We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, especially for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VaiA Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added VaiA Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
VaiA Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   489 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An City Center, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Hino, Japan
1 review
“Very good, especially for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Vaia hotel for 4 nights in a standard room. First of all, the hotel is cheap. Very cheap. Don't expect a Hilton service for motel prices, and the same goes for this hotel.

When we first arrived we were greeted like many other travellers, some fresh juice and staff explaining some details about Hoi An and the hotel itself. We were then escorted to our room which was on the ground floor. While the room was clean, and amenities ample, we both found the room to be rather noisy because it was so close to the check-in counter. Another issue we faced was an insane amount of fruit flies who started a colony in our bathroom. Staff however swiftly dealt with the issue, and after the fruit flies had seemingly won the battle from whatever detergent the staff used we were placed in a room on the second floor. A much more silent room, void of any fruit flies. Overall we were happy with the staff their efforts to rid of our room of flies, and their final solution worked perfectly for us. We do feel that it took more effort on our side than it should have. The morning staff seemed to have no clue what was going on, and after we made our round between morning, afternoon, and evening staff the situation was properly dealt with.

The design of the rooms is very hip, and add to the feeling of cleanliness. There was a large LCD television in the room, and the safe and fridge were all sufficient. The bathroom is very large, and has both a spray-type showerhead as well as a rain-type showerhead. Water came out at all times, and the temperature maintained a proper temperature at all time.

We never tried out the breakfast or their cocktails, but there always seemed to be a large amount of people happily digging into their breakfast so I can only assume it was decent.

Bottom Line is, is that for the money you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    127
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
221
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was perfectly fine. It's not five-star nor are the prices or promises. The problem with Vietnam is that so many of the three star hotels offers such incredible service, people who aren't really paying for it are seeing it as their new benchmark. And I guess seeing as it is here, competition ( and Trip Advisor) will sort all that out. By world service standards when they try, they excel. Anyway in this case the rooms are new, close to the old quarter and on the road that leads directly to the beach for variety. decent rooms. It" s the over the top friendliness that is a lot more average here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Vaia Hotel and overall were quite happy with our stay.
As for us we found obvious advantages, as well as several disadvantages in there :
Good:
- guys really did a good job design speaking. The white lanterns all over the interior make a visual reference to the main attraction of the town (which lanterns are)
-everything was shiny new. We just love new places
- convenient location, just 10 minutes stroll to the old quarter
-helpful staff on the reception speaking decent English 
-value for money
No so good:
whether it was lack of experience or people here just do and then think, the result is that there are quite a few inconveniences. 
Neither the standard room  no deluxe room had a simple rack for towels. You just have to hang a towel over the shower/toilet cabin wall. I even don't mention what happen if you go to the beach one day and would have not two, but four wet towels per day plus swimming suits... No racks at all. 
As many reviewers mentioned, the bath tube construction in the deluxe room seems somewhat lax... Yes, it's leaking. I tried in all possible ways to prevent appearance of flood on the floor, tried to close the curtain properly pressed it to the wall and edge of the tube. Nothing worked out. It was always a flood on the floor. The management know about this problem, I assume, so you can always find some extra towels to dry the floor. 
Sliding bathroom door is also not a peach)) it doesn't have a handle, you just have to stick to its surface with your fingers and try to slide it.
The cherry on top was that I met a cockroach in the bathroom. At that time we've spent 3 month in Asia, so kinda got used to these guys, though it's not a thing one would like to see in the bathroom.
Anyway, as I said before we liked our stay and I hope management will consider these kind of comments and make the good place even better. 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

