We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bit noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 239 Reviews
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, bit noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a 2 week tour of Vietnam and were extremely impressed with our rooms decor and amenities. We stayed in 525 which was a deluxe room and included a couple of TVs, safe, tea/coffee, mini bar, free wifi etc. Decorated in a colonial style with highly lacquered, dark wood furniture it was spacious with a lounge area and very nice en suite.
The hotel's pool was great and there was a lobby bar with a free pool table. Breakfast buffet was ok and typical of all the other hotels we stayed in. Whilst slightly out of the towns old centre there was a courtesy bus service and taxis are cheap although you MUST check the fare before you get in. The only downside was the noise starting early in the morning. A neighbour's prize cockerel decided dawn broke at 2.40 am which was followed by the Vietnamese public service broadcast at 5am. This broadcast seems unique to Vietnam, there are loud speakers dotted all over the place which play a mixture of rousing, patriotic music and news. The speakers are cranked up to full volume and if your hotel is near one forget the lay in. Earplugs are a must.
Hoi An is the silk/ textile centre with every other shop offering a bespoke tailoring service. My wife had a 3/4 length cashmere winter coat made to measure in 24 hrs for £75. So ladies make sure your suitcase has spare capacity and gents don't let your partners read this review.

Room Tip: We stayed in 525 which is a corner suite and was great. Some other members in our party complained t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nguyenly B, Sales Manager at Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Stephen G,

Thank you very much for the feedback.. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the service and hotel during your visit.

We apologize for the noise near the hotel that caused the incovenience to you. If you had been assigned one of the rooms with swimming pool view, we are confident that you would have totally enjoyed your stay.

We hope you will return to Lotus Hoi An again and please let us know about this.

Once again, thank you very much for your great review .

Best regards,
Bui Nguyen Ly/ Mrs
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    80
    40
    17
    7
See reviews for
35
101
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Some km's away from the historical town. They have a free shuttle service (only fixed times). Taxi's are cheap, and the hotel reception will call for you. The reception/lobby is very nice, staff is very friendly and helpfull. They have a bar, free internet service, WIFI service, a pool table. In the back builiding are all the rooms (different styles and budgets). Also a nice swimming pool. The rooms are nice and the bathrooms very good. What I don't understand, why they have cheap and uncomfortable beddings. If they change this, it will be much more enjoyable to stay here. Breakfast service is excellent. Please change the beddings!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nguyenly B, Sales Manager at Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear RieksLok,

Warmest Greetings from Lotus Hoi An Hotel.

Thanks very much for your stay with us and your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor, we think that this is useful for travelers.

In regards to our service that you mentioned we sincerely apologize for the bedding that caused inconvenience to you and will be sure to report your comments to the management board in order that we can make an improvement.

We do hope to welcome you back to Lotus Hoi An next time and we are sure that your stay will be the most memorable holiday experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.

Best regards,
Bui Nguyen Ly/ Mrs
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was the worst hotel we had during our stay in Vietnam. The hotel itself is very pretty pool is great and the grounds are lovely however, it's a way out of town and the shuttle bus is few and far between, we walked it but it is a way if you don't or can't walk along way. Breakfast was good and the restaurant was very clean. However the staff on reception were rude when we arrived one look at our back packs and they wanted us to pay up front, the only place in Vietnam that happened and service at the bar was very very slow it took us 30 minutes to get served one night and there was only us in the bar. Drinks were very expensive in the hotel there are plenty of bars and restaurants down the road which are much better value and the people genuinely want you there unlike the staff at the hotel who just want your money and are blatant about that fact.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nguyenly B, Sales Manager at Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mike1-Sharon1,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.

We are terrible sorry to learn that you was not happy with our service.

As our hotel is in the middle between the old town and Cua Dai beach, we offer regular shuttle bus to these places with six times per day to the old town and two times per day to Cua Dai Beach. We tried to arrange a suitable schedule for the bus but we are sad to hear that it did not meet your need. We apologize for this.

For the staff on reception and bar that you mentioned, we take it very seriously and we are sure to have more training for the staff.

Although we always try our best to provide a good service, we know that sometimes things go wrong and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again at Lotus Hoi An Hotel and we ensure that you will have a memorable experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.

Best regards,
Bui Nguyen Ly/ Mrs
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thankfully we had to stay only one night at this hotel. We were disappointed with the service from the beginning. After delivering our bags, a delegation of two came back later to ask for a tip. When we demurred, they asked who our Vietnamese group head was, and got it from him. The A/c was not working at first, and we had to call maintenance (they fixed it). The key is a big unwieldy thing that has to be returned even if you are going out for some fresh air. The place smells musty and needs refurbishment. The breakfast was a huge disappointment after the feasts we enjoyed in the other cities, only the action station omelette was edible. It is quite a distance from the old town, and you need to take a bus. There are many more places now in Hoi An itself, since the country was opened up, so you do not have to both with this place. You do not have to stay here unless you are forced to by your tour operator looking to cut costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, there are probably better places in town. At least we have to hope so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nguyenly B, Sales Manager at Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Wiener Sänger,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so sad to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We will pass on your experience to the Management Board. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again and we are certain to make your next visit memorable.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and it is very important to us in improving and developing our service.

Best regards,
Bui Nguyen Ly/ Mrs
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is of average condition, nice pool, rooms are average, apart from the seemingly concrete beds. Seriously you won't get a good nights sleep here.

The service at this hotel was terrible. By far the worst we have encountered in Vietnam.

Would we come back here? Definitely not.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The room was ok but the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom needs updating urgently. Breakfast was poor and we ate out everyday. There is a place up the road called dingo's which does very tasty breakfasts and nice coffee. In town, there is a really nice place called before and after which also does a nice brekkie and is good for drinks in the evening as well. The location of this hotel is quite far out of town. It took us 40 mins to walk, so we hired bicycles everyday. The bikes were a very convienient way to get around and I quite enjoyed the ride everyday. The hotel does a shuttle bus, but the times are infrequent.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

upon arrival our rooms were messed up and we had to wait 30 minutes until our room allocations were sorted. then when we got to our room we layed out our things and sat on the beds. the beds were rock hard and unbearable to stay on for even 1 minute. then when we went to sleep we noticed insects on our bedding. these were bed bugs... we were moved rooms 5 times untill we found 1 room without bed bugs. every other room was infested. we asked for a wake up call, they failed to do so. we also noticed that the back door of you your hotel room does not lock and ours swung open in the middle of the night making us feel very unsafe. the food for breakfast was ok, the only good thing were the pancakes, although the room service was very poor. then our shower broke and only worked by chance. the last things that affected our stay was the broken mini fridge that we had planned on keeping our cold water in, the fridge was also not stocked. and to top it off the lock on the front door of our room was dodgy and also opened only if you were lucky........ how great

Room Tip: try not to get the ground level because that is where the bed bugs mostly are
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 330 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#14 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just a 5-minute drive away from Hoi An Ancient Town as well as Cua Dai Beach, Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa is an elegant resort-style hotel. All rooms have a private balcony offering beautiful views of the swimming pool or the garden to feel the finest touch of hospitality and comfort.With extensive spa facilities, guests can relax with a pampering beauty treatment or a massage at Lotus Spa. Alternatively, indulging yourself with a fresh cocktail at Lotus Bar or enjoy a dip in the pool after a hard day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoian Lotus Hoi An
Hotel Hoian Lotus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.