We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come to discover the Vietnamese historical and cultural significance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old House of Tan Ky

Old House of Tan Ky
101 Nguyen Thai Hoc St., Hoi An 10000, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 36 Attractions in Hoi An
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This beautiful private home, built around an open courtyard and filled with antiques, is over two hundred years old.
Ukraine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Come to discover the Vietnamese historical and cultural significance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is another great experience in Hoi An. The house was built from traditional materials by skilled local artisans and was influenced by Chinese and Japanese styles. The house had a large wooden door, but no window. Its charming and elegant designs give it a cozy aspect. In summer, the back door overlooks a wharf by the Hoi An River makes it cool, not hot at all. It is one of the must-see place if you visit Hoi An.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    99
    77
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A smelly house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

During walking time arround Hoi An Old Quater we visited this house. A guide went out to show us some informations of this house. She was very friendly and gave enough interesting info of this house. This is exactly old Viet Nam house style but there are smell inside. Its may from rain few days ago to make very wet in wall and wooden. They need to check and clean that smell before welcoming guest to there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Half closed at lunch, a 5 minute attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We didn't realize half the house was closed at lunchtime until after we handed over our ticket... As a result there was nothing more to see than what you could spot by poking your head in the front door. Most of the pictures and signs are of various heads of states visiting the house over the last 20 years, not much on the house itself

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Closed during lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Part of the house was closed during lunch, so we'd to return to tour the entire house later, and even then we could only look around the ground floor. We preferred the House of Phung Hung as we could tour the upstairs as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a place you don't want to miss when in Hoi An. It's a typical old house, built in dark wood, all furniture has been kept as in the old times. All decoration, paintings, and home items are original. There's a tour guide inside that gives you a short explanation on the history of the house and they sell you 'good luck coins' for a dollar or so.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old House of Tan Ky also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Old House of Tan Ky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old House of Tan Ky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.