We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for those of Cantonese ancestry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall

Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall
176 Tran Phu St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$49*
and up
Ranked #7 of 32 Attractions in Hoi An
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cantonese merchants built this meeting hall in Southeast Asian style, with a central courtyard surrounded by buildings brightly decorated with statues and carvings.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Interesting for those of Cantonese ancestry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I think we were a little jaded with Chinese temples and Assembly halls by the time we got here, as we found it to be so-so. Architecturally, it's not as nice as the Phu Kien Hall, but it'd be interesting for those of Chinese/cantonese ancestry as they'd recognise some of their deities like Tien Hau, the Goddess of the Sea.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    51
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Another jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is another fantastic temple in Hoi An. Amazing building and patio! The incense is in the air and you can transport yourself to another time in the past...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Probably my favorite place we visited on the coupon system. I loved seeing the spectacular decorations, including the amazing sculpture in the garden.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fascinating & beautiful site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hoi An is beautiful with lots of sites competing for your attention - this assembly hall is the "must see" place in the city. An ancient community and trading centre for the Chinese trading community, it is beautiful with lots of details to see (and photograph), with a fascinating history.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Again another good place to visit if you buy a day 5 pass in Hoi An. Very pretty with lots of ornate designs, interesting building.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.