We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location between the river and the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hoi An Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic location between the river and the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We loved our stay at Hoi An Beach Resort. We stayed in a riverview villa which was very spacious and furnished in Vietnamese style. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the river, which was a relaxing place to chill out with a drink at the end of the day. From our room you could see fishermen going about their daily life and water buffalo taking a dip. Very restful and yet still cultural. We would recommend the riverview villa rather than the beach villas on the other side as they are near the road so a bit noisier (although the road is not that busy), and do not really have a beach view. There are two pools, neither of them very large but this is not a huge resort so they were more than enough for the guests when we were there. Breakfast was very nice overlooking the river. The staff were all very good and certainly made our stay here very comfortable. The resort has a shuttle to take you into Hoi An town at regular intervals and we were more than happy with this to go in to eat or shop etc. The beach was very clean and you could walk for miles along it if you wished. We would highly recommend staying here rather than being right in the town for a bit of relaxation away from the hustle bustle.

  • Liked — Location between the beach and river
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    327
    101
    33
    13
See reviews for
176
359
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My husband did all our bookings on our recent trip to Vietnam and chose this hotel because it was near the beach and looked quite good on their web. Just enough comfort. The bathrooms were adequate and clean but I think the whole place could do with a touching up in the luxury department with the price they charge for the room, we didn't feel you got your money's worth.
One morning we came across a newly killed snake on the footpath on the way to breakfast, a bit nervewracking.
No milk and sugar in the rooms and when I asked if I could take some back to the room after breakfast I was told it would cost me a $1.
The whole place felt tired but the location was great, right across from the beach and on the plus side, the staff brought drinks and food if you wanted on to the beach for you.
The shuttle bus into Hoi An was very handy.

  • Liked — Handy to everything
  • Disliked — Basic
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for three nights as part of a tour of Vietnam. Although we were out and about touring the hotel was very restful and we were able to chill out a bit. Accommodation was spacious but I would suggest that anyone booking here try for a second-floor 'river view' room as first choice. The 'beach view' rooms look across what turned out to be quite a busy road - just intrusive enough to make sitting out on the veranda unacceptable.

Other hotel facilities good - had wonderful massages in Spa, and pools are spacious. Only thing to watch out for is weather - at the time we were there mornings were lovely but by mid-late afternoon there was a strong on-shore wind which made bathing a bit chilly!

Oh, and the yoghurt at breakfast was superb!

Another useful aside. We had clothes made at Lang Bian clothes shop just outside front gate of hotel - quick and well made: if you are looking to get a bargain or two and have the time this is at least worth looking at.

  • Liked — Location and Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Road along perimeter
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

This is a large '4 star' hotel between the Thu Bon river and Cua Dai beach, about 5 km from Hoi An. There is a free shuttle bus to Hoi An.
We were, however, extremely disappointed with the hotel. The foyer smelt of stale cooking oil and looked as if it could do with a good clean. Our 'deluxe river view' room was in a huge Soviet style block. The room was very dark with (at best) functional furniture, an ancient TV and beds with foam mattresses and useless mosquito nets. The bathroom was in serious need of renovation while the corridor walls had huge damp patches and randomly painted spots on the ceiling (presumably where they had tried to paint over the damp).
It is a mystery how this hotel can claim 4 star status (for which we were paying). I asked if there were other rooms available and was told no, so I rang my travel agent in Singapore and thankfully she relocated us to another hotel which I can highly recommend.
Be warned: 4 star status means very little in Viet Nam.

  • Liked — view of river from restaurant
  • Disliked — size of hotel and condition of rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

The hotel grounds and river location are lovely. Rooms were great, we had a lovely diagonal view to the river. The room needed minor maintanence. Cable TV was the worst we found in Vietnam and Cambodia with the few available stations freezing continuously. Computers were slow with the keyboards needing replacement as some letters had disappeared. Breakfast and the location overlooking the river was excellent and the highlight of the hotel. Across the road from the beach, shops and restaurants. The shuttle bus was good but prefer accomodation closer to the heart of Hoi An. Overall a lovely hotel but for me it was a bit large and required general maintanence of the grounds and buildings.

  • Liked — Breakfast and dining Location
  • Disliked — Cable Television
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

This place is certainly not the cheapest place in Hoi An, but I can't think of how any hotel could be better.

Firstly the location, it's out of town which means you'll need transport to get there and back, but they offer a regular shuttle and you'll appreciate the location that they do have - wedged between serene river and private beach. By Vietnamese standards, the beach is awesome and if the sand gets too much for you there are two beautiful pools to choose from. One has a dive-in bar.

The restaurant is pricey, but it is convenient and there are other options across the road from the resort. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

Our riverview deluxe room was excellent - very large and airy, nice view (although the balcony was not particularly private), good aircon/tv/minibar, nice big beds, free turndown service with bedtime stories - who could ask for more?

The resort offers a variety of activities for a fee, but free internet and billiards.

We were very pleased at our choice and will certainly stay there again if we return to Hoi An.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We are seasoned travellers, so when we booked a 4 star resort for 5 nights one would expect a decent place. We checked in with our three children expecting connecting rooms, not so, agent made a mistake was the reply from the staff and if we required connecting rooms we would have to pay an extra USD40 per night, per room, however it was not available the first night so that we would have to move. We were shown to rooms next door to each other and having no other choice we accepted. There was no toilet paper in one so we had to call room service, unbelievable....showering was another story, both rooms experienced blocked drainage so while you were showering you were in a bath full of water...and it took forever to drain. This was a constant occurance, my partner was furious and complained on the 2nd day to management and they sent someone to unblock the drains in both rooms. On the third day management asked if we would like to move to the river facing rooms at no extra charge due to our inconvenience...we accepted and moved. Lovely big rooms with large bathrooms and much closer to restaurant and pools. We spent the last two nights in some comfort, so if you are staying, make sure you ask for the river facing rooms, which by the way have been refurbished, not like the two that we stayed in when we arrived. The morning we checked out and in front of other guests the staff asked what we were still owing for the upgrade to the river rooms, my partner said very politely that it was a complimentary upgrade (if that's what they called it) from the management..something that they should have known and not to embarrasse us in front of other people.

We dined in the restaurant the first night as we were all to tired to venture out, we ordered amongst other foods, the roast chicken for our 3yo daughter, this came to the table undercooked. My partner sent it back and it was returned to us very oily, we realised that they put the chicken in the deep fryer to cook it further, needless to say it was not eaten. We also found the restaurant prices to be much more expensive to what you can obtain outside the resort.

After five mornings the breakfast buffet was very boring, the same foods displayed everyday....there is more variety in my own kitchen !!! What I found NOT acceptable was that EVERY coffee cup set up for breakfast was chipped. This is definitely not 4 star quality....very disappointing!!! As for the service, especially at breakfast it was very very poor.
Overall Hoi An is a great place to visit however The Hoi An Beach Resort seems to be old and tired.

  • Liked — The river facing rooms and the pools
  • Disliked — The restaurant and service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Beach Resort

Address: 01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#21 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Beach Resort is a four-star resort situated between the romantic De Vong river and famous Cua Dai Beach. It consists of luxurious old Vietnamese-style houses and villa rooms. It is recognized kilometers from the historic town of Hoi An. 35 km (a 45 minute drive) from Danang International Airport and railway station.In its day the principal trading port for the whole of central Vietnam, Hoi An has long been proud of its reputation for gracious hospitality. We are dedicated to continuing this tradition today in our new and luxurious beach resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Hoi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.