We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel with great facilities and service. Brilliant value for money. Convenient for the town. Nice pool and spa. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size and with everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent feed back. We great appreciated your complements and it is really a strong motivation for our team. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us, and looking forward to welcoming again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    95
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
46
141
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was booked for my wife and I by David from the Rising Dragon Legend hotel in Hanoi.
We stayed here for three days as a break from our hectic travel schedule.
Everything was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem to them. It was nice to sit around the pool with a cold drink at the end of a hot day and relax. We both enjoyed the staff members coming to talk to us to help improve their English. ( we found that most of the staff could speak very good English already ) the rooms are very nice. Dining in the outdoor restaurant was very pleasant, ( Great food )We left on the day that the recent Typhon was starting to build in strength. I understand that the area was hit quite badly. I am sure the very efficient staff will have got the hotel up and running to a high level as soon as possible

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you very much for your excellent review during your stay in the last two weeks. We extremely enjoy your voting us "Everything was perfect" and your great compliments to our staff. It is absolutely encouraging our team and we will keep up the high service and effort to make all our guests feel delightful to stay with us. Furthermore, we highly appreciated your thoughtful concern to our property and staff about the Nari typhoon. Fortunately, we all were in safe, there was not much damage but we did work hardly to clean all up in the next day.

Once again, thank you for enjoying your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I'm in two minds as to whether I'd recommend Phu Thinh II Hotel. It looks nice, the pool is lovely, the lotus pool by outdoor breakfast area is gorgeous, and the staff are very friendly. On the other hand, it's a long walk into town, there aren't any cafes nearby, and although you can taxi to the beach there's the question of what to do with your bag. The water at the hotel also has an odd sour taste; it's present in the pool, the breakfast drinks, and boiled water in the room. The breakfast looks nice but the coffee is sour and barely lukewarm, the food is bland and all of the 'hot' food is cold.

There are bicycles but these are for rent (cheaply) rather than free.

If I came back then I would be far more inclined to stay at a hotel by the gorgeous beach. The length of the taxi ride into town is very similar whether from here or from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much to spend time with us and your review. It is really nice to hear your good feed back about our resort surroundings and our friendly staff.

We do apologise to hear that some services could not meet your satisfaction. Regarding to the water issue, we have the same Water supply source from town for the whole city, thus this have been treated properly. Otherwise, we appreciated your comment about our breakfast's food, we had shared your comment to our Food & Bevarage service in order to improve its quality. We wish you could email directly to us : info@phuthinhhotels.com for any further suggestion.

Once again, thank you very much for your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Ms. Huyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an intrepid tour last week. Unfortunately, the two nights we were here was blighted by a typhoon that washed through Hoi An. As a result, we couldn't try their lovely looking restaurant and pool. It's hard to judge the hotel because of the circumstances, but if their efforts to make the best of a bad situation are anything to go by, I'm sure this is an excellent place. 

After the typhoon swept through overnight, the place was left in a sorry state. Corridors full of debris, destroyed landscaping and wet floors everywhere.  Thankfully our room was well placed to avoid most of the typhoon's fury. The next morning, there was no breakfast at the restaurant due to the continuing ferocious winds. Not for their lack of trying though. As the winds stopped, they tried to set up breakfast, but I don't think they realised that it was just the eye of the storm! In the end they brought as much food and coffee to the main hotel foyer as possible and all the hotel guests ate there like we were in some rescue camp. Throughout the rest of the morning, whilst we confined ourselves to the hotel, I noticed all the staff working extremely hard to clean up the mess. They sent around messages to apologise for the lack of TV and free wifi since the backup generator did not allow the use of these.  I felt sorry for the housekeepers, as they came around to clean the rooms. They offered to clean ours, but I told them just a change of towels will do since I knew they were flat chat busy. When we eventually ventured out to town later in the afternoon, we were extremely pleased and impressed that housekeeping decided to make up and clean our room whilst we were out.

As for the rooms, they were quite nice with old school wooden furnishings and windows. It was also nice to have a proper shower cubicle with door rather than the usual shower curtain. The room could do with a little more lighting though. Also, there's no elevator, but considering there's only 3 floors this isn't much of an issue.

Overall, I have nothing but praise for the resort for trying their best to make the best of a bad situation. The typhoon was an experience in itself, and the resort made sure that it wasn't necessarily an unpleasant one.

Oh, and just so you know, one of our friends got their laundry washed by the restaurant right across the road. When they got it back, their clothes had shrunk. Best avoid it. Although try their food.  It's excellent stuff. Their "white roses" is to die for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to express our sincerely thankfulness for your thorough comment regarding to your recent stay. We appreciated very much for your thoughtful feeling to our staff during this bad situation. Honestly, we apologize that you had an unpleasant experience with the typhoon and It may make you feel worried. This is really out of expectation; however, we ensure all our guest was in safe and the hotel did not have much damage and fortunately, we could give accommodation to other beach resort's guest who had been evacuated to the safe place. Once again, thank you very much for your understanding, your sympathy and your praise to our staff. And we wish we will have you again next tine in good weather condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at this hotel. The hotel is located just outside of the center of Hoi An, but it is just a 10-15min walk away or a couple of minutes by bicycle. And you can rent bicycles from the hotel. The people in the reception are very friendly and speak english very well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your good feedback about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort. It is our pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciated very much your nice comment about our reception staff . We keep improving our high services standard and ensure that all our guest will have a delightful stay. Looking forward to your return next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was part of our intrepid tour. Location was great, walking distance to Old Quarter, bike hire. Staff were amazing and very friendly, nothing to much trouble. There was a restaurant right across the road which served great food so after a day out you did not have to travel far for dinner. breakfast was very good and plenty to pick from. The donuts are excellent when they come out warm. Hotel has a lovely pool area which was great after a day out bike riding. Massage was very good and you got a free manicure to.

Only down side was our room was right above the reception area and you could hear the phone ring and other guests would have to walk up the stairs and it was noisey. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from reception and the stair case.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your great comment about our resort, we highly appreciate your detailed comments about the resort in general, our breakfast, spa, pool and our staff in particular. We are pleased that you had tried almost of our services which could meet your expectation.
Regarding to your information about the room above reception, we sincerely apologize that caused some inconveniences to you; however our hotel occupancy was high last few weeks, we could not assign better room for you. We will pay full attention to your suggestion, and we ensure to upgrade your room next time. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September. Great position just a few minutes pleasant walk from Hoi An old town in a peaceful area. The hotel has very recently been refurbished. It is very clean and spacious throughout. Gardens are beautiful. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. But the best feature are the staff - we have never met such helpful, friendly, caring staff both in the hotel and in the spa. Nothing is too much trouble. They seem genuinely concerned for our welfare. A fantastic stay in a lovely hotel with the best and friendliest staff we have ever met.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhuThinh2, Guest Relations Manager at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Writer, thank you very much for the excellent reviews regarding to your delightful stay at Phu Thinh Boutique Resort, Hoi An. We greatly appreciated your nice comments about our different services and in particular, your compliments about our staff which is absolutely a strong motivation for us to keep up the high service standard. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: 488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#9 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phu Thinh 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.