We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideout Hostel Hoi An

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hideout Hostel Hoi An to your Saves list
The Hideout Hostel Hoi An
To 5 Thon Xuyen Trung, Cam Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Paris, France
1 review
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed there for 2 night in April, it's a Cool place a bit out side of the city, the room are clean, free break first, there's a swimming pool which is cool with the heat, the staff is very nice and helpful also, thank you ! I would recommend this place.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really new and nice hostel to stay. You have a great view on the river and can enjoy your free beer in the evening.
Really close to the city, free breakfast, comfy beds and a pool.
It was a bit cold during the night from the a/c but I got a second blanket.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in the pool side dorm for 2 nights. Beds are huge for dorm standards and very comfortable. No bathrooms in the room but they have one by the pool dorm, and a whole bunch more in the more common area. Free breakfast is one of the best included breakfasts I had in Vietnam as usually it's just bread eggs and coffee. Free beer every night and several lounge/bar/common areas to hang out in. This is place is just starting so it wasn't overly lively but the staff was very friendly and helpful and I think it will be really great.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm well aware this place has only been up and running for about a month so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and perhaps call the issues we experienced teething troubles. Unfortunately there were a few of them. I'll get to that. But first:

THE GOOD

The room (a double) was a decent size, complete with en suite, mini fridge, tv and amazing air con. Seriously good air con - possibly the best we've had in Vietnam.

It looks fairly recently decorated, very comfortable sleep wise. Decent shower with plenty of hot water.

Location is ok - depends what you want out of Hoi An. It's probably a ten minute minute walk over the river to the market and twenty to the party street. In a quiet area, near the river so you have a good view of the old town on the opposite bank from the communal balcony area upstairs.

Suited us and was close to Randy's bookshop which is well worth a visit.

Swimming pool amazing for the hot weather! Perfect for an afternoon dip - love that there's a basketball net above the pool and a couple of balls kicking around.

Free beer every evening. Never a bad thing!

THE BAD

Unfortunately there's a few things that just don't work, didn't go well or just aren't quite right.

The worst of this was the cockroach in my bed... We did only see two of them (rapidly dispatched!) and only on one night of our stay, but still not ideal.

The most frustrating thing was the wifi. It works when and if it wants to, and for who it wants to... Sometimes I'd be sat next to someone who was on the Internet and it was working fine whilst mine would just be refusing me access/saying the password was incorrect. Good when you're on it, but unpredictable as to when it would let you on...

Same in both the bedroom and common areas. Staff tried to help but proved unable to resolve - eventually I was just told 'mine's working'. Not a lot of use to me!! Or to the other guests who were experiencing issues.

The sink in our bathroom didn't drain and looked to be falling off the wall - seal had come away and there was a gap down the back. Room wasn't especially clean - a previous occupant had left things under the bed, for example, that were still there.

The noise... The music selection is dubious at times. We had electro (loud) over breakfast one day - and it was almost always too loud during the day. Generally turned down at a reasonable hour for sleep time but definite potential for noise issues.

I feel a little like this place is struggling with its identity a little - it feels like it's trying to be a party hostel which is a real shame as its location and layout means it feels much more like a chill out place. And the common areas / pool are a fabulous place to chill. Free pool too!

Finally, our transfer to catch our train was twenty minutes late. Whilst we did catch the train, we had planned in time to get food, phone credit etc. so wound up without these on the (20 hour) train. As far as I'm concerned, you pay a premium for a private transfer to avoid these kind of issues with shuttles - totally unacceptable for it to turn up late with hostel staff having no idea what was going on. Made the end of our stay a little stressful.

OTHER

Breakfast is pretty standard - eggs and bread. You do get a hash brown here, and tomato - but no choice. Pretty repetitive if you're there more than a couple of nights.

Bike hire available - 40k, so more expensive than the local one nearby (~30k) - we paid it for the convenience but if you're on a tighter budget!

Despite presumably being new the bikes are not in brilliant shape either - mine had handlebars facing a different way to the rest of the bike (it looked like it had been involved in a crash) and we had to swap out assigned bike one day as the pedal was missing.

Airport bus transfer: at 150k, more expensive than most. Hoi An express do one for 110k - though not sure they pick up from the door. Again, budget dependent I guess!

Private car reasonable / in line with taxis.

This place could be fabulous - it has the ingredients. We loved the pool, common areas and the bed was super comfy, but the issues we had outweighed this to add up to a disappointingly average stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hostel with clean room and friendly staff. Free beer every night, chill out area with bean bags and pool table downstairs and a (not very lively but nice) bar. Small pool. Great location as it's right not he river so you just cross the bridge and go through the market to get to the main bit of town (about ten min walk to all the bars).

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Basic facilities, which is all you'd expect from a hostel, except this charges double the price as other hostels that can be found nearby.

The staff were helpful and friendly, the beds and lockers were fine, as were the showers. The toilets were not great, but to a hostel standard. Food was alright, and breakfast was free, unless you wanted any extras.

The social side was a bit dead. The bar and social area closes by midnight so you have to venture out... The best time you get to make new friends here is at breakfast, and although advertised on their website they did not seem to be arranging any social events. They have a pool table though. And a kitten.

Don't get me wrong, it's a nice place with good staff but too expensive for what it is. If you're on a tight budget like many young backpackers maybe give this place a miss, or stay only one night.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the hideout hostel during our stay in Hoi An and loved it! We stayed in the Pool House where the beds are the biggest bunk beds I've ever had in a hostel, and so comfortable as well. There was lots of floor space for your rucksack, and the bathrooms were also very clean. The hostel has a pool which is great as well. The atmosphere in the hostel is really chilled, it's nice just to sit on the bean bags and relax. It's really social and a great place to meet other travellers. The breakfast was delicious as well, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. There are also bikes that you can rent to cycle around the town and the hostel has the most adorable kitten that we spent hours playing with! One of my favourite hostels I've ever stayed in, I can't think of any negative points! I definitely recommend to anyone to stay here when staying in Hoi An.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideout Hostel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel Hoi An

Address: To 5 Thon Xuyen Trung, Cam Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Hideout Hostel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideout Hostel Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.