We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Covered Bridge

Japanese Covered Bridge
At the West end of Tran Phu St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Vietnamese Cooking Class and Hoi An Ancient Town...
Ranked #5 of 90 things to do in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A local favorite, construction on this covered bridge began in the Year of the Monkey (1593) and was finished in the Year of the Dog (1595), hence the monkey and dog sculptures at either end.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful quaint old town with character, lovely shops and restaurants and the brige over remids you of the heritage of the town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    846
    594
    69
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
239 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“It's not about the bridge, but what lays beyond it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This bridge is interesting, but it is filled with too many tourists! I could not get a picture without half a dozen foreigners standing in the way. See the bridge and then go beyond . . . there is extremely interesting shops, clan houses and halls, and temples on both sides of the bridge. Enjoy them!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What's the deal?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

OK so it's an old bridge, but honestly it's actually quite ugly so it's not even a photo oppurtunity... Definitely not worth going out of your way to look at.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice and attractive bridge but small and overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Japanese Covered Bridge is touted as one of Hoi An's premier attractions - and although it is pretty and interesting, it's very small and you've seen everything there is to see after your first glance at it. The historic houses and temples which you can go into and explore are far more interesting and worthwhile.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You have to pay to simply walk across it!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We wandered over from our hotel as we thought we should at least get a glimpse of this bridge. The area itself is really nice, but definitely touristy!! Remember to haggle if you buy things nearby!! Anyway, we were about to wander over this bridge after taking photos of it, when a surly Vietnamese guard told us to produce our tickets. TICKETS!! It's a 3 meter long bridge!! We just walked around it and had a look from the other side... Good to cross off the check list after seeing the assembly hall.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Covered Bridge also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Japanese Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Covered Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.