After reading the reviews on here we were expecting a more friendly and smarter place to stay than we had been previously during our stay in Vietnam due to us trying to save on pennies. However most Accomodation was full so we came to Vaia.
On arrival we were asked to sit down and wait. After 15 minutes we were given half a glass of juice each and a map, the lady then plugged a tailor for a while. When asking about possible cycling tracks around the city we were advised to join an expensive tour which we politely declined and were then told the staff didn't know any good routes to cycle on. On arriving we explained that we needed to arrange onward travel for 2days time. The staff who continuously appear too busy to talk/offer advice/smile told us they would look into our options and we could pop back in the evening to book. Free bikes are great.
On returning in the evening the same member of staff told is she had forgotten to look at our onward travel and seemed unwilling to help us then and there but said she would write a note for the next day staff to look and assured us it was not too late to book transport for the next day.
The next day staff 'hadn't received' this note and told us they'd look into it... We booked our onward travel outside of the hotel and unsurprisingly all train tickets had sold out!
Breakfast staff were awful. Attempting to avoid all conversation with customers by thrusting a piece of paper with tick boxes to order under your nose. No hello/ good morning/ how did you sleep? Just a grunt or two. The staff seem to dislike customers.
Building work is ongoing, a large can of glue was left outside our room for hours giving us tremendous headaches. Hammering and noise all day....again nil shame/apologies over this or warning while booking.
Having come from a lovely hotel in Hue where the service was incredible, the staff would do anything for the customers and really make you welcome, this place was hideous!
All in all this was the worst hotel of our stay. The rooms were clean. The welcome cold and soulless.
My suggestion to the owner would be employ new staff or train them to a better standard, and you should not charge full price when customers are staying in a building site.
Having said all of this I left an item in my room and one member of staff...a senior member/possibly owner delt with this fantastically when emailed and returned the item to me by putting it on a tour bus. He was gracious and kind, shame more staff like that weren't the face of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the VaiA Hotel for 3 nights recently in April 2013. It's true it certainly is a new hotel as they were still building it when we were there! This makes it near impossible to head back to your room for an afternoon nap at the building works during the day were quite noisy with smelly paint/sealant fumes.
We had a lovely warm reception on arriving to the hotel. The lovely lady Susan explained the Hoi An area to us and gave us some suggestions for tailors/eating etc. The free bikes are fantastic and the free cocktail hour is a nice touch. It is clear they are trying very hard to give great service!
Unfortunately, I feel they may have opened the hotel too hastily. No where in our room was there to hang our towels- no free surface in the bathroom, the door was sliding and no hooks anywhere. We had to drape our towels over the TV which I'm sure isn't great for the tele. Same goes for soap dishes- no where for soap by the sink and no where to put bathroom product in the shower. They also didn't replace toilet paper so we ran out halfway through our stay. I don't want to be nit-picky, but its such a shame as everything else about the rooms was so lovely.
The breakfast also was a bit of a disaster. We asked to have breakfast at 6:30am as we wanted to ride a moto out to My Son early and miss the crowds. The moto arrived on time, but we were sadly still waiting for our breakfast at 7:10am. When it did arrive, one of the meals wasn't edible. I'd stick to the Western style brekky (everywhere else we traveled, we always went for the Pho/Vietnamese option) but unfortunately the Vietnamese beef/sausage/egg breakfast was horrible.
Finally, having to pay in cash is quite an inconvenience. Hoi An is an expensive place to visit and your money disappears very quickly. We had to withdraw more cash just to pay the bill (credit card payment would have been much more convenient!)
I must re-iterate that the service at VaiA is exceptional- everyone is very lovely and helpful. I'm sure this will be a great hotel once they address a few minor issues, but smalls things do make a difference!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a good stay here. Clean comfy rooms with great size modern bathroom and plenty of room to walk around the bed. Good WiFi and computers in the lobby to access the net. Free bicycle rentals and nice health breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is a real gem - it's only just opened up but is immaculate! The staff work extremely hard and are always around to help. The rooms are sparkling clean, spacious double bed, lovely shower and bathroom - one of the nicest hotels for SUCH a good price (think we paid £20 for the night - places in the UK would charge 4 times that much for not even half the niceties or service!) and breakfast included along with wifi like everywhere else in Nam - mental that they make us pay on top for it in the stupid western world. Anyway amazing hotel, great location - MUCH rather stay here than in any of the big western hotels that we passed on the way in ugh! So much nicer staying here and it was a great location - AND they give you free bikes so you can ride around and check out the sites which I very much recommend that you do! Could not rate it enough, thank you VaiA boutique!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VaiA Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VaiA Boutique Hotel

Address: 489 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An City Center, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — VaiA Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the ancient city of Hoi An, VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An caters to demanding travellers in pursuit of cosy and comfortable accommodation for the duration of their stay in Hoi An.Its bright, contemporary design and decoration creates a welcoming and relaxing environment for VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An guests, and coupled with the personal service assured by the hotel staff, will help to make your stay a memorable experience.Eighteen well-appointed rooms ranging from Junior, Standard, Deluxe to Signature provide a comfortable home base from which to explore the ancient city on its doorstep.Breakfast and light refreshments are served at the Little Terrace Café in the lobby. Free tea and coffee is available to guests throughout the day at the Little Terrace Café.Free wifi is available throughout VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An, and free Internet access is provided for guests in the Lobby.Other services including airport/train transport, tour desk, bicycle hire are all available at the Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your VaiA Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VaiA Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.