We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Hoi An, 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hoi An Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Christmas in Hoi An, 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Father Christmas was EVERYWHERE. The hotel staff put on a fantastic Xmas party on Christmas Eve which the residents seemed to enjoy thoroughly.

Our first room was unsuitable because of the number of stairs to climb and distance from reception (I am a heart patient), and there was quite a tussle at reception before we were able to upgrade to a River View de luxe room, but once we got our accommodation sorted out, the stay was very pleasent. Notwithstanding the rain that fell on and off all through our visit.

We particularly appreciated the hotel shuttle bus to take us into town and back. On time, every time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An Beach Re... T, Room Division Manager at Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Mr Eindelik,
Warmest greeting from Hoian Beach Resort,
Thank you for choosing our resort to stay on your vacation in Hoi An.
I’m very happy to learn that you’ve enjoyed your holidays here and had the deeply experience about the Christmas Party held in our resort and the friendly charming staffs as well.
I aslo would like to express our thanks for your comments and suggestions that are so useful for us to improve our service quality.

I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Yours sincerely
Le Thi Thanh Tram / Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    357
    109
    38
    13
See reviews for
187
399
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent girl in Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Location and facilities were good, a bit out of Hoi An but shuttle runs quite regularly, and taxis are USD4 and come quickly. Pool was always immaculate. Beach was nice, beach towels were a bit small, as were towels in the room. Room was ok but quite dated. Our toilet gurgled for our whole stay (7 nights) and the fridge was noisy so I unplugged it. Maid service wasn't that great... I like people to tidy up and they just moved round things. The breakfasts were very good but the biggest problem we had was communicating with the reception staff. The desk was often unmanned, or they'd be chatting outside and would eventually drag themselves away to see what we wanted. Their grasp of English was very poor so didn't bother trying to explain the toilet problem!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An Beach Re... T, Room Division Manager at Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Ms/Mr Danielle,
Warmest greeting from Hoian Beach Resort,
Thank you so much for your sincere comment which is so useful and neccesary to be better in serving guests as well as considering the staff traning program about English skills , handling guest complaint more professional .On behalf of the Management, I would like to say sorry for inconvenience caused you and we hope that this will not happen again to you and other guests
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hoian Beach resort so that you can see our servive improved
Respectfully,
Le Thi Thanh Tram/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Overall, the hotel was as I expected. The property overall appeared to be well maintained, although we didn't try the pool or any of the other facilities. The bountiful breakfast overlooking the river was a great way to start the day. The room was large and airy, and quite clean. The biggest disappointment was the 'car service' that the hotel arranged from Danang. Our driver arrived 30 mins late and proceeded to tell us we had arrived early (we hadn’t). The 'car' was a pretty dilapidated minivan. After a reasonably uneventful trip (other than the usual craziness of Vietnamese driving rules) the driver attempted to drop us off at the Hoi An resort in the middle of town, and not at the Hoi An Beach resort as his notes and sign clearly said. He grumpily took us to the right hotel. When asked at check-in how the drive was, we relayed our story; much to the amusement of the receptionist, who made no attempt to promise it wouldn't happen again, or remove the driver from their roster of providers. Stupidly we booked another car to return us to Danang a couple of days later. When it still hadn't arrived 20 minutes past the booked time I requested another car, or even a taxi. The receptionist simply said, “Don’t worry, he’ll be here soon”. We soon realised who “He” was. It was the same 'driver', who then proceeded to drive as slowly as he could to get us to the airport. Clearly the hotel doesn’t feel that the quality of their service providers reflects on their resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An Beach Re... T, Room Division Manager at Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Mr Paul Graham Robinson,
Warmest greeting from Hoian Beach Resort
Thank you so much for your sincere comment which is so useful and neccesary to be better in serving guests as well as considering the staff traning program about communication skill, guest service, handling guest complaint more professional .On behalf of the Management, I would like to say sorry for inconvenience caused you and we hope that this will not happen again to you and other guests
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hoian Beach resort so that you can see our servive improved
Respectfully,
Le Thi Thanh Tram /Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and clean with tile floors. The sliding doors open onto a balcony. The breakfast buffet is very good.

The hotel staff and communicating with them were the only drawbacks. We booked and paid online beforehand, but the management hassled us for having 2 children there. Our online booking included the 2 children, but once we checked-in the management notified us of an "additional charge" for more than one child (even just a 2 yr. old and a 4 yr. old). It was frustrating to have deal with that.

Also, the hotel advertises all of these exciting tours and amenities, but they really don't pan out. For example, our "kayak/fishing adventure with local expert advice" turned out to be the bell hop throwing a plastic kayak in the river and saying don't go more than 300yds from the hotel. No fishing equipment or "expert advice" and when ask why all he could say is "no fish in river" and walked away.

The bikes are mostly not free, unless you stay an "unspecified" length of time (3 days was not enough in my case).

Shuttle service into Hoi An ancient town is good. Trips head in about 7 times a day. It is about a 10 minute shuttle ride - otherwise the taxi ride is easy and costs about $4 to $5 each way.

Room Tip: Stay on the river side. The "ocean-side" actually faces a busy, noisy main road (the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at this resort again. Its a breath of fresh air. The people are genuinely friendly and keen to help you out. Especially the wait staff! The food was exceptional, beautifully presented and fresh. The little touches with lanterns at night and stories to read make this a really memorable and warm place to visit. It has had a make over since the last time we visited and looks fresh and modern. Recommend it definately for anyone who wants to escape the hassle of town.

Room Tip: Sea side villa was great at this time of the year might be a little noisy in July?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is situated about six km (10 mins) from Hoi An centre and is located directly on the beach. We had a garden room with terrace. The room was very large with an excellent shower room. The Pool, bar and restaurant were of an excellent standard and the staff were friendly and helpful including helping arrange local trips with a guide. We thought it much better to stay on the beach rather than the centre of Hanoi, the only let down was the weather so we could not fully appreciate the beach and pool.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

What can i say beautiful resort staff excellent rooms immaculate breakfast was great. only problem found a price of wire in my breakfast they were amazingly apologetic head chef was really good they contacted all there suppliers and had them check everything payed for our taxi to the airport great stay best of the trip

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An Beach Re... T, Room Division Manager at Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear Ms Charlie,
Best greetings from Hoian Beach Resort!
Thank you very much for choosing our resort to stay your vacation in Hoi An Beach Resort
It’s our privilege to have you stay with us. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay at out resort, and Hoi An will be a memorable destination on your trip.
We wish you a wonderful holiday and all the best for the future.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Many thanks and best regards,

Le Thi Thanh Tram( Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Beach Resort

Address: 01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#23 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Beach Resort is a four-star resort situated between the romantic De Vong river and famous Cua Dai Beach. It consists of luxurious old Vietnamese-style houses and villa rooms. It is recognized kilometers from the historic town of Hoi An. 35 km (a 45 minute drive) from Danang International Airport and railway station.In its day the principal trading port for the whole of central Vietnam, Hoi An has long been proud of its reputation for gracious hospitality. We are dedicated to continuing this tradition today in our new and luxurious beach resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Hoi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.