We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Gecko

Red Gecko
23 Nguyen Hoang, Minh An, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
+84 93 538 04 23
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: European, Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Homer, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What a GEM! We just happened across this family run restaurant. The food is excellent, fresh, plentiful & so delicious! The family that owns it & does the cooking are so friendly, helpful & accommodating. Well worth a visit, many times!
Their address is: 23 Nguyen Hoang Street, Hoi An Old Town Phone: 0122 555 8908 - 0905 405 255

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    32
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well worth finding it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were recommended this place by a fellow holidaymaker. It's a bit off the beaten track (probably three minutes walk past the end of the main tourist strip), which is a shame, as more people should give it a go.

Family run place, and they put real care into what they provide, which is great to see. The food was delicious - I was very tempted to break my policy of not eating in the same restaurant twice! And it was excellent value also, slightly lower priced than the average for the location - we spent less than £10 between two of us, and ate/drank very well. The mother came out and had a chat with us, telling us more about the food, which was very interesting, and the daughter's English was probably better than mine!

They don't have the location, or the marketing strength, to compete with the big restaurants in Hoi An, but on the food, they certainly do, and ultimately that's what's most important. I'd strongly recommend giving this place a go, you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Located in quite street just off main restaurant drag by the river in Nguyan Hoang. Food excellent, especially vegetarian dishes. Great drink specials. The cheapest we found in Hoi An. We got two cocktails for the price of one making them $2.20 aud each. The owner Tran incredibly welcoming and friendly. Lovely place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The food is excellent, all is true in the other reviews. But what puts this place apart from all others is the friendliness of the family who owns it. We had lunch there, it was a moment of peace, far from the crowds of tourist and we didn't want to leave.We spent a long time chatting with the owner and other staff, soon some neighbors joined us. A delightful moment. We were made to feel like old friends. Definitively, one of the highlights of our 3 weeks in Viet Nam

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were passing by this restaurant in one evening, it is on the other side of the river, on the "island", in a more quiet area. And we decided to have dinner there at the outdoor tables, a good decision it was!
The food (Mackerel fish and seafood rice) was very good, but what impressed us there was the lovely service they gave us. Except for giving us free tea and fruits as desserts, they were being very hospitable, smiley and nice (without making you feel awkward about that). And you could see that they really care.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Gecko also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Gecko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.