We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little place on the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Gecko

Red Gecko
23 Nguyen Hoang, Minh An, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
+84 93 538 04 23
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: European, Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We followed the reviews and decided to check out this restaurant, given it was listed as very reasonably priced. The food was absolutely fantastic! We've already been in Vietnam for almost a week and this stood out as one of our favorite meals. The staff were friendly and great service. We ordered the spring rolls, as they were listed as a specialty of the restaurant, and they were THE BEST. Highly recommend.

Overall, we shared 3 large dishes (spring rolls, cao lau, and sauteed chicken chili with lemongrass), 3 beers and a cocktail and we were only in the hole $12 AUD.

If nothing else, stop in for the spring rolls and a cheap Saigon beer!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    53
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medway
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

As others have said, the seafood spring rolls are amazing. So succulent and tasty with the lightest crispy batter!
We also had grilled duck with garlic and bbq'd chicken with lemon grass, which was melt in the mouth delicious. Set in a cul-de-sac towards the river, it's basic but fantastic home cooked food at a good price.
Looking forward to the happy hour cocktails tonight!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“A small disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We followed our fellow trip advisers to this restaurant and I have to say our experience didn't match ours. Food was OKish but service was polite was completely disorganised, my started came 30 minutes after my daughter and her desert with my main course. At least is very cheap so great value for money

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedGeckoHoiAn, Người quản lý at Red Gecko, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Ricardo B

Thank you for your feedback regarding our restaurant. It is useful.

I would like to apologize for our long wait time. I understand that your time is valuable, and that we wasted it with the delays in our system.

I would like you to know that we are currently addressing the issue, I hope that we can make it better on your next visit.

I apologize on behalf of Red Gecko and thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ate at a table on the pavement. There were others indoor and on the road (it's a cul-de-sac down to the river!). As tends to be the way, it is a family run operation. Prices were inexpensive even by Vietnamese standards. The fish was especially nice and as good as we had anywhere in Vietnam. The lady owner chatted to us and was a wonderful hostess. They also gave us watermelon dessert without charge. Highly recommended for a cheap, cheerful and friendly meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Get the Fresh Seafood Springrolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

In my 3 weeks of Vietnam, Red Gecko plated me the best tasting fresh seafood spring rolls for the entire trip.

The older lady their seemed to be quite proud of the recipe and was very interested to know what i thought. She also was kind enough to go get me some special chilli sauce that made it even better.

Great little family run restaurant with great food. It can be a little tricky to find - as you are walking down the street away from the main strip, just keep walking (a little more than you may expect) and it's on your left.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Gecko also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Gecko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.