We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Ancient House Resort Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ancient House Resort Hoi An
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Travelled in a few south East Asian cities before arriving in Hoi An and we were shocked with the brilliant quality of this hotel! We paid less then some of the previous place but this was by far the best. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Rooms were immaculate with fresh fruit and flowers throughout the room. Spa services were excellent. Free bus into town or beach and free bikes. Defiantly staying here the next time I come to Hoi An!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    187
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
86
209
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at this resort and really enjoyed it. We had room 312 at the back on the upper floor. The room was large and comfortable.

Pros: the staf were awesome, shuttle service to beach and town always on time. Fruit tray in room on arrival. Pool area lovely to relax and read around after a fees hours of being out on tour. The breakfast was really quite nice. The pancakes were nice and coffee good. ( coffee in the whole country is great! )
Cons: the pillows were lumpy and too high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ancient House had some very friendly staff and the layout of the hotel is great, being based outside and is very beautiful. Staff were very accommodating in moving us immediately to a balcony room as we had booked this but not originally given one. However, we had a few issues - mostly there was a little bit of an ant problem (not masses, but they kept reappearing). We called the reception and they sprayed some mortein but didnt look for the source of the problem so we kept getting them. In general the rooms were a bit 'tired' and needed some TLC and updating - we had lightbulbs out in our room and the shower was a bit broken. But the rooms were a great big size and designed beautifully. The spa was nice, the pool looked great (just wasnt quite warm enough weather) and the hotel had lots of tours offered. It is about over a km out from the town - bikes are definitely the best way to do it and the hotel offered these for free which was great.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room with balcony which was very private, spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

the the lovely staff at Ancient house...thank you for making our Xmas so special. we are really not the Christmas kind of people...and we were not sure when we were invited to the dinner. We had an excellent night...greeted by Santa, ate the most wonderful food and were entertained with lovely music and even come home with Xmas hats and presents. The place was decorated with stunning detail. Ancient house was my favourite place to stay in Vietnam... the staff are wonderful the rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool was also a bonus as was Moon in the spa an amazing staff member and now a friend. Overall a magical place...the rice paper ladies in the morning sunshine the wonderful plants in the resort... and the attention to detail THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN...Gina and Glenn...

Room Tip: in the middle not near the road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in Hoi An. The free bikes are an excellent way to travel to the city or the beach. If you dont feel like the exercise there is a free shuttle service, however they run at particular times which might not alway suit your schedule. The rooms are large and clean. My only small complaint would be that it was a little noisy in the mornings with people and staff moving around. The wooden doors are noisy to open and close so if people near you are having an early start it is impossible not to notice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ancient House for 4 nights and we were very well looked after - helpful staff and good service. Not all that easy to find, on the main street, but when you get inside the resort you really begin to appreciate what it has to offer. It has a spacious lobby area and souvenir shop but when you move out into the gardens you realise it is a haven of tranquility in this urban area. It has a very nice pool, delightful gardens and the 'ancient house', from which it derives it's name. You can visit the house and see them doing traditional things like making rice paper.

It is the way the accommodation is set out that gives it the name resort rather than hotel. Although they are sometimes linked, you have individual chalet type rooms with a small balcony. Rooms are well appointed, of a good size and with a nice separate bathroom.

They offer a shuttle bus service to the beach and the centre of Hoi An but it is not too far to walk to the shops and restaurants. They also have a large number of cycles available (free of charge).

Get the staff, at the front desk, to book you a boat trip out to Cat Kim Island. You can borrow the bikes from the resort and take them on the boat and then cycle round the island. We did this for a morning and wished we had arranged a longer trip. It was one of the highlights of our holiday, a delightful morning and easy cycling with very little traffic on the island.

Room Tip: Choose a room with some elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff at the resort were very friendly. We travelled with 2 children and had adjoining rooms which were lovely and spacious. The rooms had DVD players and one room had a laptop with free wifi. They had free bikes which we used each time we went to town, an easy 10 minute ride with the kids on the back. The only problem was the locals playing loud music at 5.30am but I am sure with a different room at the hotel you would not be able to hear it. We were on the 2nd level.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#16 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House Resort Hoi An 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 36 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ancient House Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House Resort Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.