We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reaching Out Tea House

Reaching Out Tea House
131 Tran Phu, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
+84 90 521 65 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great ambience and exceptional quality of service. Staff are truly inspirational, friendly and welcoming. Drinks presented to give a true Vietnam feel.

(As is the service at their craft shop).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are glad that you appreciated the service at both our Tea House and craft shop. Our staff read these reviews everyday and are aware that they must work hard to give consistently excellent service to maintain the reputation that we have gained in the short time that the teahouse has been open.

Your acknowledgement of their skill and graciousness will motivate them to do just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    95
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“tranquil oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved this tea house. The building is beautiful and the attention to detail on all the finishes/interior creates an extremely atmospheric environment. The quality of the tea and 'treats' are excellent, and the tea sets are beautiful. Each one is created in the workshop which also employs young adults with hearing disability. We were so impressed by the quality of the pieces for sale that we purchased a set (and were pleased to get it back to London in one piece). Highly recommend visiting this place. If we return to Hoi An we will certainly visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We like to think of you in London, enjoying your tea from a hand crafted tea set from Reaching Out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, UK
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Zen Tea Ceremony in Silence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our visit to this tea shop was a wonderful experience.
To be served in silence by the charming and friendly staff, who transformed their lack of speech and hearing into a beautiful grace.....
The tea-rooms are decorated with a true sense of beauty and attention to detail. It was the Zen Tea Ceremony performed with a perfect sense of timing and poise - and the profound silence was so refreshing after the bustle of the busy street!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
This review will thrill our staff. They have worked very hard to acquire the skills and poise required to offer the service that they do. Loving response from their customers is very encouraging. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tranquility, tea and cake - all in a good cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really well worth visiting when in Hoi An. High quality tasteful furnishings/surroundings, great tea/coffee and cake, but most importantly it's supporting and employing young people with difficulties, all of whom are unfailingly smiley. We went 3 times in 3 days and on no occasion was the place crowded - it's a shame given the crowds shuffling by outside, but it does help you to enjoy the silence, as they say themselves.
They also sell some very attractive and tasteful gifts (including their tea and coffee blends).
A real Hoi An highlight for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Three visits in three days tells us that you really enjoyed our Tea House. No, we can not control the external noise of the large groups in the street...but sitting in the teahouse makes you glad that you are not amongst them be herded by a man with a raised flag!

We recommend the garden for even more quiet ...very romantic at night with the stars overhead!

Thanks for your review which other travellers will find helpful if they seek the tranquility of a quiet place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinmer
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Silence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a lovely contrast to the rather hectic tooing and froing of the street before you to sit in these charming surroundings and sample lovely fragrant teas and snacks. All in virtual silence. The various wares that are for sale are well worth a look though they are a little more expensive than you will find elsewhere - but considering the cause that is being supported, that is entirely justified. Be aware that tour groups are sometimes dragged through here and are often obnoxious and obtrusive. Best time to go - early morning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reaching Out Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.