We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient House Resort Hoi An to your Saves list
Ancient House Resort Hoi An
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tianjin, Tianjin, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the unique Ancient House Resort. Our stay was arranged through our tour service, Holidays Vietnam, but we would definitely consider staying at Ancient House again. We found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable (we are traveling with two young children) and we especially enjoyed the breakfast. The grounds are gorgeous, with beautiful gardens that make you feel quite secluded. We also thought the staff was very friendly and attentive. When we first checked in, our room had a very strong paint smell. After I informed the front desk, they immediately changed our room, no questions asked. Our new room did end up at the rear of the hotel, next to a restaurant/bar that played loud music, but that just meant we had a dance party with the kids before their evening baths and bed. :) If you're looking for something quieter, make sure you request a room at the front of the hotel or with a pool view.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel or with a pool view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    214
    61
    12
    4
See reviews for
92
247
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise to find such a nice, well appointed hotel in a tatty street. Breakfast was.a little above average. Bathroom was perfectly adequate. Every amenity was provided, shampoo, bath gel, etc etc. Four poster bed was unique.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel, from the staff to the actual place itself. The staff were friendly and very attentive, I really can't find any fault with the service. The hotel itself is lovely, with a gorgeous pool, which my husband and I really enjoyed after a hectic and hot day in Hoi An. Our room was spacious and spotless, the bed was comfortable and we slept like angels! I really don't understand how anyone could complain about this hotel, it's lovely and quite different from the other standard hotels, I really recommend it. Yes, it's not in the centre of Hoi An, but there's a shuttle bus and you can actually walk to the centre in about 20 minutes. Hoi An is touristy, but it's gorgeous and well worth a visit. Some people may have bad experiences, but you just need to be a bit savvy; we met some great Vietnamese people here and had the best food ever.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear simabo31,
Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!
Thank you very much for your recent stay at our Ancient House Resort as well as your GREAT review which i enjoyed reading.I'm delighted to read that you were sleeping "like angles" in our specious and comfortable room and you " can't find any fault with our friendly and attentive staff".I will pass you wonderful comments to my team and believe that your words are very encouraging.
Wish you and your family a happy festive season of the year at London !
Warm regards and we do hope for your return!

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

While the look and feel of the hotel is interesting and the rooms are spacious, the service and friendliness of the staff is rather disappointing. We have not tried the pool and it does not look inviting either. However, the hotel offers complimentary bicycles, if you are able to find a staff member who can find a lock and then it is a short ride into the old town of Hoi An (1.5 km).

You may enjoy the scenic location of Hoi An, when you go to the Old Town but also realize how touristic it is. And beware of scam, my wife got lured into a pedicure treatment for 1 USD and the girl who performed the pedicure also did hair removal and we ended up paying 35 UDS for pedicure and a 10 minute hair removal!! We blame it on us not having insisted to stop after the pedicure but the girl knew how to extend her service and than overcharge a tourist.

Hoi An is a tourist trap and you have to be conscious what you do!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Pete04129,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking time to review us and sharing your experience about Ancient House and Hoi An where's known as a friendly and hospitable destination.
I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us turned out to be disappointing and that you left with such bad impression about Hoi An.Especially what you had with beauty service in Hoi An town.
Unfortunately your comments about our service are rather non-specific.So we don't know how and what we have to improve!
Again, sorry that our service did not meet your expectation and hope to have a chance to welcome you back with better service.
Wish you enjoy the rest of your trip in Vietnam and have happy festive season of the year!

