We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient House Resort Hoi An to your Saves list
Ancient House Resort Hoi An
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A charming family run resort. The rooms are mostly villa type set up connected by numerous wooden walkways and stairs. Has an old world feel. It is not your '5 star' modern resort but has a charm all it's own with comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. The front desk manager was more than helpful in confirming our onward flights and in following up with our tour company when they were late in arriving. You are also greeted with cool towels on every arrival back at the hotel. For those so inclined it is also an east 1.5-2km walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    214
    61
    12
    4
See reviews for
92
247
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Huge room, gigantic four poster bed with very large bathroom, great seperate bath, nice relaxing pool. Great breakfast in scenic breakfast room overlooking the garden and the pool. Courtesy bus into town. Quaint township about 10 minutes drive away with great restaurants, tailors and shops.

Room Tip: Pancakes available for breakfast. all rooms not far from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I spent five wonderful honeymoon nights at the Ancient House Resort. Bottom line: Beautiful grounds, lots of Soviets floating around in a luxuriant boutique-ey pool, and a mediocre staff. The place must be one of Hoi An's absolute top hotels, no question, but it has a long way to go on the road to greatness. Staff problems are the easiest to fix. Put people-people in guest-relations and lock everyone else in back. Actually, every employee should ideally be a people-person in case one escapes the back office and runs into a guest by freak accident. The concierge has no idea what's going on (but this is generally true for Asia, unfortunately). But it was overall a lovely place to stay in Hoi An and I would recommend it highly if they could get a grip on their guest relations. Tip: When a guest makes a request, try to look like you're happy they asked and if you can't answer at the time, make sure you get back to them. This whole "I don't know what to do" thing gets old fast with repetition. Anyway, not sure there's any better in Hoi An, but since Hoi An is an absolute MUST, I guess you can't do much better than staying at Ancient House... it does have it's redeeming qualities (i.e., nice breakfast, GREAT gift store, etc.). Just manage your expectations a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were offered breakfast, free bikes, free loungers on the beach (10 minute cycle away) and cold towels every time we walked in the door!

Good range for breakfast and very helpful staff. Swimming pool was lovely. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was by far the dearest on this (our 3rd) trip to Vietnam; but also the worst by a mile. I love my coffee but after 2 days here the coffee was undrinkable. Just kept topping up I would say, without emptying the old beans out. The bath tub side was far too high off the ground and the shower water just kept heading towards the window sill! For breakfast, tried the barely-warm "bacon" and stir fries only once; terrible! Stick to the fruit was the best option, 'til I found a small cockroach sitting on a piece of my pineapple. The wait staff were not even interested when I showed them. Made my own salad rolls after that. Only 1 of the computers was active on our 5-day stay. The IT person would come over, have a look at the computer and walk away. Also had the craziest toilet roll holder we have ever seen. A wooden box with a couple of slots in it; hopeless! Room service were always ready to do our room at 9.00 a.m. Hang around outside and wait for us to leave. There was a free shuttle service to town and also to the beach (and return). About 4 kms from town, plenty of reasonable restaurants around the hotel, that's about it! Just a short trip to Dingo Deli was a highlight. Also had a sewing kit; never seen that before. Never stay here again. Hard to believe it's rated so high by others.

Room Tip: Be careful of groin injuries getting in and out of the shower!! The room itself was fairly good with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieu-Bethesda, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spend 3 nights here and its a lovely hotel. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool. The bathrooms had a shower in the bath with great hot water. The cosmetics had no labels so we didn't know what was shampoo or bath soap. We used the minibar to keep drinks cold that we bought outside the hotel.
The pool is really warm from the sun and not too refreshing although we used it a lot to cool down after being in town.
We did room service and the meals were delicious and the service friendly.

We didn't really interact too much with the staff but they always had a smile and a friendly greeting.

The WiFi was good and we managed to do all we needed on the web. The breakfast is a bit tired - could do with some new ideas.

All in all a nice hotel, clean, friendly with great restaurant meals. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We really wanted to find more positive things to say about this hotel. It should be noted that this is the 5th hotel we have stayed in on this trip to Vietnam. It was the most expensive to date and the worst by far.
The staff are friendly here. We found them less able to assist with questions as their English wasn't as strong (this is ok as I am traveling to their country- just have google translator on hand).
The rooms we had a problem with. The first room we slept in didn't have the fridge turned on and the air conditioning wasn't working properly.
They moved us to the 2nd room where neither the air conditioning or the fridge was working.
We then moved to the third room. We had to call for assistance with the air conditioning as it kept sparking and flicking the safety switch. The television had poor reception on most channels but we were able to get a couple of English speaking channels that worked.
The location is between the old town and the beach and a shuttle service is available.
Free WIFI is available.
Breakfast was plentiful but of average quality. A lot of the dairy products were warm and a cereal we tried was stale. Breakfast was always quiet and I don't think a buffet style works well unless the food is turning over quickly, which it wasn't.
There were a few other little annoying things- being quoted one price for a drink and then seeing it more than doubled on the final bill, a billiards table without all the balls and no tips on the cues, geckos inside the rooms (cute but not for everyone) loud music every night from a neighbour, and more...... I'm sure you're getting the point. It just wasn't a good experience for us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#21 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House Resort Hoi An 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 36 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ancient House Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House Resort Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.