We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen

Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen
115 Tran Cao Van Street, Hoi An 065, Vietnam
+(84)906660309
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 406 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vietnamese, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

So much tastiness - meat, chilli, egginess.
Cannot get this kind of banh mi back in Australia.
Really cheap. Only 1 dorra

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    67
    10
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best sandwich in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had our photo taken with Madam Khanh, & her family sat down with us for a chat while we had a bahn mi. Couldn't stop at one so my brother & myself had 2 each. They were sensational, cheap & the service super friendly. This is a "must do" when visiting Hoi An, one of the highlights of our trip!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We found the Banh Mi Queen from the reviews on tripadvisor and enjoyed it so much we went back a second time. It's very cheap, only 70000VND for 2 banh mi and two sodas. It has lots of flavour. The reason for the 4 instead of 5 rating - there was a lot of pressure to buy cards that we weren't interested in while we were there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to the good reviews.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

On the way to the airport we got the driver to stop here as did not want to miss out.

We had seen it online and when we ate at the laugh cafe opposite (worth a go too!). So we wanted to give it a try before heading to hcmc.

Just ate them at the airport and would love to have another! The fillings were soft and tender, sharp and crunchy, sweet and spicy all at the same time. I loved the bone marrow "pate" which gave a savoury, extra meaty depth to the sandwich. The bread was chewy and crisp. All round a good balance.

The whole family get involved when you come in and help out. They explained the different ingredients I could not recognise and seamed really happy to have people stop by especially for her food.

In terms of oil, perhaps this is just based on English sandwiches, but there was just enough to add flavour and soften the bread. Perhaps she has taken the comments on board?!

Happy eating!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Banh Mi you'll taste in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My partner and I loved Madam Khan's Banh Minh not because it was super cheap but because they tasted amazing. We returned here for lunch three days in a row.

Do not expect a fancy restaurants and you won't be disappointed

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.