Best regards

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Suffolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This Hotel is situated on the outskirts of Hoi An half way between the Town Centre and the Beach.There is a free mini bus service throughout the Day and into the evening especially to the former.Check in was quick and easy after a 30 mins drive from Dah Nang.We were booked into a garden View Room overlooking the Swimming Pool.Room was large and spacious with en suite + a balcony.Room and en suite well appointed,spotless and spacious. Breakfast was very good with all the usual trimmings,freshly cooked eggs to your liking ,as well as the typical Vietnamese breakfast.Ate at the Hotel on the first night as we arrived quite late.Food quality was good as was the service.Pool area very clean with clean pool towels,pool clean although jacuzzi was no working,BUT that was not a problem.Spent several hours around the pool realaxing after hectic days exploring Hoi An.All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Ancient House.One minor point to bear in mind is that there are a lot of steps to negotiate in and around the Hotel so if you have mobility problems this may not be the best choice for you

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are good.Ask for one near the main Hotel complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Djlit47,

Warm greetings from Ancient House Resort!
Thank you very much for your recent stay as well as your great comment about our Ancient House resort.I'm happy to learn that you have enjoyed our Garden view room with a cozy and comfortable feeling. As for the jacuzzi,please accept our apologies and It should be fixed soon before December 2013.
Once again, thank you very much for your stay with Ancient House and we do hope to be at your service again.
Wish you and your family a happy festive season at Ipswich !

My best regards
Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in the Ancient House during our trip last year and I'm sorry I didn't write a review at the time - I've been prompted by the poor review I've just seen. The Ancient House and Hoi An were the highlight of our trip to Vietnam, even though we stayed in the Sofitel Metropole in Hanoi. Our room was delightful and clean overlooking the pool, quiet and well-maintained. We didn't even make it to the beach during our three night/day stay as we were so delighted with strolling around the town. The hotel offers a free shuttle to beach and town or a cab is $2 or you can walk it in 15 minutes.

Th reason it is an ancient house is because there is an ancient house behind the hotel where they still make noodles which process we were delighted to watch and participate in on our stroll through the grounds (mornings only as I recall).

All the staff were extremely helpful, especially when we had a miscommunication with our tour operator around the timing of our delightful cooking class at Red Bridge, helping us to sort this out with a few well-placed phone calls.

The breakfast was good, plentiful and served in a delightful room overlooking the garden. There are so many good restaurants in Hoi An that we didn't eat in the hotel otherwise.

We are planning to return with our children at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: We had a lovely ground floor room by the pool, but I think a first floor would offer more privacy of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Peter,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!

We are delighted to read that you spent a wonderful holiday at Ancient House and we appreciate very much that you having taken the time to write us your great comment on the Trip.We are very happy to learn that you felt well looked after by our team.I will share your feedback to them and I believe that they will be much encouraged to hear your beautiful words.
Once again, thank you very much for your stay with Ancient House and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Wish you and your family a happy festive season at London !

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

During our stay in Hoi An we were moved from our main hotel to the Ancient House Resort. We were very disappointed with what was in store for us. The staff were very friendly upon arrival and we were offered a cold towel which was a nice touch. However, upon getting our room, we found it a little rough around the edges and it felt a little bit cramped. The bathroom on the face if it looked nice but when closer inspected, it was not very clean, nor was it it great repair. The shower whilst nice and hot was difficult to stand under and get wet! We found the beds hard but we did get a nights sleep despite the constant traffic noise from the street below.

Breakfast was another story, a reasonable selection from omelettes to pastries and bacon/eggs for the homely types but the pastries were not fresh. The fruit did make up for this as there was a good selection

All in all we were disappointed and were glad to get back to our other accommodation when the typhoon Haiyan had passed..

Room Tip: If you want a double, make sure you ask as we did not get given one even after it was asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Simon and family,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.I'm very disappointed to read your comments .Be sure that we are improving immediately all things concerning to your comments.
We cant not compare our Ancient House with 5 stars resort like Palm Garden Resort-your main hotel but we always aim to be the top 3 stars hotel.
As for the type of bed,I would like to take the liberty to let you know that we arranged twin bed room as request from Palms Garden Resort.Sorry that you haven't contacted our Reception for amendment.
May I take this opportunity to express our apology for not meet your expectations and hope to have a chance to serving you with better service !
Wish you and your family a nice trip in Viet Nam and a happy festive season in Yorkshire.

My best regards,

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#21 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House Resort Hoi An 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 36 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Ancient House Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House Resort Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.