We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting lots to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bao Tang Van Hoa Dan Gian Hoi An

Bao Tang Van Hoa Dan Gian Hoi An
33 Nguyen Thai Hoc & 62 Bach Dang, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 36 Attractions in Hoi An
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
129 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very interesting lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We were taken here by our guide. It's described as a Folklore museum. It tells their story really well from dress to tools. It's interesting to look after all the silk cacoons and how silk is produced. You get to see boats, farming equipment, mother of pearl tapestry and even a bed. It's very easy to navigate and easy to understand. Because of the great artefacts it doesn't matter if you don't read the plaques or your guide doesn't explain you can work it out for yourself.

The view from the upper building windows give a lovely view over to the river.

The museum is basically in to old wooden buildings and are connected by a lovely court yards with lush plants and water features. This is where you will find the toilets.

I found this museum very interesting and definitely worth a visit.

Give yourself about 45 mins to look around.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Use one of your five Old Town chits for this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The English sign on the front says Museum of Folklore. We enjoyed the explanation of the silk production process and the displays about traditional life. The building itself was interesting to visit as well. We ended up buying some calligraphy art there. We thought this was the best museum that we saw in Hoi An.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best museum in Hoi An, lovely building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I believe this one is also known as the Museum of Folklore. We visited late in the afternoon the day before we left Hoi An and had the place to ourselves. Not even the ticket collector was to be seen!

As you enter, you have a room dedicated to silk farming. There are baskets of cocoons on display and a chart showing the life cycle of the silk worm, skeins of colored silk, etc. The next room has weaving looms. As we wandered from room to room taking in the displays on pottery, fishing, etc, we realized the museum is actually located in a large ancient house. There were two courtyards, several rooms, and many staircases leading to the first floor. Lovely.

By the time we made our way to the first floor, it was dark and bats began zooming in an out of the rooms on the first floor. Also, because of the dim light, I was startled a couple of times by the life size statues in one of the rooms! Anyway, the upstairs has displays of traditional costumes, fishing nets and contraptions for catching shrimp, and traditional festival costumes such as the unicorn, which make for interesting viewing.

If you're interested in shopping, there are a couple of shops selling silk scarves, etc. We didn't visit, so I can't comment on the quality or price.

If you want to visit just one museum in Hoi An, I would recommend that you visit this one.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Austria
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

i don't know about other people but i found it interesting and it's worth it since you arer in Hoi An you should know about their culture as well

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinokawa, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Housed in what is apparently the largest wooden double-storey building in the Old Town, the Hoi An Folklore Museum was an interesting place to escape from the wet weather downpours. Although apparently the flood had covered the whole ground floor last week! I don't envy the guys who have to move everything upstairs and back every time the weather is bad!

The museum was divided into a few different galleries that depicted traditional life, craft, work, and pastimes in Hoi An. Some of the exhibits seemed a bit dated, but I honestly felt that it still fitting nicely with the whole vibe of the old town! Anything super-modern or technological would seem badly out of place here.

The ticketing system was a little annoying, though - I had to go find one of the ticket offices down the road, which sells a 120k dong ticket that gets you into five different cultural sites in the old town.

But if you're interested in the traditional culture and lifestyle in Hoi An, this museum is definitely the best out of the four museums in the old town.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bao Tang Van Hoa Dan Gian Hoi An also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Bao Tang Van Hoa Dan Gian Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bao Tang Van Hoa Dan Gian Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.