We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if it's summer.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BIG SAVE IN NEW YEAR !
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great if it's summer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights (as part of an intrepid tour). A lovely place, which is beautifully presented, with a fabulous pool and gardens. I was smug about my lovely large room with a balcony overlooking the gardens.

On the second day unfortunately the weather was very windy and cold. No chance of a swim! This in turn meant that my room was freezing as the balcony door even locked let in a huge amount of cold air, and I found myself stuffing the gap with paper and leaflets and anything I could put my hand on. The window wasn't much better.

Breakfast isn't bad but it is accessed by going outside so again, this is a better place if the weather is warm! The same applies for the bar, which closes very early anyway.

It is about a 20 minute walk to town, but I suppose that makes it quieter. Definitely no traffic noise, although like others, I was woken by the roosters each morning at 4, but that's quite fun.

One tip - do not go to the cafe opposite the hotel for laundry, try anywhere else. The cafe is grotty and the laundry was not only late but smelled really bad!!! Either use the hotel or find one of the other many places that offer this service.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Jenny J, many thanks for your recent stay and your constructive review on us. It is very nice to hear your comment about our lovely place with the nice pool and beautiful garden. Unfortunately, we found that your stay was not pleasant due to the weather affection changed afterwards. We are sorry to hear that you felt freeze and yourself manage to reduce the cold air to your room which is normal one of our best room with the garden- pool view extend to the paddy field. With the typical weather condition is rather hot then cold but occasionally it turns to a bit cold in the winter, we even had some bad storms which it is much worse then the windy day in February. We understand that all our guest expect for the nice weather during the trip and so we do. Our wish is to make guest happy in any way and the weather is a key factor. Thus we do apologies for all the inconveniences you had encountered and you could not enjoyed our pool and the bar. We feel so much supportive to read you comment and learn that we still need to enhance our accommodation quality. Definitely, we will be look into the details and make necessary improvements which aim to maximize our guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back next time in the better weather condition. Kind regards, Huyen/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    96
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
46
142
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place is doing everything right! Tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean rooms. Gorgeous, tranquil grounds including a lily pond and views of rice paddy fields & iconic water buffalo. Friendly helpful staff always eager to please. The smallest details are attended to from fresh flowers in your room at check in to lovely peaceful music (no tv...yay) in the airy dining room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back - gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sallyclark999, many thanks for your recent stay and your excellent review on us. We are glad that you felt satisfied with your stay and you enjoyed our resort's offerings. We were fortunate to keep the ground spacious which created nice view from your room and relaxing zone for all our guest. We highly appreciated your praise " Excellent in every way"; however we should not feel complacent as our guest expectation can be higher and we need to improve our high standard service day to day in order to ensure all the guest happy with their stay.

Once again, thank you for your high rating review and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back at our property in the upcoming time. Yours sincerely, Huyen/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here in Hoi An over 4 days and has been the best hotel so far in Vietnam. We loved the grounds and gardens of this boutique hotel, lovely pool, the rooms were very clean. The staff were amazing and are always eager to help, and always greet you, Huyen was so helpful and always checked to make sure our stay was perfect. We actually loved hearing the roosters in the morning, which in no way was intrusive or too loud. Loved the foot massage and body massage on site. Breakfast was great and was outdoors under massive pergola overlooking lake. You can either walk to old town which is 20 minutes away or use free bikes. Would definitely book here again when back in Vietnam.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear AthenaGoddess,
It is amazing to hear that you loved your stay and we are chosen on of your best hotel in Viet Nam. We greatly appreciated your praise on our spacious garden, our rooms, spa services, especially our caring staff who could please satisfaction and expectation. Thank you for all the memorable experiences and your high rating comment. We do hope to be at your service again in the near future. Kind regards, Huyen/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A great place to stay. Definitely one of the nicest places we stayed in during our trip to South East Asia. Luan (Lucky) at the front desk made us feel very welcome and was of great assistance to us. The White Russians cocktails at the bar were pretty good as well :)

Room Tip: Ask the girls at the front counter for any help or advice. They are very helpful and will steer you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mr. George, thank you for your choosing Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa during your ideal vacation in Hoi An. We are so pleased to learn that you thoroughly satisfied with your stay as well as we appreciated very much your kind compliments on our front desk team. Honestly, we still need to improve our daily role in order to provide the best service to every single guest and hope our other guest obtain the highest satisfaction like you.

