We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we stayed in Asia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOWEST RATE WE BEAT!
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“The best hotel we stayed in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Charming, comfortable, excellent reception and services, extremely friendly and competent staff, outstanding breakfast, very good gym room and swimming pool, free bikes, comfortable and brand new rooms, very good prices. I really recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    154
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
196
451
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Okay, let's start with the pluses:

1) big, clean hotel, with a nice pool (can be a plus if you don't have great beach weather, but on the other hand, we found that every day that was good enough for the pool was good enough for the beach, which we loved)

2) Really great front desk staff - probably the best English you'll hear in Vietnam, some really skilled, smart, professional ladies.

3) Service in general. It is absolutely endearing to see these young folks doing their best and hopefully making their way in the world.

4) There is an espresso machine. I love Vietnamese coffee, but this was a great break from it.

However:

1) Noise. Quite paradoxically, a hotel attempting to be so fancy, but paper thin walls and echoing hallways that "record" every step everyone makes. Bring earplugs!

2) A bit too "global". I was unpleasantly reminded of Big Chains of The World, which I happen to NOT love. The lounge has some sort of a Latin name - really, in the midst of this beautiful, unique, amazing country? - it made me cringe daily. There is some sort of awful ambiance "chill" music, going on and on...how about something classical, or Vietnamese, or...none?
There is the fussbal table in said lounge - uh - not sure if I hated it more because it was so unelegant in the otherwise elegant setting, or because it seemed to attract tipsy guests and screaming kids.

3) Because it's a fancy hotel, everything in it will be very expensive - water, etc. A cup of tea or said espresso will come at Western prices. And, they will of course try to sell you everything at higher prices. E.g., they do sell a group tour of My Son, but the travel desk said something along the lines of how bad it was. Well, you really should not be selling it then. In reality, the tour was fine, and I think one does not need a private guide in My Son - it is very small and you should read up on it on your own because most guides, I hate to say it, are kind of not great. But if you must have it, book it in town and save yourselves some money.

I should also mention the hotel location. I really liked the views of the rice fields, and that it provided a nice walk to town , BUT it is kind of out of the way if you have only a few days - far from the beach and far from town, so you end up losing some time in transit, and, if you are a couple, having a harder time doing things on your own (it's safe, but I did not feel like walking back or taking taxies alone at night). They are very efficient with taxies, but those add up a few bucks daily. Not a big deal, but I wished I had been closer.

Overall, however, this is a very nice hotel, clean and with great service, and the negatives are largely about my personal preferences for places more local and intimate.

Room Tip: Definitely overlooking the pool, and higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was there in December and was not sure how many days I will spend there, at the end I decided to change my booking and stay as long as possible...

The hotel is 3 minutes from the centre of Hoi an, very close to the river, my room looked over rice fields and the river. Also it is fantastic that they have some rooms that has big windows in the bathroom as well, if you also like this, you should ask them to suggest one.

The staff is very polite and helpful, they help you to organise whatever you like. My room was really very luxurious with the expectional bathroom, the bed was the best I had in Asia.

They provide a full buffett breakfast with delicious breaksfast fruits.

In front of the Hotel you find also a place you shouldn't miss! There is a cafe&restaurant, they are not on Tripadvisor, but you should try their food and they also ready to organise local trips, you can rent scooter there. They speak very good english also, this is a very good addition to the hotel!

I plan my next visit, when I will go back with my kids, they have connecting rooms as well. For sure, I will go there again!

Room Tip: The rooms with window-bath are exceptional. If it is not a big thing for you, you can choose any oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is really beautiful - both the rooms and the view of the grounds from the dining room. The breakfast was the best we had in our 2 weeks in Vietnam with a fantastic selection of vietnamese and western foods of the very highest standard. The staff were extremely helpful and in particular arranged all our activities - we just told them what we were interested in and they made all the phone calls and advised us on the different prices so we could select the options we wanted. Our favourite hotel in Vietnam - absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

A delighful change from the chain hotels we find ourselves slaves to due to their loyalty programs. The staff was excellent, from Vanessa the manager to the travel desk to the servers in the restaurant. The location is a 15 minute walk from the ancient city but this did not bother us in the least. There is limited shuttle service but we always chose to walk, especially with the relatively mild weather. The hotel is beautiful and provides full service and is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite was lovely and from what we could see, the other rooms looked very nice, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great , clean hotel with friendly staff who were more than willing to book trips etc. Only thing is is that we felt it was rather impersonal compared to the smaller hotels we have stayed in but I think that was down to our choice rather than a fault of the hotel. The pool needed a bit of chemical treatment. Breakfast was fantastic and the room was comfy with all mod cons.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Everything from the welcome at the hotel until our departure was excellent!! Friendly, service minded staff, tasty food - the breakfast was superb - and a relaxed atmosphere. We loved our stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.