We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a really nice hotel in Hoi An. The free bikes are an excellent way to travel to the city or the beach. If you dont feel like the exercise there is a free shuttle service, however they run at particular times which might not alway suit your schedule. The rooms are large and clean. My only small complaint would be that it was a little noisy in the mornings with people and staff moving around. The wooden doors are noisy to open and close so if people near you are having an early start it is impossible not to notice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    223
    64
    12
    3
See reviews for
99
259
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ancient House for 4 nights and we were very well looked after - helpful staff and good service. Not all that easy to find, on the main street, but when you get inside the resort you really begin to appreciate what it has to offer. It has a spacious lobby area and souvenir shop but when you move out into the gardens you realise it is a haven of tranquility in this urban area. It has a very nice pool, delightful gardens and the 'ancient house', from which it derives it's name. You can visit the house and see them doing traditional things like making rice paper.

It is the way the accommodation is set out that gives it the name resort rather than hotel. Although they are sometimes linked, you have individual chalet type rooms with a small balcony. Rooms are well appointed, of a good size and with a nice separate bathroom.

They offer a shuttle bus service to the beach and the centre of Hoi An but it is not too far to walk to the shops and restaurants. They also have a large number of cycles available (free of charge).

Get the staff, at the front desk, to book you a boat trip out to Cat Kim Island. You can borrow the bikes from the resort and take them on the boat and then cycle round the island. We did this for a morning and wished we had arranged a longer trip. It was one of the highlights of our holiday, a delightful morning and easy cycling with very little traffic on the island.

Room Tip: Choose a room with some elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff at the resort were very friendly. We travelled with 2 children and had adjoining rooms which were lovely and spacious. The rooms had DVD players and one room had a laptop with free wifi. They had free bikes which we used each time we went to town, an easy 10 minute ride with the kids on the back. The only problem was the locals playing loud music at 5.30am but I am sure with a different room at the hotel you would not be able to hear it. We were on the 2nd level.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Super nice rooms. Simple elegant design. Fantastic staff. We loved this hotel and of course, Hoi An. Highly recommended. Stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were made very welcome when we stayed here for four nights over Christmas. Our room was large & clean but we were glad we went for the garden view room as the pool view rooms would have been noisy. The staff were all so nice & helpful & made us feel welcome.

Breakfast was okay but some hot food ran out over 30 minutes before the end of service & nothing was replenished. One morning I saw the chef turn off the heaters under the dishes at 9.20am when breakfast officially ended at 10am! Other then that, I can recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road behind the hotel, the traffic can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

i paid about $55 per night here. That was the lowest cost Ive ever spent in my life. The hotel comes with free shuttle and free breakfast + free wifi. Can not complain with this value.

However the room is either old or dirty. Couldnt use closet bc it was too dirty and the paint got on my hand when I touched the hanger so not sure what is going on there. Had a problem with the shower since it wasnt working. The hotel sent the technitian right away and he fixed it immediately. I had another problem with the lights and the hotel sent me te tech right away to fix it. Thr service was great.

The breakfast was not good. Flies all over the juice area.

Front desk ppl look tired unhappy but they do their jobs done.

Overall good value, but not the top end hotel as people advertise in Hoi An.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Told we had one of the best rooms in the resort our expectations were high, sadly not quiet delivered to. It hasn't compared to similar priced rooms in other parts of Vietnam. The room was very spacious made up of a separate bedroom and lounge room. The mini bar not restock, the roosters started crowing next door before sunrise, so short sleep. The bath water on hot was luke warm so the beautiful large bath wasn't the relaxing experience I had hoped for.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was very poor, flavorsome but tough pork, ancient house fried rice was pretty average and green curry not to be tried.

I think We would stay closer to town next trip.

The staff were the high point, friendly and helpful, they made the stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.9 mi away
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#31 of 100 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.