We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for those of Cantonese ancestry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall

Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall
176 Tran Phu St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Vietnamese Cooking Class and Hoi An Ancient Town...
Ranked #10 of 95 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cantonese merchants built this meeting hall in Southeast Asian style, with a central courtyard surrounded by buildings brightly decorated with statues and carvings.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Interesting for those of Cantonese ancestry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I think we were a little jaded with Chinese temples and Assembly halls by the time we got here, as we found it to be so-so. Architecturally, it's not as nice as the Phu Kien Hall, but it'd be interesting for those of Chinese/cantonese ancestry as they'd recognise some of their deities like Tien Hau, the Goddess of the Sea.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    86
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is another fantastic temple in Hoi An. Amazing building and patio! The incense is in the air and you can transport yourself to another time in the past...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Probably my favorite place we visited on the coupon system. I loved seeing the spectacular decorations, including the amazing sculpture in the garden.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fascinating & beautiful site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hoi An is beautiful with lots of sites competing for your attention - this assembly hall is the "must see" place in the city. An ancient community and trading centre for the Chinese trading community, it is beautiful with lots of details to see (and photograph), with a fascinating history.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
193 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Again another good place to visit if you buy a day 5 pass in Hoi An. Very pretty with lots of ornate designs, interesting building.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quang Trieu (Cantonese) Assembly Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.