We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cua Dai - Great big rooms, and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cua Dai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cua Dai Hotel to your Saves list
Cua Dai Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   544 Cua Dai St., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cua Dai - Great big rooms, and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Cua Dai is around a 10 minute stroll from the centre of Hoi An. We were there just after the typhoon flooding receeded and you couldn't tell that there had been flooding at all. We had deluxe rooms for only $45 / night. They were more like 1 bedroom apartments - a generous bedroom, living room and bathroom. Great air conditioning and fans kept the rooms very cool during the heat. Bottled water and fruit were supplied daily which was a lovely touch. The pool was fantastic, as it got quite hot during the day. Breakfast was quite basic, you could see the french influence but adequate.

The hotel staff were very helpful in assisting us to book a day at the Red Bridge cooking school - highly recommended! Internet was also free to use in the lobby.

Cua Dai also recommended the best and cheapest restaurant of our whole trip the Mermaid! AMAZING - make sure you try the banana fritters and stuffed squid!

I would definately recommend Cua Dai for your stay in Hoi An.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    92
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
43
120
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

breakfast by the spotless pool, clean rooms, bike rides to beach, great staff, stayed with 2 kids, all good !

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

After traveling Vietnam for four weeks we may say that the Cua Dai Hotel was our favourite hotel. Its location is really good as you can rent a bicycle to reach the great beach within a 15 min. drive or just walk 10 min. to the lovely old town of Hoi An. A very quiet and relaxing atmosphere with fluent english speaking and very helpful staff made it a stay to remember.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe room for 2 nights. It was lovely with a little attached patio by the pool, a separate sitting room, 2 TVs and a fruit plate delivered every afternoon. As others have said, it's a short walk into town and a 20 minute or so bike to the beach. Good location, excellent service, friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a quiet, affordable place in Hoi An.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We arrived around 9am for a 5 x night stay, were greated by the manager and were invited to have breakfast and given a standard room to use untill our deluxe room was ready. On arival back from the beach (a 20 minute bike ride) our luggage was up in our deluxe room. Room was large with king size bed (very firm) shower over bath and private balcony over looking the pool area. Changed the towels twice a day and although the hotel was very old rooms were clean. Breakfast was served beside the pool area. They cooked eggs etc and you helped yourself to fresh bread, crissonts, cereal and fruit. Nice pool which we had to ourselves one afternoon. Very freindly staff and manager, always checking that you were ok and asking what you had been doing. A 10 minute walk to the Old Quarter. Overall good location between the beach and town and good value. Shame about the rooster that started very early in the morning but have stayed in a 5 star resort with a rooster next door.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in this hotel in our stay in Hoi Ann. We stayed 4 nights and everything about it was perfect. Hearty breakfast, swimming pool, staff that couldn't do more for you and perfrect room. They cleaned the room twice a day to replace towels if you have two showers. The ladies at reception were so helpful - they even organised someone to come and help me post my clothes home (spent too much money in the Tailors). Then on our last day we had a late flight that night, they allowed us to use the pool and gave us a room key so we could sleep and have a shower. No other hotel i know of in the UK would let you do that! Its also perfectly located short walk to town and short taxi to the beautiful beach. Brilliant stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We arrived at 6:30am after an awful over night bus from Nha Trang. We were welcomed into the hotel by very friendly front desk staff. We booked a superior room whcih was ready for us as we arrived. We were also invited to have breakfast once we freshened up.
The room itself was smallish but beautifully decorated. A 4 poster bed and nice furnishings.
Breakfast was a buffet and above average for Vietnam. An egg station, tea and coffee, fruit, yoghurt and pastries. The hotel is owned by a lady who also owns the morning Glory cooking school Cargo Cafe, a great little cafe with bakery and this is where I think theCroissants and bread comes from. The breakfast area over looks the pool which is a welcome oasis in the 34 or so heat of Hoi An.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They booked a flight for us, no service charge and cheaper than I coudl book online.
The hotel itself is about a 10-15 min walk from old Hoi An, or a 5 min cycle. This is definitely a town to rent a bike. There are bicycles and motrobikes for rent just over the road from Mr Chin, our bicycles were 20 000 VND for the day/ over night. The beach whcih looks nice is 4km away and probably a 30 min bike ride. A few ncie restaurants and 4star hotels on the way.
We had clothes made in Hoi An, great quality and good price from Tran at Nguyen Tailors on Le Loi.
We paid $45 a night for this hotel and I would definitely stay here again. Great job!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cua Dai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cua Dai Hotel

Address: 544 Cua Dai St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cua Dai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes walk away from the World Heritage Ancient town of Hoi An, the Cua Dai Hotel has a restaurant and pool in a beautiful garden setting. The Cua Dai has been recently been renovated and upgraded, offering a variety of rooms and comfortable relaxing indoor and outdoor areas. The Cua Dai is a family owned hotel and employs many staff from outside the township of Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Cua Dai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cua Dai Hoi An
Hotel Cua Dai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cua Dai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.