We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cua Dai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cua Dai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cua Dai Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   544 Cua Dai St., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 80 hotels in Hoi An
Mont St-Hilaire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stay there for 6 nights, we really enjoy Hoi An and the hotel. It is a pretty little hotel located in walking distance of the town and it's wonderful array of shops. We rent bikes in front of the hotel and use them everywhere, so cool! Our daughter(3years old) enjoy the pool and the bike rides a lot. The beach is about 20 minutes ride, really easy ride. The service was really good, try the Cargo Club restaurant, same owner and so GOOOOOOOD! Be aware the pool is freezing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    92
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
43
120
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Arriving at this hotel was a godsend after the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. It is a pretty little hotel located in walking distance of the town and it's wonderful array of shops. Opposite is a chap who sells water and does the laundry although if you walk on further (right out of the hotel) I had mine done at the local motorbike shop! The hotel itself is a little rundown. My room 203 on the first floor was small, and the bathroom was in need of decoration,but I didn't notice any mould or smell. We also had mosquito nets which helped. My friend had room 201 which was much larger and had been updated so improvements are being made.It was quiet and therefore you could catch up on any lost sleep!There is also a pool which is great as the weather bucked up.we had the breakfast which was to be recommended and great to sit outside by the pool.I would recommend you book a bike ride around Hoi An it's fun and the guides show you the outskirts and chat about the local way of living. We came across a lovely old couple who were still tending their crops aged 90 and 84 and had plenty of photo opportunities. Also you can book cooking classes which is fun. Hoi An was my favourite place in Vietnam(barring the Mekong Delta) it was full of shops and things to buy and the restaurants were contemporary but still supplying traditional Vietnamese dishes.

Room Tip: Room 201,as it's larger and has been updated and is on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is located outside Hoi An but not too far to walk to town. Motor cycle hire or bicycle hire right opposite entrance. Good coffee shop and the best barber in Hoi An just up the street as well as Mrs Minh a laundress who does a wonderful job.
My mobile phone was stolen in Hoi An and the receptionist at the hotel came to the police station and acted as interpreter as well as later driving me to another police station to get a statement proving my phone was stolen.
My room was clean and neat and I found the breakfast by the pool more than adequate. Lovely gardens round the hotel planned and built by the owners father.
The only downside was the lack of a decent flat screen TV...first world problems eh?

Room Tip: My room in centre of hotel was fine but a rear room with a balcony overlooking pool might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After staying here previously 5 years ago (in one of the upstairs rooms) I was eager to return. We booked for 4 nights, and as there were three of us, booked their most expensive room, which at $69 a night is not bad, but not the $35 others talk of. Room 112- do NOT stay here. We got in, the room was big enough but we were overwhelmed with the smell of mould and damp that engulfed the room. As we looked around the room we spotted mould all over the walls. Our beds were small and creaky and wobbled with every move. The bathroom was simply gross, the door wouldn't shut properly and the towels were like sandpaper. We went out for dinner and then came back and had to change rooms. We could not have slept in that smell. They moved us upstairs to another room which didn't smell as much but was nothing special. We slept there on the first night and were then moved down into Room 111 which was the room we had paid extra for. The room didn't smell as bad as 112 even though it was next door, but didn't instil us with great confidence. We (stupidly) stayed there another night. I woke up eaten alive by mosquitos even though I had asked for the room to be sprayed. They were everywhere. Something to do with the damp that has obviously engulfed this hotel. The next day we left. I can't believe we stayed even two nights, but I have never in my life left a hotel before I planned. As were were checking out the woman at the front desk acted like this was a regular occurrence to them, she didn't even bat an eyelid, just gave us back our passports and sent us on our way.
The hotel is tired, run down and in desperate need of some TLC. We did not eat the breakfast so I can't comment on that, we didn't dare try.
Staff were below average. Pool is nice, although the towels are tiny and tattered and ancient. Mr Chin across the road is adorable, but I would avoid this hotel like the plague. Obviously Ms Vy is spending too much time looking after her restaurants and not her hotel. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get an upstairs room away from the breeding mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It is not luxury but the Cua Dai hotel is certainly good enough. $US30 a night for a secure room with hot water, a decent breakfast and reasonable comfort with friendly service. It is a short 15 min walk to the main part of town but I can't believe people have complained about that because you get to see lots of shops and people along the way.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Staying there for the 5th time this charming little family-run Hotel, Miss Vy's house is still my favourite place in Hoi An !!! Very charming budget Hotel, pretty well arranged away from the backpacker district and its noise, between the old town & the Cua Dai Beach, perfect with the bicycle!! Nice & beautiful decorated rooms, helpful staff, excellent Breakfast Buffet with the VERY BEST Croissants & Pain au Chocolat away from France & nice swimming pool in a beautiful little garden designed by Miss Vy's (Hoi An's famous Cooking Queen !!!) father! You will love it !!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor & not on the street front are better & more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The room was clean, it was quite tight with space but it was fine. We were on the bottom floor and it was mosquito head quarters. Had to ask the staff to spray the room with fly spray when we returned from dinner. Breakfast was good and had a decent choice, everything was fresh and tasty. The bed was solid as a stone, but it did have a mosquito net which was appreciated. We did our washing next door and it was 30dong a kilo and we also hired a scooter for 3 days for 300dong as well.. Shower pressure and hot water was really good. And the hotel had a pool which was fantastic also..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cua Dai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cua Dai Hotel

Address: 544 Cua Dai St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cua Dai Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes walk away from the World Heritage Ancient town of Hoi An, the Cua Dai Hotel has a restaurant and pool in a beautiful garden setting. The Cua Dai has been recently been renovated and upgraded, offering a variety of rooms and comfortable relaxing indoor and outdoor areas. The Cua Dai is a family owned hotel and employs many staff from outside the township of Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Cua Dai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cua Dai Hoi An
Hotel Cua Dai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cua Dai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.