We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we ate in Vietnam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice Drum Restaurant

Rice Drum Restaurant
92 Bach Dang | (2nd Gate: 75 Nguyen Thai Hoc), Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
+84 510 3862 999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vietnamese cuisines & Culinary School.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food we ate in Vietnam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We ordered set menu number 2. The food was excellent and cooked very well. The owner spoke english and was very polite and the staff were prompt. The food was great value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trong Com R, Owner at Rice Drum Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Jessa ,

Our 'Rice Drum' TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comment "Best food we ate in Vietnam!" on everything during your time with our restaurant.

We will KEEP IT UP and look forward to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    7
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A blast of a cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a blast of a cooking class! Fist we visted the local market so we could see and by the ingredients for our 3 course meal. Relaxing mood, super chefs and delecious food

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trong Com R, Owner at Rice Drum Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Writer,

Our 'Rice Drum' TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comment "A blast of a cooking class" on everything during your time with our cooking class.

We will KEEP IT UP and look forward to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for cooking lessons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I participated in a cooking lesson at this restaurant at 340.000 dong each! There are many restaurants in Hoi An offering cooking lessons but we chose this one for best value-for-money and cleanliness. We had a guide Quyen to bring us to the market for a tour and to get ingredients before the lesson started. I must say the chef Bon who taught us was really very patient throughout the lesson...we don't have any cooking experience so we needed a lot of guidance! He never rushed us at all and was always at hand to help when we fumbled.The dishes we cooked were delicious too!! overall the lesson was a very enjoyable 4 hours spent. Quyen is very friendly and has excellent command of English so we understood every step of the process.we learned a lot about Vietnamese food and culture from her. would highly recommend this restaurant if you wanna learn how to cook traditional Vietnamese food!!!
-Estelle

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trong Com R, Owner at Rice Drum Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Estelle,

Quyen & Bon our 'Rice Drum' TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comment "Great for cooking lessons" on everything during your time with our cooking class.

We will KEEP IT UP and look forward to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had lunch at Rice Drum yesterday and I had a pumpkin soup which I didn't like as I found it too creamy, I was a little disappointed when one of the half owners came out to ask how it was and I told him. not great! He was open to my critic and didn't get offended, thanked me for my feed back. My partners meal was great!
We decided to give it another shot and we were happy to say it was amazing. Their traditional food was amazing!
They are still finding their feet but are running a tight ship!
Thanks for the great food guys we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trong Com R, Owner at Rice Drum Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Jessa ,

Our 'Rice Drum' TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comment " Great food, great service, great atmosphere" on everything during your time with our restaurant.

We will KEEP IT UP and look forward to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New restaurant providing great value for money, big servings & quality delicious food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were only after a light dinner after a late afternoon tea at yummy Cargo.

We were told by the owner the restaurant had only been opened 1 mth, so thought we'd give it a go.

Ordered 2xbeef pho, pancake & yellow noodles.. All under local specialities on their menu. We were expecting small servings similar to servingn sizes in hcmc from where we had just left.

Despite 35K dong for each dish, serving sizes were large by hcmc standards.

2x big bowls of fragrant & delicious pho, 2 large pancakes with freshest basil, mint, lettuce & rice paper to wrap; hue yellow noodles with slices of pork & herbs mixed together in a light tangy marinade. All delicious & so fresh!

We were so impressed by the value, flavours & service of this new place in hoi an. Best overall meal by far in Vietnam after 6 days

Happy to spread the good news to fellow travellers & give the new kid on the block a hand.

Wishing Rice Drum every success. Great job guys! We'll be dining again tomorrow for more!

A well deserved review from 2 very satisfied customers visiting from Sydney, Australia

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trong Com R, Owner at Rice Drum Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Writer ,

Our 'Rice Drum' TEAM feel very encouraged & motivated with your GREAT comment " New restaurant providing great value for money, big servings & quality delicious food" on everything during your time with our restaurant.

We will KEEP IT UP and look forward to welcoming you & your friends back with us in the coming time.

Yours very truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Drum Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Rice Drum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice Drum Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.