We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vinh Hung Emerald Resort to your Saves list
Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel, staff and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed here for a week after 3 weeks of travelling throughout Vietnam. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind with its quiet, river location, lovely well maintained gardens and infinity pool. The resort is within a couple of minutes walk to the bars and restaurants on the islet and about 5 minutes walk (across the bridge) to the old town of Hoi An. The general manager, Mr Truong Quoc Thuy, and restaurant and pool staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay there very memorable. The room was very inviting and comfortable with views onto the pool. The friendly ladies who made up our room each day left lovely artistic creations on our bed using coloured paper cuttings, face washers and flowers. We were fortunate to be invited by the general manager to a special dinner as a thank you for our stay which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice and the restaurant meals were first class. Also, the hotel offers a free boat trip around the river which is a must do. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    163
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
349
34
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We had a week at Vinh Hung Emerald last week. We loved our stay. ROOM WAS SPACIOUS and nice views from the balcony to the river with its small local fisherme on the water. Large pool and plenty of sun lounges. Breakfast buffet was good and as we stayed for a week, we were given a complimentary dinner in the restaurant one night. Great food and such a nice gesture.

Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. One of our bags did not arrive off the plane and the staff followed it up for 3 days until it turned up. Manager was very proud of his staff and rightly so.
GREAT FREE Wi Fi in all rooms.

Position is good. Only few minutes walk to the "old town" and very quiet local neighborhood. Thanks for a lovely stay....we'll be back!

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are quieter as ones around pool can be a bit noisey if lots of children are staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We just spent 10 days at this smashing hotel. Its a great location, just a few minutes walk from the old town. We had an upper floor Deluxe river view room (606) - it was furthest away from the restaurant and shallow/kiddie end of the pool which was great as we are a couple so just wanted to relax in peace. You do hear the boats on the river fairly early, but ear plugs cancel that out if you are very sensitive to it. We were upgraded to a suite (510) for our last few nights and i do think it is worth the extra. Other reviewers are correct in saying there is no lounge/living area but the bedroom and bathroom are bigger and there is a bath tub which the deluxe room doesn't have. The best thing about the suite in our opinion was the far bigger balcony, with chairs and footstools and a swing chair. Breakfast is excellent - eggs however you want them, bacon, pastries, toast, cereal, yogurt and best of all, banana pancakes! The breakfast kept us full all day! We ate a few dinners/had room service in the hotel too and the food is absolutely excellent. The free morning river boat trip is worth doing, the wifi is free and good throughout the hotel and poolside. 3pm-6pm its 2 (same) cocktails for the price of 1 and a new bar in the gardens was being finished off as we left. All the staff are simply wonderful, everyone says hello with beautiful smiles. Extra special thanks must go to the Manager Mr Thuy, I don't think i have ever felt so special and valued, he is truly exceptional. Right opposite the hotel is Mrs Sa, she is great for laundry and scooter rental, next door to her is Basil spa, please don't be put off by the price board, she will negotiate and its a fabulous massage - the kind you can fall asleep too! We will DEFINITELY be back. Thank you Mr Thuy and Vinh Hung Emerald! :D

Room Tip: Deluxe river view rooms are quiet - away from the restaurant and shallow end of the pool, but boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel and surrounding property are gorgeous. The hotel feels like a charming boutique hotel, with an open air design plan leading to a reflection pool. The restaurant opens onto the infinity pool, which faces a wide expanse of lawn on the river. If you do nothing else in Hoi An, simply spending time around the hotel makes for a nice time.

We paid for the most expensive kind of room at the hotel, described as a suite on the top floor. This comes with a large rooftop balcony/patio overlooking both the pool and the river. The room itself is very nice; breezy, comfortable, well decorated. But it's NOT A SUITE. Not even close. The room itself was small. The bathroom was well appointed. But we booked this room because it was listed as a suite, which would imply a bedroom and a living area. The room was no bigger than some of the other rooms at the hotel; it seems you're paying for a large, top floor patio, but again, it's NOT a suite. This was incredibly frustrating; we wanted the two rooms so that our toddler would have a separate place to sleep.

