We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the centre of town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Waterside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterside Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Xuyen Trung, Cam Nam, Hoi An 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Worthing UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Close to the centre of town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is definitely not a resort, but still a pretty relaxing place to stay. We had a river view ''villa'' but the river was not really in full view because of the large palm trees in between the room and the river. The room was large and reasonably well furnished but a little old fashioned, which summed the hotel up in general. Every public area was a little run down and in need of some TLC, but the staff were great. Breakfast was minimal, but OK. The hotel was at one time a lovely building and with work could be again. We loved it and it seemed to have many repeat visitors who like us appreciated the 5 minute walk across the bridge to the town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
3
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Remnants of a defunct theme park of a 19th century vietnamese village still interesting to walk around for this potter. I could get that kiln up and running in no time. The huge common space with very few visitors and nobody at huge restaurant below. We liked staying over the bridge, looking out over coconuts while eating breakfast (delivered to room) and listening to the awakening morning market across the river. Rent bikes or moto from wonderful woman next door. Nice enough room. Funny plumbing, but I often find humor in Asian plumbing.

Room Tip: upper level better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at te Vietnam Village Hotel for $40US a night. The 'resort' is run down and I imagine at its peak it was good but lack of maintenance is showing.

Pros:
- Bath tub
- foam mattress's (much more comfortable than inner spring in Vietnam)
- You had the option of breakfast in your room - good breakfast.
- fairly good location
- A/C
- staff were friendly

Cons:
- 'Resort' was run down
- Rooms were very damp
- No mattress protector
- poor linen and towels
- wifi was temperamental
- laundry service was SO bad. Received clothes back damp and not clean. Took them back. Recieved them back damp again still not clean. Taken back a third time and although they were dry the standard of cleanliness was not acceptable.
- Mosquitoes

I would not reccomend or stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed on this "resort" during our 2 week round trip in Vietnam (HOI AN).

I must say that when I saw the hotel from the outside I was very surprised and it seemed to me to be a luxurious resort ! But not entirely... First of all the room is very neat and clean, and I really can't find anything "bad" to say about it. The AirCon worked well, the beds were comfortable, the view was beautiful (River side) and the room clean. When you get to the resort you soon realize that it isn't the 4-star resort you were hoping for... There is clearly some gardening to do in the area and some maintenance as well. Provided that the resort is short on customers I believe that they just can't manage to spend their financial budget on decoration and maintenance ! Otherwise, the staff is really friendly even though some receptionist speak little english (and as others have written they are also very hardworking!!).

My advise to you is to try this hotel if you are looking for a good place to sleep and with excellent location near the city center. Of course we are talking about a price class that is midrange - so for big families or simple backpackers this hotel is a great choice ! If, on the other hand, you are looking for a bit of a "top dollar" residence and you are used to 4 star + hotels, then this may not be the one.

Room Tip: All rooms with a river view are nice, I recommend those located on the first floor because of a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here four nights in April, and for us it was excellent. But forget the theme-park they are supposed to have - it's long gone. As is most of the clientèle... The lobby/shop/reception is pretty run-down, as are the gardens, but the rooms are very spacious and neat, with air co and a large balcony on which to enjoy your breakfast, which can be brought to your room. The balcony faces the river, through the palm trees you can see and hear the fish market. The ladies at the reception are very, very nice and helpful. We thought it very good value for our money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We were a little hesitant about staying here especially as it seemed a lot cheaper than other hotels in Hoi An and it did seem quite empty when we first looked at it. But it turned out fine, our room was neat and clean, and larger than many hotel rooms in Vietnam. The bathroom was fine although one tip is to make use of the sit-down feature of the shower bath to avoid getting water all over the floor (you'll see what I mean when you get there). The room has a spacious balcony with views of the grounds.
The strangest things about this place are firstly the unkempt nature of the grounds, the place needs a gardener to come in and spend a couple of weeks weeding and tidying up the premises; and secondly the fact that we seemed to be nearly the only guests from the first two ights of our stay - the size of the place is quite large and we wondered how they could stay in business.
However neither of the points were a problem for us. The receptionist, who seemed to work very long hours, tried hard to be friendly and the location right across the bridge from the old town is very convenient yet quiet at night. Right outside the resort is bicycle hire and a lady who will do your laundry for you. The free wifi works fine.
So it maybe not the highest quality place in Hoi An but the price is fair for what you get and there are really no major problems.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011 via mobile

The Vietnam Village Resort was unlike anywhere else we stayed in Vietnam. Located on the river, the rooms backed on to a private grassy area where you really felt outdoors. A water buffalo meandering around completed the escape picture. Friendly staff and breakfast delivered to the room made the stay very comfortable. The bridge right next to the resort gave quick access to Hoi An's CBD, for food and shopping. Massages could be organised with pickup from the resort. Boats to parts of Hoi An could be accessed from the river bank right behind the resort. A good value and peaceful place to stay in Hoi An.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Resort & Spa

Address: Xuyen Trung, Cam Nam, Hoi An 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterside Resort & Spa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viet Nam Village Resort is located near Cam Nam Bridge and Thu Bon River. It is opposite Hoi An Market. It has 16 rooms with nice garden view and river view. It takes the visitors 7 minutes to walk into the center of Hoian town. Add: Cam Nam, Hoi An, Quang Nam, Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.