We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Corner Hoi An

Gourmet Corner Hoi An
132 Hung Vuong street | Thanh Ha, Hoi An 10000, Vietnam
+84 510 3915 915
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 456 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: International, Dessert, Fusion, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: With Christine Ha - US Master chef, Luke Nguyen – celebrity AUS chef and many others, Vietnamese food becomes a trendy favor of many people around the world. At Hoi An, a delightful center of Vietnamese cuisine, where the South meets the North. The Gourmet Corner with chefs from Hanoi, Saigon and of course local Hoi An presents you a lavish choice of Vietnamese food through out the country from the street vendor's trolley to the king progressive dish with reasonable price.Are you missing home? Our choices of Western sides will help you. Experient chefs will serve what you are deserved to. Opens from 11.30 am until 10.00pm daily for lunch, dinner, snacks. Daily buffet breakfast from 6.30am until 10.00am.Feliz Bar: A delightful Point on the ground floor offers an effortless setting for relaxing and taking in the open view beside our pool, whether during the day or from sunset to dusk. For our guests’ refreshment, we offer a wide variety of exotic cocktails and coolers. A selection of mouth-watering snacks are also available for your pleasure as you’re sitting in the pool or basking in the sun.Daily Operation: from 6:30 a.m. till late at night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at Hotel 8 nights, ate there 5 nights. The restaurant is in a lovely garden setting. A must-Asian tasting menu changed nightly-a very good Al A Carte of Western and Asian food.
Breakfast lots of fresh fruit and cheeses. Asian menu as well. Their Vietnamese bread and pastries to die for.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were always greeted with big smiles. We thank all who made our stay so enjoyable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    24
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“From Hanoi to Hoi An, a memorable dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

It's the top-notch food that makes Gourmet Corner stand out among the many restaurants, cafés and eateries of the coastal city of Hoi An. Many people coming to Hoi An will no doubt be there for the sun, sand and surf. But this centre of resorts, marble art galleries and day spas also hides a rare gem of a restaurant.

Located in the recently opened Essence Hotel, Gourment Corner Hoi An is the sister restaurant of it's namesake in Hanoi - a long-established dining institution for those who have travelled further north.

Both Gourmet Corners' serves a mix of Western and Vietnamese dishes. But it's their interpretation of local street food - fresh and vibrant ingredients, abundant flavours, all served with a modern twist that is the Corner's strength.

Service is exemplary, with staff being efficient, friendly and attentive. There's a sense of generosity, familiarity and an easy going nature in what they do. Like being the welcomed guests at a friend's house rather than a hotel restaurant - much like the Hanoi branch.

The main differences between the two restaurants is that dishes in Hoi An have been adapted to the warmer climes of a beach-front city. The other is the setting - an open-aired garden space of lanterns, wood tables and deck chairs in contrast to Hanoi's city-scape location.

My major criticism of Gourmet Corner Hoi An is that it's not easy to find. Many first time travelers there may find it challenging to find the place from the old-town centre. But it's a small price to pay for some truly wonderful food that brings Vientnam's most familiar on a plate.

Well worth a visit and maybe another.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere! Excelent food and extremely friendly staff! A must try while your in hoi an. They really take pride in the food by decorating it nicely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Essence Restaurant (Hoi An) Review*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed the Essence Restaurant in Hanoi, so we were excited by the prospect of lunch at The Essence Hoi An.

A l-o-n-g cycle ride from our accommodation became a marathon... . We passed The Essence not once, but twice. Signage didn't really help us (see photo); led astray by another review, we were looking for 'an oasis among the paddy fields' rather than a five-storey hotel. Our perception of a stand-alone hotel adjacent rice fields was really quite flawed!

The ride (many kilometres past the hotel) enhanced our appetite and thirst. Food was beautifully-presented: superb garlic bread, delicious pumpkin soup, and wonderful vermicelli squid... and I enjoyed my Chilean white. Service was excellent.

Some prices are a little higher than those at The Essence Hanoi. We quickly realised that (possibly all) diners around us were hotel guests... and we were asked many times for our room number. Did an adjacent cooking class add to or detract from the ambiance? We're not sure. It certainly added some interest to our dining experience... .

* Would a separate review section specific to the restaurant be worthwhile?

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
1 review
“The food here is inventive, fresh and delicious, delivered by delightful staff served in a beautiful garden setting at a reasona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited the Gourmet Corner Hoi An numerous times during our 3 day stay in Hoi An at the Essence Hotel (which houses the restaurant). The buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious serving a wide variety of Vietnamese and Western meals - there is something for all tastes - delicious fresh fruits, cereals, salads, cheeses, bacon , sausage, spring rolls, breads, a pho bar, and egg /omelet selections.
Pool side lunches and snacks are equally delicious and include a variety of fresh fruit drinks, cold beer, wine, and cocktails. Dinner selections are inventive, fresh and expansive covering many Vietnamese and Western options.
Based on the food at this restaurant I chose to take a cooking class which was a highlight for me. It was run by the head chef at Gourmet Corner, Mr Huy and included an informative trip the the market, a quick tour of a large vegetable market garden and then careful instruction in the preparation of a variety of salads, a soup and two main courses. It was a very enjoyable learning experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Corner Hoi An also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Gourmet Corner Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Corner Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.