We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice but still getting its act together” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hoi An Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoi An Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Canberra
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Quite nice but still getting its act together”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Located 5KM out of town on the beach which is great if you like the beach but not so good if you would rather stroll around the beautiful town. Hotel had a free shuttle but hours it operated were quite limited. Breakly fairly ordinary with lack of healthy cereal and fruit / hot selection not great. Staff friendly and helpful but a bit more attention to detail needed. No fly screen on room so insect entry possible. Air cond in rooms but temperature during our 2 day stay did not justify use. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance and hotel served a good reasonably priced meal.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    290
    91
    29
    12
See reviews for
146
312
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I selected this hotel basde upon other Trip Advisor Reviews and booked it through a Travel Agent as part of a 5 week IndoChina
Private Tour .

The hotel was basically void of guests during my stay ..I was assigned a room at the road where 24/7 construction was going on .
I quickly told the desk that this was not acceptable .
I was moved the a room near the River .
There were no guests in any of the river facing rooms during my entire stay within that block of rooms but I was not allowed to have one unless I paid a premium price for the upgrade .

My room obviously had the same water stain problems that another T/A reviewer had ..all the stains were recently painted over .The closet wood stunk of mold.It was a difficult night putting up with this smell . I assume that they had river flooding problems recently and that the rooms were never completely dried out ,
The "balcony" is matchbox in size and has no privacy..the chairs are the most uncomfortable pieces of junk ..
The TV reseption is limited to maybe 3 good stations
The barhroom is a peeling mess ..watch you do not kill yourself getting in and out of the bathroom shower combo .
Breakfast is outside in the freezing cold..Choices are very limited and of inferior quality ..there is no inside service . You will have to get a heavy winter coat if the wind is blowing from across the river .
You must get your own coffee as the attendants are too busy in conversation with each other to notice your needs ..being the only person in attendance I yelled from across the "room" at one for some service .
She was not happy that I interupted her feverish conversation with the busboy .
The reception staff are unprofessional and they to do not want to be interrupted from their cell phone conversations.
Do not use their internet service to do any monetary transactions as all the computers are plagued with viruses and spyware,,images on ALL monitors dance across the screen ..the keyboards are not
functioning properly ....other clients were experiencing the same problems so we left notes to warn other users not to use them .If you want something printed it costs 50 cents a page .


This is not a beach resort by any means .Resorts have beach facilities ..This place has no facilities on the beach unless you consider 2 bottles of booze on a high shelf inside an canopy a bar .
The change room is a smelly toilet that dubed as a gasoline storage facility ..the person "on duty" was asleep off and on out of boredom most of the time or was periodically occupied by filling up a waterbottle with seawater for one of the female hotel attendants ..strange but true !

The limited shuttle service into town operates on time .It costs 3 dollars for a taxi if you do not use the shuttle .

This place was a real disappointment considering the price that I paid ..
There are far bettercheaper accommodations available elsewhere .
With all the hotel development going on within the area this place
will soon be up for sale unless it changes management FAST and fire its incompetent lazy staff .

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

We stayed two nights in December and enjoyed the experience. Rooms are well equipped and the river view is nice. Beach is just a short walk across the road, and staff is very accommodating with beach lounges. Breakfast is very high quality. We also stayed there the previous year, and although the bathroom configuration was changed, it's still set up so it's impossible not to flood the bathroom every time you shower. A little advice on plumbing would serve them well. Overall, I would recommend the hotel for a relaxing couple of days away in a great town.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

Hoi An Beach Resort was the perfect place for us to stay as a family. We had adjoining Seaside View Rooms to accommodate my husband and I and our teenage son. Both rooms were enormous, with high ceilings, traditional Vietnamese furnishings and artwork and large balconies facing the China Sea.

The resort is situated between the river and the ocean and the sounds of the water were soothing and quietly relaxing.

The restaurant was wonderful as were the staff - very friendly and helpful.

We had the most magnificent experience of our many travels here, when sitting at dinner one evening, we watched little boats full of candles meandering down the river .One by one these candles were laid out to float in the water making their way past the resort, in the moonlight. Magical.

