We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of Grows on You” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ancient House Resort Hoi An to your Saves list
Ancient House Resort Hoi An
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sort of Grows on You”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Initial reaction was a bit mixed, lovely large room at first appeared a bit sparten but it was comfortable enough and appreciated the space. The garden are lovely, There is a free shuttle down to the beach with free loungers etc. Free bikes if you dare, which down to the beach would be a requirement - its a long walk. However its not to far to walk into town, although if you want some where close to eat try Vina Ngon just a few doors down. Staff helpful and a good breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    187
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
86
211
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this hotel through an agency. It's very good scenery, room and breakfast. You can also get a look at the owner's ancient house at a corner of the resort and in the early morning for rice paper making. There are some restaurants & cafe nearby. THe bicycle is free but motobike needs to be rent at the shop next door.

There is only a disappointment: we live 3 nights and they did not notice us about 1-way transfer to airport promotion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Excellent hotel. Beautiful gardens and lovely rooms. Free wifi. Exceptional attention to detail. Lovely welcoming letter and many "little touches" to make you feel very welcome. 3 km to beach and 1.5 km to old town. Take some spray for the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is very nice hotel, lovely pool, lovely rooms, little shale’s. At the back of the hotel is family run rice noodle "factory". Real gem to go and have a look how rice noodles are made old factory way. If you go out to the street from the back gate you find absolutely lovely scenery, of a rive and palm trees. People going to work and animals eating grass by river! I would like to stay here longer than 2 nights I had. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, travelling with another couple. Upon arrival we found that they had given us interconnecting but lockable rooms, which was good. The room was the largest we stayed in during our trip to Vietnam and Siem Riep. Tiled floor, balcony, with a firm king sized bed with extremely white sheets (our friend's bed next door was even larger than ours!), seperate toilet and shower, HUGE bath, tv, fridge etc. We had a safe but couldn't get it to work, even though someone came to look at it, so we just used our friends' safe to put our passports etc in during our stay. There was even a computer with free wifi in our room! We've never come across that before. The building is old and was very clean, but not spotless. We did have a few smells coming out of the floor drains once or twice, but we just poured boiling water down them and it went away. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. We did have a rooster crowing at all hours of the day though, but this is Vietnam! They provide a free shuttle into the town 5-6 times a day, even though it's only a 20 minute walk or so, and to the beach 3 times a day as well. The shuttle stops outside 'be be tailor' which we used and can recommend.
We were distracted by the light on our balcony being on through our first night, but when we mentioned it to reception the following morning, they said they could turn it off which they did. Whilst travelling we did our washing in the bathroom and hung it out to dry over the shower rods etc. Hoi An was the only place in Vietnam that our washing didn't dry, perhaps the humidity may have have something to do with it, so use the little laundry outside the hotel if you need to do your washing. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel's a bit like a rabbit warren, with rooms and stairs everywhere. Fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great staff friendly and attentive. Short walk or shuttle bus ride to town. Also have a beach venue you can use, which is excellent as the pool is a bit small. For the size of the hotel they provide a substantial buffet breakfast. Bikes are available for free. I have no reservations in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just spent three nights at this hotel and had a great time. The layout of the property and the rooms were great with the pool being a lovely oasis away from the street. The walk in to the old town is only 15 to 20 minutes and is always an interesting slice of life including ducking to avoid overhead power lines.

A couple of.minor glitches for us.
We had reserved a "special room" which promised a separate shower but 402 (which had the requisite square footage) did not have such a shower. Rather, the hand wand attached to the window frame about 3 feet above the floor. We were moved to an appropriate room the second day but would recommend the hotel alter the description on its website.
On the final day, getting coffee and tea in the breakfast room was difficult as the female staff were locked in personal discussion that seemed very intense. We eventually got our own.

Nonetheless, the overall stay was great. The setting was lovely and the service was generally good. We would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House Resort Hoi An 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 36 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ancient House Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House Resort Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.