We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds and Nice Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Ancient House Resort Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ancient House Resort Hoi An
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Ontario
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds and Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The main draw of this hotel is the beautiful pool and lush grounds. They were really a nice surprise given that the front of the hotel and lobby are nothing unusual. The pool is quite large and there is ample seating available and towels provided. This was definitely the highlight of this hotel and probably bumped my score slightly higher.

We had a Special Room, which was directly beside the pool on the ground level. This was very convenient. The room itself was a bit on the tired side, particularly the bathroom which had old fixtures. Although the mosquito netting on the beds looks nice, upon closer inspection there were several tears and they didn't seem all that clean. Same for the shower curtain. Although the room seemed fairly clean, it didn't always feel that way because of the rustic feel to the rooms and older fixtures/furniture. As someone who prefers contemporary hotels, the rooms were not my favourite, but they were fine. Towels and bed linens were good.

Breakfast was good. It wasn't the best I had in Vietnam, but there was enough selection and it was well prepared. A nice feature at this hotel is the gift shop. Prices are very reasonable. I was able to purchase some nice silk ties for about $4 USD each and the prices for silk robes was not that much more expensive than in the town of Hoi An.

I did not find the staff to be overly friendly or helpful, but this didn't concern me at all. When I needed assistance they were able to help.

I would have preferred a location closer to Hoi An. Although it isn't all that far, it wasn't convenient to walk to town in the evening. There are some shops and a few small restaurants in the area (see my review on the Solo restaurant) but otherwise not much to see.

Overall the hotel was fine but the beautiful grounds would not be enough for me to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    179
    51
    12
    4
See reviews for
85
200
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've stayed here for 1 night on November 11. Since we arrived late and left on the next morning after breakfast, I can't comment about location. Besides, since it was raining on that morming, I also had no chance to have a full view of the gardens, which, nonetheless, seemed quite nice.
Concerning our stay, however, the room was quite spacious, but:
- we were given a room at the top floor, not near the reception building, which I found strange since the hotel seemed far from beeing full
- curtains were too thin and transparent, with no sun blockers, so the room became very bright early in the morning
- beds are really very firm, which was not a problem for me but can be for other people
- bathtub curtain was very dirty at the bottom and so long that you had only 2 choices: either take it out of the bathtub and risk to leave the floor full of water, or take the shower putting your feet on that dirt
- some members of staff were not nice and acted as if we had any obligation to tip them, some of them having been even a bit rude
- we had dinner at our arrival and decided to choose pizza and lasagna, since it was already late and these are usually things easy and fast to prepare. Well, we waited about 45 min to get them. The waiter explained that it was taking long because there were many people to be served. Actually, there were only 8 people there including us...
So, not a bad hotel, I'd rate it as average/good (not very good) but would most probably try another hotel if I return to Hoi An.
An improvement in room curtains to efficiently block sunlight, a greater care with cleanlinness (particularly with bathtub curtains) and a better training of the staff in guest relations and teaching them that tipping is always optional could make me change my opinion...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Luisito,

Warmest greetings from Ancient House Resort!

Thank you very much for your stay with us as well as your comments on Tripadvisor. It is very sorry to hear that you had no change to relaxing at our beautiful garden and pool.I do hope to welcome you back to our Resort with a better service and then you will enjoy your time at our quiet and nice surroundings.
We are improving immediately all things concerning to your comments .And I have taken note of your comment regarding of the tip.This is not our usual attitude in dealing with guest.

With my best regards,

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent an enjoyable 3 nights in this great city.
Although 10 to 15 minutes walk to town it was not a problem, as you can get a taxi for $2 or use their bikes.
The hotel was well designed & pretty but needs a little updating but the rooms are large & bright.
Do NOT miss the making of the rice pancakes between 4 and 7 a.m. they did not mention it at the desk and no one seems to have known about it! The lady is 75 and she and her team make a lot.
Also rent a bike and cycle to the beach and into the nearby fields.
The best night for the city is the full moon when the riverside lights are turned off - magical.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Lagoon08,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort !

Thank you very much for your time reviewing our Resort and and your positive comments.I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay and your experience at our family bakery where rice paper are made in traditional way.We are very glad to welcome our guest joining in this activity.Sorry for not mentioning you at the Front desk.You can easily see this introduction in our hotel directery.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Warm regards

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is just located out of the busy centre of town but provides a bus service if you don't want to walk the 1 1/2 km. The rooms were very spacious and the hotel provided all the services you need. The Hotel also has a private section at the beach with a resturant and bar service delivered right down to your lounge bed under the umbrella on the beach itself. Again the Hotel bus runs a services to the beach as well. We went on a tour to Marble Mountain DaNang with a guide from the Hotel which is only one of a number of tours you can do and we wish we had more time to do more of them.
The hotel provided the transport and guide and with an early start were the first visitors there before the day started to warm up. If you are up to it take the harder way up with the stair being a little steeper and vary in height as well as the small cave to the top of the mountain.
Well worth doing at least one of the tours, we will if we go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear CSNBNE,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort !

I'am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our Resort and thank you very much for your wonderful review and time taken to share your experience.Your positive comments is an encouragement for our team and me to bring you the perfect service in your next return.

Thanks and with my best wishes.

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely gardens & happy to have ground floor close to pool,as the steps up to other rooms look challenging. Old style hotel with small pool, drinks around poolside not cheap & not cold . Wooden decking around pool needs maintenance as does pool ladder ! Location is out of town but free shuttle is available from the hotel to town or beach at certain times or taxis are very cheap . The hotels beach supplies free towel & deck chair , but you need shuttle to go . Lovely Cold face towels provided on arrival at reception throughout the day - Beds are extra extra firm ! Very light curtaining which keeps room light & bright in the morning . No facial tissues provided. toilet roll holder broken & toilet noisy , safe not attached to floor , bed lamps switch don't work .. Extra touches required here at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Ancient House Resort Hoi An, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tagit63,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort!

Thank you very much for having stayed at our Resort.My team and I would like to thank you for your useful review and it was a pleasure to be at your service. I have taken note of your comments on the hotel furniture.We will be in the process of upgrading them in next week .
I'm certain that upon your next return you will be totally happy by our perfect service.

Thank you once again and wish you and your family a happy festive season.

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although a bit of a walk (15-20mins), or a short taxi ride, from the centre of town this hotel was really worth staying in. Being country people we loved the spaciousness of the rooms and bathrooms.
The breakfast was good, with plenty of options. The only downsides were that we couldn't book a cocktail to our room account from the pool so had to go and get the cash and that the bed, like all the beds we slept in in Vietnam, was pretty hard....perhaps this is just the way it is in Vietnam?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givrezac
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a lovely garden room. The setting of the hotel is lovely with a pool and spa. The reception staff could be a little more cheerful! The spa was very nice had a really good massage. Not too far from the main part of town we used the hotel bus and the taxis as they were cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ancient House Resort Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House Resort Hoi An

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#14 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ancient House Resort Hoi An 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 36 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ancient House Resort Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House Resort Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.