Many thanks again for the beautiful words and the memorable experiences, we wish you all the best and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,
Huyen/ Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were booked in Phu Thinh as a part of our package tour with Custom Vietnam Travel.
I would say this hotel as average or a budget class. The rooms are small and old style. Breakfast was not that great. The hotel is around 20 mins walk Hoi An center which we found a bit of a stretch. There should be better hotels nearer to the city center. We were not very happy with the hotel service and food.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Anandvnath, thank you for your recent stay and your constructive feedback.
We sincerely apologize for any shortcomings and your unsatisfactory with our service and our food. Please kindly allow us to clarify the situation and explanation. Informing in advance from your travel agent that your stay were on the special birthday occasion, our team did arrange some special offer to welcome you and your wife. We would assure that we had tried to provide the proper and good services during your short stay such as: welcome with fresh flower bouquet, greeting birthday card in room and our personal attention. Hearing that from our conversation with your wife, this were your business trip to Da Nang, and just had only one day to visit Hoi An whilst you had been scheduled for the city tour and other activities around with your tour guide. It was ashamed that we did not find out your diet, we did not have any advance notice that you were Vegetarian, and during check out time myself had a talk with you with informing you were Vegetarian, your comment was about the buffet breakfast with limited choices for Vegetarian. We would be able to pleased you even more if we were informed earlier. However, our buffet breakfast with vary selection and mainly: Omelet, some kind of bread, food from starch, local soup noodle, some hot dishes, fruits, pastries which partly suit to Vegetarian. In fact we had quiet a few Vegetarian in house guest and even they stay over 3 week, they enjoyed our buffet breakfast without any advance mention. In deed, we are respect our guest expectation, thus we strive to take the prompt action to make you feel better.

Once more, thank you for your feedback. Definitely, we found that all your suggestion and comment offer us some opportunities to improve our facilities and services. Rest assured that our management and staff always keep trying our utmost to improve day by day to deliver the highest level of service. If there is any further suggestion, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Kindest regards, the hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Can not complain about anything. The breakfast was an amazing buffet style which changed slightly each day. The beds were super comfy. Free bicycle rental which made roaming around the town super easy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Tessatim, we are glad to read your excellent review. Your satisfaction is encouraging our team to provide the effective services every day beside our resort's beneficial facilities. Thank you for your enjoying our comfy bed, vary breakfast, free bike and your feeling "Beautiful service overall''. Wish you a pleasant trip and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked 3 nights here and writing this during my first night. It's currently 4:05am as a dog has been barking near by for the last hour not to mention the rooster that has been going during the day and early morning. You get a balcony but they don't tell you it looks over into someone's backyard (where the rooster is). We have spent the last week in Hanoi and Danang staying in 4 different hotels and this ones beds are the worst so far. Rock hard (and I'm not usually fussy). Unfortunately we have come accustom to the beautiful comfy new hotels of Hanoi and Danang for $45 USD a night and are not used to the not as newly upgraded hotels of Hoi An...

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Rachel S, thank you very much for your recent stay and your constructive feedback. It was very impressive to hear your comment about our staff is great; however we totally dismayed with your bad experiences right on your first night stay. We sincerely apologize for all the issues you encountered. We admit this situation should have been looked after with a great deal of flexibility in the fact that our resort is located in countryside nearby. Should these concerned matters be informed promptly, we would absolutely take an action straight away and make an effective solution to make you feel more comfortable. We would definitely change to a better room for you and give you a free massage to make you feel better after a hard night.
Should you have any more suggestion during your stay, please feel free to contact us: fom@phuthinhhotels.com
Thank you again for your patience and your stay with us. We assure to make your stay more enjoyable next time. Kind regards, Huyen/ Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#10 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phu Thinh 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.