The hotel is within walking distance to the historical area of Hoi An. There are lots of shops and restaurants in the area. The hotel itself is so gorgeous and charming that we would stay in, but we wouldn't waste our money on paying for a top floor room that it billed - and priced - as a suite.

Room Tip: There are no true suites available. The top floor rooms have rooftop patio/balconies. The rest of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Just returned from a 10 day holiday in Hoi An, Emerald resort. This was our second time to Hoi An but we will definitely be returning to this hotel.
The hotel is located on An Hoi, which is about 5 minutes walk to the bulk of the restaurants, and start of the old town. Airport hotel transfer at USD18. Opposite the hotel are a few shops, Mrs Sa will do laundry for USD1 per kilo, rent you scooters and also sells drinks, ice creams etc. Also outside is Basil Spa, which is pretty good. The prices advertised are negotiable, like most things in Vietnam, so don't be put off. Massage here is less physical that the hotel spa, which is just a question of preference.
We had a garden view room, on first floor, which was spacious and immaculately clean. Some people have reported that there is noise from the boats. There is a "commuter" boat that runs pretty early on that could use a new engine, it is quite loud and did wake me up on one night, but it is not a constant noise, running once every hour or so i guess.
We were upgraded towards the end of the stay into a suite (not through our request), which is lovely, and is well worth the extra expense. The suite was larger, with a bath and a far larger balcony. If you have a family this is what I would suggest, if you want some space.
Staff were all fantastic. Breakfast is a good assortment, the pancakes are lovely! Pool bar does happy hour cocktails, 2 of the same drink for price of one from 3pm-6pm, and they were building a new bar as we were leaving. The free boat trip from the hotel is pretty good and well worth doing.
Food in the hotel is delicious, and convenient. You can get cheaper in the town if you wish, but this can be a hassle every night.
The pool is lovely, big enough to get a decent swim if you wish to work off some of the food, and has a children friendly shallow end and fairly deep end also. Hotel has free wifi in room, and by the pool, which is a nice touch.
In terms of value for money this ranks pretty high.
Finally big thank you to manager, really nice guy and keen to ensure you have a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 606 is first floor garden room , slightly away from pool bar and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is a spectacular sight and a pleasure to stay at. Our room had a private, well-furnished balcony overlooking the swimming pool. This is the most interesting and beautifully designed resort we've ever stayed at, with a sort of 3-tiered water design: lobby-level fountain, swimming pool, and ocean. Highlights included the complimentary boat trip, perfect for seeing the extent of Hoi An's famous riverside old city; the inexpensive happy hour poolside drinks; and, of course, the great location: a short, 3 minute walk to the river and the old city. The location was perfect: secluded, but very close to all the action. We were at this hotel during the hottest part of the year, but the air conditioning kept the room cool and comfortable overnight. The breakfast buffet was diverse and delicious. The turndown service and little displays (towels folded into elephants/rosepetals in a heart) were over the top; the staff were exemplary. They gave us an excellent overview of the sights nearby and booked us an inexpensive car to Hue. No complaints: if we return to Hoi An we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. P.S.: the many choices for quick laundry, snacks, and bottled water right across from the front door of the hotel were friendly and reliable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We spent 8 nights staying here and loved the experience of staying in a small hotel that is very well maintained and staff who go out of their way to get to know you. We had a room facing the river and not far to the pool where we spent most days (wish the water temperature was colder). You can order lunch and drinks from the poolside bar and the food was great, so was the price. I would definitely stay here again, good location to town. We also spent some nights over the beach side of Hoi An, but kept coming back to old town because we missed the vibe and all the shopping etc., and that very large hotel didnt have the friendliness as the staff at the Emerald.

Room Tip: There are 8 riverside rooms directly facing the river which have more privacy than the poolview room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vinh Hung Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Address: An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil district of An Hoi, Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is located on the banks of the romantic Thu Bon River and within 10-minute walking distance to the ancient town of Hoi An. The resort offers 52 well-appointed rooms with free wireless Internet access. All rooms are elegantly designed to maximize their views over the garden, the swimming pool and the river. The facilities include an internet corner, a spa & fitness center, a library and a swimming pool that will make your stay comfortable and convenient and meet all the needs of business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vinh Hung Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinh Hung Emerald Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.