We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Garden Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Flower Garden Homestay to your Saves list
Flower Garden Homestay
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   135/1 Ly Thuong Kiet St, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We loved staying at Flower Garden. The breakfasts were great (lots of options including fruit shakes and pancakes) and the rooms spacious and clean. The homestay is a 10/15 min walk to the old town but there were free bicycles for you to use if you wish. It is so simple to find your way around Hoi An.

At first we thought that this was more of a lovely hotel than homestay but then we met the owners, their son and his grandmother and realised this was something a bit different. Pa and Phuong are new to the business (they've been open for around three months) but fabulous hosts. Their son Bin is so cute.

One evening the family cooked a meal for the guests which was one of the best we had in Vietnam and we spent a lovely evening chatting.

Phuong takes 2 year old Bin to the beach every night and we were invited, with some other guests, to join the whole family on our last night. It was one of the best nights we had in Vietnam. The beach was full of other Vietnamese familes and we were introduced to some amazing, simple, authentic food. Phuong did all the ordering so we paid local prices (It was interesting to find out what the actual markup was for tourists but it came too late for us as were were heading home the next day).

Pa, Phuong and Bin have an amazing lifestyle which they are more than happy to share with their guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
60
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Travelling in Vietnam for the first time, on a whim we decided to go to Hoi An. We booked a homestay last minute.

Mr and Mrs Fong were more than welcoming. They organized airport pick up for us, transport, recommended great tours and motorbike hiring places (from a lovely lady called Mihn down the street). Breakfast was made for us every morning (delicious). They invited us to dinners and we were able to return the favour and cook for them. Very welcoming family and you are also given your space and privacy.

The room was large with air conditioning, a fan, TV, wifi and a large bed. It was very clean, and they also offered a timely cheap laundry service.

Short 10 minute walk to old town and 15 motorbike ride to the beach.

Would definately recommend and will stay here again if we are back in Hoi An.

To Mr and Mrs Fong, Bihn and grandma- thank you for the hospitality and warmth you showed us. Say hello to Mihn for us!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The rooms are good - new and clean - and have everything you need. The family atmosphere is lovely, and they are very generous. Once a week all guests are invited to share dinner with the family, which is both delicious and a great opportunity to get to know the family and other guests as well as swap travel stories.
We were invited on our last night, despite the fact we'd officially checked out that morning. Because we didn't leave until late, we were invited to leave our bags all day, use an empty room to shower before we left and join in the weekly dinner. A lovely way to end a pleasant 3 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife & I spent three incredible nights at the Flower Garden Homestay in Hoi An. I cannot recommend it enough - top experience!

Location: About a kilometer (15 mins walking to the town centre or 7 mins by bicycle) to the town centre; about 4 kms ((20 mins by bicycle) to the peaceful beach. Its down a quiet street, which is nice.

The family: Phuong & Pa are extremely gracious hosts. They really did go out of their way to ensure our stay was restful and that we were 100% satisfied. They even invited us to a three course home cooked dinner - something I believe they do to most guests who stay there. The food was fabulous, as was the experience of dining with the couple & their little kid!

Breakfasts were served outdoors on the porch - excellent local Hoi An food (or toasts & eggs if you prefer). Free bicycles were also available.

Issues: I wouldn't change too much, really. One minor quibble -- it would have been good to have had room serviced once during our 3 night stay, given that it gets all sandy when we return from a day at the beach. But that apart, it was perfect!

Would definitely stay here again, should I return to Hoi An!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Flower Garden Homestay and are very happy with this choice. People working there are super helpful (we are very thankful for the efforts they showed), the place is quet, rooms big and very clean. The stay was absolutely pleasant. I definitely reccomend this place! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

It's the best accommodation we've experienced on out travels through Vietnam and it's the second time for us here in Vietnam.
The rooms are clean, big and modern.
The hotel itself is in the great location, quiet and very well designed.
It's our first recommendation written on Tripadvisor, we can't just go without posting it.
Highly recommended!
Žaneta & Michal, Czech Republic

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Although this homestay is only open for 3 months they understand how to please their guests.
We stayed here for 3 nights and it were three nights well spend!
The homestay itself looks beautiful, the rooms are clean, reasonable sized and wel equipped. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom spotless!
The location of the homestay is just right (for us). Only a 10 minute stroll to the old town, away from the hustle and the bustle! You can access the beach by bike (30 minutes) or by motorbike (10 minutes).
Breakfast was the best I had in Vietnam, fresh and very tasteful!

On our last night they invited all of their guests for dinner. Sharing stories en eating local food that they prepared them self. Very nice!

In short: best homestay I have been to so far. Definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flower Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Homestay

Address: 135/1 Ly Thuong Kiet St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flower Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower Garden Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.