We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Hotel to your Saves list
Hoi An Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Tran Hung Dao St., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel. The reception is open and welcoming.The grounds are attractive and cover a fair area, with separate blocks of accomodation, dining rooms and a large and very good (warm) pool.

The room was OK but nothing special but I believe they vary a fair amount. Ours was in a block that backed onto a school. We didn't find it too noisy (except for an awful Vietnamese karaoke one evening. Fortunately it was cut short by a lightning storm) but you may want to avoid it. The shower was a miserable drizzle and the TV seemed to have a mind of its own.

Breakfast was in a separate block with the usual mix of Westernised and more local food.Perfectly good.

The greatest thing about the hotel is its location close to old town Hoi An, which in contrast to cities like Saigon, Hue and Hanoi is low rise and less hectic. Its a beautiful place (cameras ready) with (of course) LOTS of tailors. Catch it now before it becomes touristed to death - there are already a a couple of bars blaring out loud Western music. Some great food and restaurants.

Try to get out in the countyside and on the river if you can - superb. the hotel also runsa free shuttle to the beach. You can ride a water buffalo if you fancy.

We love Hoi An

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Ms.Areanynamesleft ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The Hotel Management and team would like to express our thankfulness to have stay with us and your good comment .

We are very honoured to know that our service have met your expectation and be appreciated highly .By your response , we will learn more experience and improve more knowlege , skills to have best service to be accepted and satisfied by almost guests when they choose Hoi An Hotel for their holiday .

Once more again , kindly thanks for your being customer and look forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    445
    124
    39
    15
See reviews for
148
454
69
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good location close to (but just outside) the old town. I mostly agree with other comments. Nice cool rooms but ours had a view of the back street, I'm sure if you pay more you get a nice outlook of the pool or gardens. Hard to fault this place, the breakfast was good also. We played tennis which unfortunately is extra about $10 / hour. Perhaps the only negative is the pool which lacks any shade and was very warm - 35 degrees. We had some very hotel days and no one was in it between 10am and 4pm.
If I go again though I will pick a cheaper spot on the river just to the east of town, bicycles make it so easy to get around town the extra distance doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a pool side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ms.Tonyandirene ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

We would like to express our sincere thanks for your stay with us as well as your good comment on TripAdvisor .

It is our privilege when we have known that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have had high appreciation with our service .It will be a good motivation for our staffs continue promoting thier abilities and skills to meet guests' satisfaction .

We are pleased to welcome you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

All the best to you .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a great location for visitors. Within walking distance to the Ancient Town and great facilities - including swimming pool, restaurants and well appointed rooms. No lift to upper floors so maybe a lower floor might be a good idea if you are older or have a group of people to get in and out of the buildings. Free shuttle bus to sister beach resort is a worthwhile bonus. Very large single beds in a twin room.

Room Tip: Beware there is no lift between the three floors of accommodation. Also note that there is an entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ms. RobyNZ56 ,

On behalf of Management and team of Hoi An Historic Hotel , we would like to send you warmest greetings and express our deeply thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation when you came to visit Hoi An city .

Your good comment on TripAdvisor is very good value for our team to continue developing working skill to have best service meeting guests' expectation .

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfour, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is superior in every way. It is superbly situated right in the heart of the old town so you are close to where everything happens. The rooms are lovely and cool and the swimming pool area is beautiful and so easily accessible. It is a 5 minute walk to anything of interest in the town and the coffee shop makes the best cafe sua da for only 20000dong, a real bargain. We loved our 4 day stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ms.Rosetta S ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

Our team board would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

It is our privilege to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your good comment on TripAdvisor is good motivation for our team to promote abilities and skills in order to bring best service to meet guests' expectation .

We do hope that we are very happy and honoured to have other chance to welcome you back and serve you again in our Hotel .

All the best to you and your family .


Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Being newcomer to Tripadviser have read reviews regarding Reception at Hoan Hotel. I am a regular visitor to Vietnam and to the HoiAn Hotel, if you treat the reception staff as you would like to be treated you will find them fantastic!!! Nothing is too much trouble, as with all staff, you ask you shall receive (if it is possible) if not they will try anyway. Home away from home
But they do it for you, cannot recommend highly enough, great place,
Ken M 3677

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ken M ,

Thank you very much for your high appreciation to our hotel and your return to Hoi An Hotel many times is provided to our previlege that you have had good memories about us and we are as your second family .We are really happy for having you in Hoi An Hotel and bring to us many happiness , funs and be proud of works .

Our team continue improving service be better to have almost expectation from guests and good impression when everytime you come back to stay with us .

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel in August ,2013 .


Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy this lovely old hotel. Nice garden, great location, relaxing atmosphere. However, the beds are like concrete and the area round the pool and granite stairs are still very slippery when wet. Six years ago my husband slipped and broke a rib. Nothing's changed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Mr .Ruth A ,

On behalf of the Hotel Management and team would like to send warmest greetings to you and want to express our sincere thanks to have you stay with us .

We are very happy when you return to stay in the hotel after 6 years and have good comment for us
Your comment is good value for us to know and improve our product be better in paying attention to avoid slippery areas we have plan to renovate the pool and granite stairs .

Once more again , kindly thank you very much for your precious feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent hotel within walking distance of all the interesting shops and restaurants of the old quarter. The ground floor room was large and opened onto an enclosed courtyard which contained sun lounges. The bed was comfortable and everything within the room was immaculate.The day spa was good, they provide an excellent pedicure. The staff were efficient and courteous and breakfast under the trees was a delight. i have nothing negative to say about this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor in the history wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Ms . JJ1212 ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

The hotel team would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation when you had holiday in Hoi An city .

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us when our team have tried our best to bring best service to guests and do wish to meet satisfaction from guests.Your good comment will be continuosly motivation for us to develop our abilities and skills to have perfect service .

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .


Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hoi An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.