We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Ancient House Resort Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ancient House Resort Hoi An
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 77 hotels in Hoi An
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Excellent hotel. Beautiful gardens and lovely rooms. Free wifi. Exceptional attention to detail. Lovely welcoming letter and many "little touches" to make you feel very welcome. 3 km to beach and 1.5 km to old town. Take some spray for the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    175
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
79
186
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is very nice hotel, lovely pool, lovely rooms, little shale’s. At the back of the hotel is family run rice noodle "factory". Real gem to go and have a look how rice noodles are made old factory way. If you go out to the street from the back gate you find absolutely lovely scenery, of a rive and palm trees. People going to work and animals eating grass by river! I would like to stay here longer than 2 nights I had. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, travelling with another couple. Upon arrival we found that they had given us interconnecting but lockable rooms, which was good. The room was the largest we stayed in during our trip to Vietnam and Siem Riep. Tiled floor, balcony, with a firm king sized bed with extremely white sheets (our friend's bed next door was even larger than ours!), seperate toilet and shower, HUGE bath, tv, fridge etc. We had a safe but couldn't get it to work, even though someone came to look at it, so we just used our friends' safe to put our passports etc in during our stay. There was even a computer with free wifi in our room! We've never come across that before. The building is old and was very clean, but not spotless. We did have a few smells coming out of the floor drains once or twice, but we just poured boiling water down them and it went away. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. We did have a rooster crowing at all hours of the day though, but this is Vietnam! They provide a free shuttle into the town 5-6 times a day, even though it's only a 20 minute walk or so, and to the beach 3 times a day as well. The shuttle stops outside 'be be tailor' which we used and can recommend.
We were distracted by the light on our balcony being on through our first night, but when we mentioned it to reception the following morning, they said they could turn it off which they did. Whilst travelling we did our washing in the bathroom and hung it out to dry over the shower rods etc. Hoi An was the only place in Vietnam that our washing didn't dry, perhaps the humidity may have have something to do with it, so use the little laundry outside the hotel if you need to do your washing. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel's a bit like a rabbit warren, with rooms and stairs everywhere. Fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great staff friendly and attentive. Short walk or shuttle bus ride to town. Also have a beach venue you can use, which is excellent as the pool is a bit small. For the size of the hotel they provide a substantial buffet breakfast. Bikes are available for free. I have no reservations in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just spent three nights at this hotel and had a great time. The layout of the property and the rooms were great with the pool being a lovely oasis away from the street. The walk in to the old town is only 15 to 20 minutes and is always an interesting slice of life including ducking to avoid overhead power lines.

A couple of.minor glitches for us.
We had reserved a "special room" which promised a separate shower but 402 (which had the requisite square footage) did not have such a shower. Rather, the hand wand attached to the window frame about 3 feet above the floor. We were moved to an appropriate room the second day but would recommend the hotel alter the description on its website.
On the final day, getting coffee and tea in the breakfast room was difficult as the female staff were locked in personal discussion that seemed very intense. We eventually got our own.

Nonetheless, the overall stay was great. The setting was lovely and the service was generally good. We would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

very well located family sized hotel between the city center and the beach (2km each way).
very classy new traditional style hotel with spacious bungalows and superb amenities, including a small size but beautiful swimming-pool, and luxurious gardens.
rooms are zenish, very clean, sober, with a huge mosquito net if needed over an excellent queen-size bed.
outstanding breakfast.
very good to excellent service
free bikes to roam around

a little pricey for VN, but totally acceptable when considering touring the country. it makes an elegant stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I and my boyfriend got upgrade from Superior to Special room, and it's amazing. The architecture of the resort, and decoration in the room was so lovely. The room was so spacious, clean and so nice in traditional style. Welcome drink at check in, a plate of fresh fruit in room. Moreover, in turn down service, they set up coffee, tea and some delicious Vietnamese traditional cakes. Even the resort is located in a residential area, I found it so peaceful.
The resort offer bycle and shuttle bus to town daily, free of charge.
The breakfast, in my opinion is so so. A bit cold and not very attractive.
In overall, a lovely place for couple. Lack of public area while lots of stairs might not be a good idea for family with small children or elder people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ancient House Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ancient House Resort Hoi An 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2003, Hoi An Ancient House Resort is a local family-run resort that offers a genuine replica of Hoi An’s Ancient Town architectural style with its clay-tiled roof houses, small streets and water ponds, and provides a utmost relaxing atmosphere in a 6,600m2 garden that surrounds an outdoor swimming pool.It takes its name from the original 200-years old family home, that is recognized as a provincial-level relic and is still inhabited nowadays, and that is proud to be the only one remaining in town to keep on producing daily 100% artisanal Vietnamese rice noodles, to be served later in delicious soup dishes such as My Quang, Hu Tieu, Bun, Cao Lau and Pho. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HostelBookers so you can book your Ancient House Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House Resort Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.