  • Liked — It was in keeping with the feel of the Hoi An village
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at Hoi An Beach Resort's sister property - Hoi An Hotel - to be closer to the old town but wanted a night away from town to take advantage of the only sunny day during our rainy season visit to the area.

Hoi An Beach Resort is quite large and we stayed in a building a bit of a walk away from the reception area. We got a great rate and although we chose the least expensive room (Garden View), it turned out that we were on the 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking a beautiful view of the river. The balcony was a wonderful place to sit, read and have a drink and the stretch of river by the hotel is gorgeous.

There is quite a bit of refurbishment going on, but not enough to bother us during our stay. Our room looked brand new and all the basic amenities were available: good A/C, min-bar, TV with cable and toiletries, good water pressure and supply of hot water. Everything at this hotel was of better quality than at Hoi An Hotel in the old town.

There were plenty of sun beds at the beach, with cushions and towels but the toilet/shower facilities left much to be desired. The beach area is lovely and largely undeveloped - what Asian beaches really used to be! But the development work that is taking place will change this landscape very soon. There are many beachfront restaurants further down to choose from for an inexpensive meal. There are two hotel pools but only one was being used by guests since the other was close to the construction site.

A breakfast buffet was offered - great selection of both Western and Vietnamese food and lovely open-air riverside location. Other than that, we did not take advantage of the restaurant at the hotel but had drinks at the bar.

If we had better weather during our stay in Hoi An, we would have chosen to stay longer at this hotel and just taken advantage of their free shuttle bus to go to Hoi An old town for shopping, ordering clothes and sampling restaurants. But we were quite happy with our one night stay.

We left for Da Nang airport from this hotel and chose not to take advantage of a hotel-arranged taxi, instead making our own arrangements with a private taxi for a fixed price equivalent to $14 instead of the $25/$28 offered by the hotel. We were told to give about 50 minutes allowance for the journey but it was closer to 35-40 minutes so no problems at all.

  • Liked — Lovely undeveloped beach
  • Disliked — Beach toilet facilities requires major improvement!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

The room was extremely spacious and comfortable. The view from the window doors gave on the river.
My partner and I stayed in the River-side view villa. Every evening we would have a story put on our pillows.

I would not recommend taking a sea-side view as there is a road between the rooms and the sea.
The restaurant was very expensive for Vietnam (and so was the laundry service). One bad surprise we had was that they did not accept traveller's cheque. We thought that a four star resort would take them... Also the mosquito net was too small for the bed! Not recommendable on the river-side.

They have an excellent Zen Spa that provides exquisite massages and beauty treatments.
The sea side is very nice and at night time sellers lay mats on the sand and lanterns to attract you to sit down and order some of their food. If you just wanted to take a stroll, do not go anywhere near the mats or you will have 10 people surrounding you and screaming at you to sit on their mats despite your protests of just wanting to walk...

Also, it is still a resort. I was appalled going through Vietnam and seeing big patches of land on the beach closed off to the locals because some private resort was going to be built on site. It not only kills the landscape, deprives locals of the rights they had to go for a swim there and is fairly segregational when you think that only people that earn 10,000 times more than a yearly salary of the average Vietnamese can afford to go there!

  • Liked — Vast bedroom with a colonial house look.
  • Disliked — The resort feeling: a place for occidentals, with occidental price and local discrimination.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

A fantastic resort! The room was fantastic, nice and large and lots of pillows! A little out of town however cab fares are cheap and there are still some great dressmakers right near the resort where I got some clothes made at very reasonable prices. Would stay there again next time!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Beach Resort

Address: 01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Beach Resort is a four-star resort situated between the romantic De Vong river and famous Cua Dai Beach. It consists of luxurious old Vietnamese-style houses and villa rooms. It is recognized kilometers from the historic town of Hoi An. 35 km (a 45 minute drive) from Danang International Airport and railway station.In its day the principal trading port for the whole of central Vietnam, Hoi An has long been proud of its reputation for gracious hospitality. We are dedicated to continuing this tradition today in our new and luxurious beach resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Hoi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.