We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dong is King, not the client” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Hoi An Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lotus Hoi An Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lotus Hoi An Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 hotels in Hoi An
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dong is King, not the client”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thankfully we had to stay only one night at this hotel. We were disappointed with the service from the beginning. After delivering our bags, a delegation of two came back later to ask for a tip. When we demurred, they asked who our Vietnamese group head was, and got it from him. The A/c was not working at first, and we had to call maintenance (they fixed it). The key is a big unwieldy thing that has to be returned even if you are going out for some fresh air. The place smells musty and needs refurbishment. The breakfast was a huge disappointment after the feasts we enjoyed in the other cities, only the action station omelette was edible. It is quite a distance from the old town, and you need to take a bus. There are many more places now in Hoi An itself, since the country was opened up, so you do not have to both with this place. You do not have to stay here unless you are forced to by your tour operator looking to cut costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, there are probably better places in town. At least we have to hope so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nguyenly B, Sales Manager at Lotus Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Wiener Sänger,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so sad to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We will pass on your experience to the Management Board. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again and we are certain to make your next visit memorable.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and it is very important to us in improving and developing our service.

Best regards,
Bui Nguyen Ly/ Mrs
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
20
73
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is of average condition, nice pool, rooms are average, apart from the seemingly concrete beds. Seriously you won't get a good nights sleep here.

The service at this hotel was terrible. By far the worst we have encountered in Vietnam.

Would we come back here? Definitely not.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The room was ok but the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom needs updating urgently. Breakfast was poor and we ate out everyday. There is a place up the road called dingo's which does very tasty breakfasts and nice coffee. In town, there is a really nice place called before and after which also does a nice brekkie and is good for drinks in the evening as well. The location of this hotel is quite far out of town. It took us 40 mins to walk, so we hired bicycles everyday. The bikes were a very convienient way to get around and I quite enjoyed the ride everyday. The hotel does a shuttle bus, but the times are infrequent.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

upon arrival our rooms were messed up and we had to wait 30 minutes until our room allocations were sorted. then when we got to our room we layed out our things and sat on the beds. the beds were rock hard and unbearable to stay on for even 1 minute. then when we went to sleep we noticed insects on our bedding. these were bed bugs... we were moved rooms 5 times untill we found 1 room without bed bugs. every other room was infested. we asked for a wake up call, they failed to do so. we also noticed that the back door of you your hotel room does not lock and ours swung open in the middle of the night making us feel very unsafe. the food for breakfast was ok, the only good thing were the pancakes, although the room service was very poor. then our shower broke and only worked by chance. the last things that affected our stay was the broken mini fridge that we had planned on keeping our cold water in, the fridge was also not stocked. and to top it off the lock on the front door of our room was dodgy and also opened only if you were lucky........ how great

Room Tip: try not to get the ground level because that is where the bed bugs mostly are
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I visited Hoi An 28th April 2012 to 2nd May 2012 staying 3 nights at this hotel. Because of the public Holidays over this period there were many hotels full so when I called in at thsi hotel & they indicated that there was a vacancy I had little option but to accept .
In rating a hotel my main objective is to compare with other hotels I stayed in, in Vietnam over a 32 days with particular emphasis on the value to cost ratio.
This hotel was US$40 a night 3 nights----in H.C.M.C ----$26 a night---4 nights----in Hanoi $20a night 4 nights----$15 in Hue, $8 [YES $8] in Nha Trang.
The Lotus had the smallest room---there was a problem with the air conditioning & I was charged extensively as a booking fee for an O/N train trip to Nha Trang---- an extra 200,000 dong.
In all of the other hotels I was on no other occasion charged extra for any bookings.
Perhaps I wouldn't have minded as much had I been advised that there would be a booking fee charge & the amount given.
The hotel bus took me to the train station & again the charge was extensive.
There was also a mix up with the train booking which was handled by the receptionist in a surly manner.
Regretably these mishaps leave one with a nasty taste in ones mouth.
I definitely would NOT stray here again.The most expensive hotel with the worst experience in my travels

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Staff look extremely unhappy and seem annoyed when you ask them for something would reccomend staying elsewhere for a few extra dOlla

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nguyenly B, Sales Manager at Lotus Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Travellerlisaandben,

Thanks very much for your stay with us and your feedback about Lotus Hoi An Hotel.

In regards to our service that you mentioned we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and will be sure to report your comments to the management in order that we investigate and train the staff.

We do hope to welcome you back to Lotus Hoi An next time and we are sure that your stay will be the most memorable holiday experience.

Once again, we sincerely apologize.

Best regards,
Bui Nguyen Ly/ Mrs
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently and were very happy with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant without being intrusive. We stayed in a suite and it was very clean and fresh, there was a bit of local building around but that also interesting to watch the progress. Breakfast had plenty of choices and even the fussiest of eaters (myself) found plenty to eat. I agree it was about 4kms from the old town but that also made it closer to the beach, swings and roundabouts. There was a motor bike hire place and laundry straight across the road, bike hire was $6/day and laundry was very cheap. The traffic was quiet enough for us to have confidence to hire a motorbike and we are considered seniors without being ancient. Great holiday, great hotel, will be back.....

Room Tip: Suite number 525 was excellent. It was quiet and private. Not a great view but the room made up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nguyenly B, Sales Manager at Lotus Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Cherry L,

Thanks very much for your positive comments about Lotus Hoi An Hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your amazing review is great encouragement for our team.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate your review and do hope to welcome you back to Lotus Hoi An Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Bui Nguyen Ly/ Mrs
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotus Hoi An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Hoi An Hotel

Also Known As:
Hoian Lotus Hoi An
Hotel Hoian Lotus
Address: 330 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Hoi An Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just a 5-minute drive away from Hoi An Ancient Town as well as Cua Dai Beach, Lotus Hoi An Hotel is an elegant resort-style hotel drawn from a range of styles and influences resulting in a perfect blend of Eastern culture and French architecture.Lotus Hoi An Hotel comprises 58 rooms and 2 suites, all rooms are fully contained and fitted with a combination of traditional Vietnamese and French-style furnishings. They all have a private balcony offering beautiful views of the swimming pool or the garden to feel the finest touch of hospitality and comfort.With extensive spa facilities, guests can relax with a pampering beauty treatment or a massage at Lotus Spa. Alternatively, indulging yourself with a fresh cocktail at Lotus Bar or enjoy a dip in the pool after a hard day of sightseeing.Lotus Restaurant also offers a variety of traditional Vietnamese cooking classes, this helps to discover the local market and how to make traditional Vietnamese dishes to bring home a memory.With professional and friendly staff, Lotus Hoi An Hotel ensures to make your stay an unforgettable experience in elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Lotus Hoi An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Hoi An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.