We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Hotel to your Saves list
Hoi An Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Tran Hung Dao St., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A pleasure to return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed twice previously. We stay here as it central to the town. We were delightfully surprised by the renovations that have taken place since our last visit. The pool area has been extended and now has a spa. A little more shade would be good. We booked a deluxe room and were not disappointed. The room had been refurbished. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. Minor problem - the bed sheets were too small for the bed and the bath towels also too small. Luckily we had a housekeeper that went out of her way to find bigger sheets. We acknowledged her assistance with the front desk. A big improvement was in the breakfast. There was a wide variety of food on offer from previously. We took advantage of a cooking class with the hotel and enjoyed that immensely. Pity that for all but one day that we were there, it rained continuously. Didn't stop our sightseeing or shopping.
It is disappointing to see that motor bikes and some cars are now impacting on the town - that destroys the ambience and beauty. We will return though Hoi An is a beautiful and historic town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Ms. Russ53Adelaide,


The Hotel Management and team board would like to send you warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel and express our deeply thanks for your returning to stay with us .

We are very happy and honoured to have you stay with us again this time and your high appreciation to our service is very valued motivation for our team to improve the service continuosly better to meet guests' expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming back to Hoi An Hotel next time .


All the best to you and your family .


Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    445
    124
    39
    15
See reviews for
148
454
69
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hoi An Hotel was not our first choice but we were sent there for one night after the hotel we had booked suffered the consequences of a flood.

We received a Junior Suite which was specious but did not feel particularly special. For around 75€, it's very expensive in Vietnamese standards. Our room faced the main entrance of the hotel where buses drop off and pick up tourists groups. We were often annoyed by idling engines, especially early morning. The window is a sliding panel. It's poorly adjusted so no matter what you do, there is still a gap and consequently, noise.
Otherwise, our view mainly consisted in the local communication tower...

The breakfast was very good, and service was what you'd expect in this class of hotel but it lacked a bit of a "human touch" so to say. Since there are so many large groups, you feel you are just one more customer. The bathroom was fine, there was a bit of mold though close to the sink.

Overall, it's a good pick if you want to go to Hoi An in November as the hotel seems to be much less affected by the occasional flooding. It's a safe bet, but not really a wholehearted recommendation.

Room Tip: Avoid the "historic" wing, it may be too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr.DrNeko,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Hsitoric Hotel .

The hotel Management and team would like to say thank you very much for your staying with us during flood time .

We do regret that you have not satisfied with room rate had been paid but we had charged you with rate the same on internet at that time and we were very happy and honoured to welcome you to stay with us when you had moved from the other hotel by flooding .

By your response , we will continue improving the service be more and more better in order to meet guests' expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel if you will have any other occasion to visit Hoi An city in near future .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was relocated here after my hotel flooded and got the Junior Suite, which was very big and had both a shower and a bathtub. But considering this is a Deluxe hotel and that it was a quite expensive room (2.700.000 vnd as per ther website), I felt it didn't quite live up to the name.

This particular suite didn't have a balcony as advertised in the website. We also didn't get complimentary fruit, which we had in all hotels we visited in Vietnam, even those of a much lower category. Similar with the toiletries: the basics were covered, but nothing else (e.g. razor, sewing kit...). The room also faced the main road, so it was a little bit noisy at night.
The breakfast was very good and varied. Staff was polite, but less friendly than in other places I visited.

Overall nothing to complain, but also nothing to really praise. An important point is that it seems this area of Hoi An, while central, doesn't flood as quickly as other parts of the city. If you are travelling in wet season, you might want to consider this.

The hotel seems to receive a lot of organized groups, so if you group has is planned to stay here in their schedule, rest assured it is not a bad one. If you are travelling on your own, maybe you want to investigate other options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ms.Fledermaus g

Warmest greetngs from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

We would like to say thank you very much for your staying with us when you had visited Hoi An city .
We do regret for your unexpectation with the room rate has been paid although your room is exactly Junior suite type while there are some rooms with Terrace and some rooms without Terrace .

We also do record for your comment about our service was not meet your expectation and we will improve it to have better training with our staffs in customer care service in order to meet guests'satisfaction .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your precious feedback and look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time with better service .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siagon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Only stayed a couple of days but our room in the Trendy Wing had real character. Set in very nice grounds the staff are friendly and there is a nice pool and bar . The breakfast offered good choice and a chance to eat it outside. There is some noise from surrounding activity so perhaps not the best place if you want a long lazy lie in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Jonathan G,

The Hotel Management and team would like to send you warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel and express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

It is our priviledge to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had high aprreciation to the service of our staff .It will be valued motivation for our team to continue developing the skill and knowlegde to meet guests'expectation .

We are very pity for the noise from outside to affect your holiday although we have installed sound proof system for all windows of rooms in the hotel .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

we stayed six nights at the hotel& found the location to the old town fantastic. the staff were always very helpful especially our house keeper NGHI who was the nicest hotel employee we have come across . She is a credit to the hotel Also the room and the breakfast was great . Overall a fantastic place to stay. Barrie Stevens Gold Coast Qld

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ms.Barrie s ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Mangement and team would like to express our deeply thanks for your staying with us as well as your high aprreciation on Tripadvisor .

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the service of our staff have been make you pleasant .This will be a good motivation for our team contiue improving the service more and more be better to meet guests'expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .


Best regards ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a wonderful experience, amazing staff, beautiful rooms and fantastic food. We will definitely return. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable as well.
There was nothing that was a problem, we were there when a typhoon was expected and the staff made sure we were updated and secured anything dangerous around the grounds. The hotel itself is well maintained and the pool is a must.

Room Tip: The ones around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mr.Rob C,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The hotel management and team would like to express our deeply thanks for your stay with us as well as your good comment on Tripadvisor .

It is our pleasure to know that you have had an enjoyable holiday in Hoian Hotel and this is very good motivation for our team to improve the service be more and more getting better in order to meet guests'expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Lovely staff, fantastic pool, good work out room, very good breakfast, and close to town to walk into Hoi An. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit for four nights. Excellent value for the price payed. Pedicure (an excellent one) for US $9. Also splurged with a massage in their spa as well. Room was clean, beautiful, roomy, and overlooked the pool (over the gazebo, so a bit more quiet). Also have cooking classes that we didn't take, but looked good. We would stay here again in a minute, and have recommended it to our friends and family who will travel to Hoi An. Family friendly as well. *Don't forget to eat at Morning Glory (in town) - the absolute best summer rolls I've had to date. All the food there was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Ms.Vie24,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The hotel management and team would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

It is our privilegde to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your high appreciation will be valued motivation for our team to improve the service much better to meet guests'expectation .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hoi An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.