We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Ornate! Free right at sundown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall

Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall
176 Tran Phu St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$42*
and up
Half-Day Hidden Hoi An Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 108 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cantonese merchants built this meeting hall in Southeast Asian style, with a central courtyard surrounded by buildings brightly decorated with statues and carvings.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
239 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Very Ornate! Free right at sundown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This Clan Hall is one of Hoi Ann's finest! We enjoyed the cool carvings that exist all over the place. Inside the temple there are some really large painted sculptures, and an amazing mosaic dragon. The temple also has unique cone shaped prayer/offering devices hanging from the ceiling, a feature we'd never seen in a temple before.

Tip! We went as the sun was starting to set and got in for free. This tip was true of many places in Hoi An!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Interesting for those of Cantonese ancestry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I think we were a little jaded with Chinese temples and Assembly halls by the time we got here, as we found it to be so-so. Architecturally, it's not as nice as the Phu Kien Hall, but it'd be interesting for those of Chinese/cantonese ancestry as they'd recognise some of their deities like Tien Hau, the Goddess of the Sea.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is another fantastic temple in Hoi An. Amazing building and patio! The incense is in the air and you can transport yourself to another time in the past...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_Iri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Probably my favorite place we visited on the coupon system. I loved seeing the spectacular decorations, including the amazing sculpture in the garden.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank waughsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fascinating & beautiful site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hoi An is beautiful with lots of sites competing for your attention - this assembly hall is the "must see" place in the city. An ancient community and trading centre for the Chinese trading community, it is beautiful with lots of details to see (and photograph), with a fascinating history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing