We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great but was brilliant 2 years ago...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Ancient Town

Hoi An Ancient Town
Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Visit Hoi An Ancient Town like an insider
Private Tour
$55*
and up
Private Tour: Ancient Hoi An by Cyclo and Bike
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located on the banks of the poetic Thu Bon River, in central Quang Nam province, 30 kilometers south of Da Nang, Hoi An ancient town is an Eastern oriental classic captivation. With the strategic location on the banks of the great river, with one seaside border (East), it used to be one of the major trading centers in Southeast Asia during the 16th century due to the early western trader occupying period.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Still great but was brilliant 2 years ago...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sad to say but I sense that Hoi An is starting to change with the international airport nearby making it too easy for bogan tourists to come here now. We were here 2 years ago and thought it was wonderful, this time still great but leaving a little to be desired. Hearing doof doof music across the river into the Old Town is a sign of changing times. You hear more English and see more tourists than locals (obviously depending on season - we were here the last week of Sept 2013, previously last week of August 2011).

Still worth a visit, but if you have been here a few years back then you will notice the changing atmosphere. More hawker and more persistent this time also.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,077
    852
    190
    40
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A beautiful gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved everything about hoi an ancient, at night the markets and resturants come alive and the lanterns lit up all around the place are just beautiful. The children in the streets are harmless but the selling is constant. We just talked to them but were told not to encourage them.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Pretty town, interesting to walk around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great place to wander around, looking at the different styles of building that somehow still fit together. Plenty of cafes and restaurants to stop in for a cheap tasty snack or drink. It reminded me of Melaka in Malysia, but there's more to see here and we found better food. It's certainly very touristy but that doesn't really detract from the enjoyment. Buy a ticket (120,000 dong) to get entrance to 5 of the 22 attractions in the town. Hint: work out which attractions you'd like to see up front or you can run out of admittance tokens before seeing the ones you're most interested in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I loved visiting this town . Markets are great.The streets are quiet as certain times during the day no traffic is allowed.The resturants are plentiful and the quality of food is excellent. All our meals were very good.The history is also interesting. We found ourselves going into town most days to shop,eat and look around. at night the town comes to life. Its great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“what a great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Everyone so friendly, great restaurants, great holiday spot, suggest try one of the cooking classes (not expensive), resorts on beach area outstanding, great choice of tailor shops and great prices to go with them,.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Ancient Town also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Ancient Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.