are not encountered again. Should your travels bring you back to Hoi An, please feel free to contact me directly so that I may assist and restore your trust in our commitment to Anantara.

Thank you again & Kind regards
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    81
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
205
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to go back the minute I left! I'd go again. I enjoyed the bustle of Hoi an but it was tranquil to go back here and only a 5 minute walk. The staff were discreet but very helpful when you needed them. Our room was really nice with a private seating area in front. This was great if we didn't want to sit at the pool. Some of the poolside meals could be expensive but you were so close to the old town we mostly ate there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Amanda:

So glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service of our team!
Our oasis amidst the charming town of Hoi An is looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Cheers,
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We loved our stay here. First stop, and still suffering from jetlag, it was a relaxing start to our vacation. The Old Town is literally right outside the door of the hotel. Hotel staff were friendly and gracious, and provided valuable info on places to see and places to dine in the Old Town. Enjoyed morning yoga. If your class members are novices, they will cater to that level. Caution, yoga could be on a mat on concrete (not great) or in the covered, tiled area (better.)

Room Tip: We booked a river view. From our perspective we are glad we did. Garden views are pretty as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Jean S;

Thank you for choosing Anantara Hoi An and taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Glad to read that you enjoyed our yoga class and thank you for mentioning the location of the mats, we have shared your input with the team and this has been corrected.

Enjoy your journey discovering our beautiful country,

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,Enland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel and did not experience any noise from fellow guests or any tour parties.

We had booked a de luxe room but were up graded to a ground floor junior suite which was excellent. A huge room with a beautiful bathroom and everything we needed for a comfortable three night stay.Everything was very clean and hosekeeping was very good.

Breakfast was very enjoyable with a huge selection of food and drinks.

The only thing we could find to slightly critise was the swimming pool as we felt it was a bit small and shallow for the size of hotel but it was wonderful to use after a hot and humid morning sightseeing.The sun beds are a bit close together and if the hotel was full I'm not sure there would be enough.

The hotel is in an ideal position within a short walk from the market,river and the centre of Hoi An,we really enjoyed the walk even though it was very hot and humid in August.We also used the laundry just outside the hotel and received excellent service for a moderate cost.

We would certainly stay at this hotel again although we prefer smaller boutique type hotels.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Joandgr

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable input about your stay at Anantara Hoi An.
As you mentioned, the lovely historic town of Hoi An is just steps away from our tranquil and relaxing resort and a refreshing swim is a great way to refresh after a few hours of shopping.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantara Hoi An,

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were so looking forward to visiting Hoi An and staying at the Anantara. The hotel is well located near the old town and near several terrific restaurants, and from what we saw during our 2 night stay, the buildings were quite attractive. Our second floor river front suite was comfortable and quite large.

But this is a large hotel and there were at least 4 different tour groups staying at the hotel...not what I expected from a $235 per night hotel. And as expected with tour groups, they tended to be loud in the common areas. So it wasn't the serene experience we hoped for!

The staff seemed a bit harried and English seemed a problem for many. And with all the tour groups staying there and needing assistance, I didn't feel that the service orientation was extraordinary.

Breakfasts were expansive but I found the food fairly ordinary, well below the caliber of breakfasts at most of the other, smaller hotels we stayed in throughout SE Asia.

So, all in all, I was disappointed. I expected something much more than average!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear twofoodies:

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay.
At Anantara Hoi An, we are passionate about providing each guest with a highly attentive and personalized level of service. I was therefore disappointed to learn that on this occasion it appears we did not achieve this. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were left to feel disappointed.

On a positive note, I am happy to read that you were able to take advantage of Anantara Hoi An’s great location and that you were comfortable in the spacious river front suit. We pride ourselves on this offering and our guests often comment on the generous size of our rooms.
Notwithstanding, it was with concern that I came to learn of your experience with other guests during your stay, and I regret you found some to be loud in common areas. May I please request you to consider this an isolated incident, not reflective of a typical experience in our hotel.

I have noted your comments regarding certain team member’s conversational skills. Rest assured, we are actively and continuously identifying language needs for each staff member and run an ongoing and intensive training programme in this regard. We are also constantly reviewing our menu selection and we regularly change our offering to meet our guests’ expectations and preferences.

While I appreciate that these initiatives cannot make up for your stay, I do hope we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Should you be returning to Hoi An in the near future, I welcome you to contact me directly – I can personally assure you we will make every effort to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great hotel in great town!
We very much enjoyed our short stay in Hoi An.
The hotel was lovely and our suite was beautiful. The staff were brilliant and the breakfast was excellent.
Maggie particularly enjoyed the early morning yoga.
Apart from breakfast and one lovely light lunch, we ate out, so can't comment on the restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVANI Quy Nhon Q, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear George R:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Anantara Hoi An.

So delighted to share with the team your kind words about your yoga session with Maggie!

Once your travels bring you back to our lovely town, please visit us again!

Kind regards.

Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

what a fantastic hotel I would like to move in permanently the layout is terrific the service is so personal you feel like the only guest there it is walking distance to old hoi an and the food is fab
also so many restaurant's to choose just outside the gate they also have free push bikes for their patrons to use also silent movies of an evening to watch while having a drink in the gardens
the rooms are the best I have ever stayed in
try the spa

Room Tip: inner court yard it doesn't get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVANI Quy Nhon Q, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Gary:

So kind of you to share your experience at Anantara Hoi An with Trip Advisor’s readers.

We are delighted to read your great feedback about the personalized service of the team, our Spa and our Friday movie night.

Our team is passionate in creating an amazing and unique story for our guests and we thank you for letting us know we did!

Cheers!

Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.