We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Thinh 1 Hotel

Phu Thinh 1 Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phu Thinh 1 Hotel
Save
You added Phu Thinh 1 Hotel to your Saves list
144 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Rockingham, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't do breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

The location of this hotel is about the only good thing it has to offer. Whilst the rooms are of an adequate size and clean the other areas let it down.The hotel was very quite. There were bus groups coming and going and in the evening if you wish to dine do so early as they have group dining .
The breakfast area is in need of some TLC . There isn't much choice if you don't want eggs and dry french pastries. We were there for 3 breakfasts and each morning the same cold tea & coffee and bad service.We ate at the restaurant one evening and it was reasonable better than breakfast.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
queenslander
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We found this hotel to be quite good. Central,economical. Was quite cool and rainy during our stay here of of three nights, so didnt get to the pool. Staff we found very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, didnt have any other meals at restruant. Over all would recomment this hotel. We hired our bikes from reception-best way to get around. Lots of good resturants and tailors close by

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Great if you take one of the upstairs front balcony rooms.There are only 2 of these rooms..
They are giantic rooms,with refrigerator lounge couches and tables etc,.and the air con works well.
Staff are great, and you have a balcony.
Out the door on the street opposite a great little cafe doing great foods and pastries.
Booking for this hotel is sometimes a problem on booking sites,as the #1 hotel we are discussing above is many times confused with their #2 hotel,same name,different area on the main road to the beach.
Also very nice 2 or 3 star and with pool.
I are trying to book the #1 hotel at the moment, for my visit next week, March 7th 09 but its proving difficult,as there is a lot of conflict on the rates,the last site quoting US$30 which is ridiculous for a basic but cute property such as the #1.
For that price I would rather stay at their #2 with all the 2 star trimmings that their own site quotes the standatd room at only us&35 with breakfast.
Ill keep hunting though!
Dennis The Menace..

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I found the girl at the reception to be very rude. She just showed me to the room without speaking or looking at me. Every question I asked was responded to unhelpfully, even a raised voice on one occassion. The other staff are ok but I woudn't say particularly friendly.

Receptionsist aside, I would't bother with this place anyway. The rooms are grotty, dark and have no external windows. My room was infested with mosquitos (the worst I've had in 5 months travelling in Asia, must have been about 30-40 of them). They provide nets but I was still bitten to death.

Also don't bother with the "better" $15 a night rooms upstairs. They have windows and a shared balcony but the metal roof makes an almighty racket if the wind picks up.

FYI: rooms are big enough with tv, fridge, wardrobe, hot shower. Laundry service is excellent as is the location right in the heart of the old town.

To be honest though Hoi An is full of lovely guest houses which are good value for money. For $12 a night you can do much better than this.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — receptionist, mosquitos
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

This Hotel is excellenf for someone who wants cheap accommodation right in the heart of Hoi An. It has a nice courtyard at the front. I have stayed there twice now, and sent others there. The people are very friendly and everything works - hot water, air conditioning etc. However, it is certainly basic in fittings etc, so if you are looking for a luxury hotel with a pool and lots of tourists around you - go somewhere else (plenty of tourist hotels at the beach area). I'll go back!

PS don't confuse it with the more upmarket Phu Thinh 2.


Rob Toogood

  • Liked — location, friedliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Thinh 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh 1 Hotel

Address: 144 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Thinh 1 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.