We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Ancient House Resort Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ancient House Resort Hoi An
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great location and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just spent three nights at this hotel and had a great time. The layout of the property and the rooms were great with the pool being a lovely oasis away from the street. The walk in to the old town is only 15 to 20 minutes and is always an interesting slice of life including ducking to avoid overhead power lines.

A couple of.minor glitches for us.
We had reserved a "special room" which promised a separate shower but 402 (which had the requisite square footage) did not have such a shower. Rather, the hand wand attached to the window frame about 3 feet above the floor. We were moved to an appropriate room the second day but would recommend the hotel alter the description on its website.
On the final day, getting coffee and tea in the breakfast room was difficult as the female staff were locked in personal discussion that seemed very intense. We eventually got our own.

Nonetheless, the overall stay was great. The setting was lovely and the service was generally good. We would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    182
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
86
206
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

very well located family sized hotel between the city center and the beach (2km each way).
very classy new traditional style hotel with spacious bungalows and superb amenities, including a small size but beautiful swimming-pool, and luxurious gardens.
rooms are zenish, very clean, sober, with a huge mosquito net if needed over an excellent queen-size bed.
outstanding breakfast.
very good to excellent service
free bikes to roam around

a little pricey for VN, but totally acceptable when considering touring the country. it makes an elegant stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I and my boyfriend got upgrade from Superior to Special room, and it's amazing. The architecture of the resort, and decoration in the room was so lovely. The room was so spacious, clean and so nice in traditional style. Welcome drink at check in, a plate of fresh fruit in room. Moreover, in turn down service, they set up coffee, tea and some delicious Vietnamese traditional cakes. Even the resort is located in a residential area, I found it so peaceful.
The resort offer bycle and shuttle bus to town daily, free of charge.
The breakfast, in my opinion is so so. A bit cold and not very attractive.
In overall, a lovely place for couple. Lack of public area while lots of stairs might not be a good idea for family with small children or elder people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I usually write pros and cons cuz nothing's perfect. This place comes close but be sure to read the negatives too.
PROS
.comfy beds
.beautiful ambience
.wonderful staff
.wonderful manager who tried to help us locate the most suitable room available
.clean
.good towels and washcloths!!!
.roomy enough double room
.mosquito netting (didn't need them but it was a nice touch)
.good electrical outlets
.reading lamps near the beds
.in a quiet part of town with free shuttle to beach and town
.free bike rentals
.good breakfast with some healthy choices (like museli)
.pretty pool area
.refreshing hand towels provided when we returned from our outings

CONS
.First, and most importantly, this is NOT the place for folks with mobility issues. To go up to a third floor room, you first have to,go up and down a few,flights. I felt like I was in an Escher painting. At first it seemed confusing but got used to it. I think we were in the room with the most ups and downs to approach, but even a first floor would be impossible for people with mobility issues. It took so long to get to our room (308) that forgetting something and having to go back to retrieve it was a pain.
.Confusing light switches in the rooms. Sometimes we had to figure out which combination of switches would turn on or off alight. It would,be nice if they could label their switches.
.Like most places, the lighting could be better but I've seen much worse

Room Tip: Even though approaching our third floor room was like going thru a maze, it had beautiful high cathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Travelled in a few south East Asian cities before arriving in Hoi An and we were shocked with the brilliant quality of this hotel! We paid less then some of the previous place but this was by far the best. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Rooms were immaculate with fresh fruit and flowers throughout the room. Spa services were excellent. Free bus into town or beach and free bikes. Defiantly staying here the next time I come to Hoi An!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at this resort and really enjoyed it. We had room 312 at the back on the upper floor. The room was large and comfortable.

Pros: the staf were awesome, shuttle service to beach and town always on time. Fruit tray in room on arrival. Pool area lovely to relax and read around after a fees hours of being out on tour. The breakfast was really quite nice. The pancakes were nice and coffee good. ( coffee in the whole country is great! )
Cons: the pillows were lumpy and too high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ancient House had some very friendly staff and the layout of the hotel is great, being based outside and is very beautiful. Staff were very accommodating in moving us immediately to a balcony room as we had booked this but not originally given one. However, we had a few issues - mostly there was a little bit of an ant problem (not masses, but they kept reappearing). We called the reception and they sprayed some mortein but didnt look for the source of the problem so we kept getting them. In general the rooms were a bit 'tired' and needed some TLC and updating - we had lightbulbs out in our room and the shower was a bit broken. But the rooms were a great big size and designed beautifully. The spa was nice, the pool looked great (just wasnt quite warm enough weather) and the hotel had lots of tours offered. It is about over a km out from the town - bikes are definitely the best way to do it and the hotel offered these for free which was great.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room with balcony which was very private, spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House Resort Hoi An 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 36 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ancient House Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House Resort Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.