We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoian Silk Village

Hoian Silk Village
28 Nguyen Tat Thanh Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
+(84)5103921144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Attractions in Hoi An
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Hoi An Silk Village, officially opened in August 2012, is based on the ancient silk weaving traditions of Quang Nam province that used Hoi An as a commercial seaport for over 300 years. Located down the street from Hoi An's town center, the Silk Village offers an experience like no other. During the tour you'll learn about the entire production of silk from silkworm to dress. We also have a spacious restaurant serving up local delights and a high-end silk showroom where you can have custom garments designed.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Takapuna, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A nice little place but overly touristic for my liking. Just depends on what you are lookibg looking for

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    88
    14
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very good explanation of the silk making process by a lovely and easy to understand employee. I had a dress made and am very happy with the quality. The range of silk fabrics was excellent> The people there were very friendly and seemed to enjoy their job. Restaurant was closed when we were there because of the typhoon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting, and outstanding value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent 90 minutes we had! Our guide was courteous, informative and witty, and the tour of the silk-making facilities was extremely interesting. All the people working there were gracious about our interrupting their work. I would recommend this highly, and it's a steal at the price. A pity it is not better known, but I am hopeful it's reputation will grow.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Whatever ..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have been there, and the settings and atmosphere are really nice, if this was a resort or a restaurant only.
About the silk village we were a bit disappointed, as we thought there would much more to see on the silk production and less time spent on the show room, which at the end we understood was the main aim of the place.. But hey, if u like shopping, go there.. But not if you want to see the full production.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very educational with kind staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

As a textile crafter, I went to the silk village, interested in how they made the silk fabric. In going on the tour, I also learned about some history and culture of Vietnam. It was interesting to learn about the carving, the traditional homes, the different types of traditional clothes depending upon the ethnic group or era, as well as learning about the process of fabricating silk fabric. When my 4-year-old son joined me, he also found it very interesting and the guide was very thoughtful towards him. It's a great activity to do if it's raining and the restaurant has delicious food. The tour includes lunch and for me as a vegetarian, they were very accommodating, though I'm sure the meat dishes are also delicious.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoian Silk Village also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoian Silk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoian Silk Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.