We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people but not value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleepy Gecko Homestay

Sleepy Gecko Homestay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sleepy Gecko Homestay to your Saves list
Sleepy Gecko Homestay
To 5 Thon Xuyen Trung, Cam Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely people but not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We checked into sleepy gecko with the intention of staying a few nights but unfortunately we decided to leave after one. There are two dorm rooms....one better than the other as it has showers and toilets just outside and isn't close to the road or crying children so its quieter. Instead they put everyone in the other dorm which means you have to walk through the bar area to have a shower or go to the toilet, there is no aircon so the doors need left open which meant a very early rise due to the sunlight, loud noise of boats, scooters and the children and workers outside. The pool looked lovely but i didnt want to hang out with the staffs children. maybe the place is better suited for familys but not for backpackers.For 7$ a night it wasn't competive with the rest of the dorms in town.The beds were a good size but the room is dark and smells of dust.The two other dorms in town are 6$ and 9$ both with aircon and ensuite bathrooms, the9$ one includes an all you can eat breakfast buffet. The place is a nice idea and we liked the location but it was almost as if they haven't thought it through properly. A large bottle of water is 25,000 dong....the other hostels charge 15,000....shame as the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
2
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 5 or 6 days and yes the rooms were not spotless (we were in the mixed dorm) but i'm sure it's hard to tell what's been left lying around and what's been left behind as trash. My bed was large and comfortable and considering we kept extending last min I believe the host were very gracious. The owner and bar staff were very pleasant and Grandma pretty cool about letting us in after hours once she got to know us....courtesy and appreciation to the staff goes along way just in case you didn't already know this. Would def go back! Thank you all for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

On the plus side...nice location away from the noise and activity of Old Town, great deck and bar areas, god spot to relax and watch the activity on the river...generous breakfast...whatever you like from the menu. The staff is great, the owner is a friendly sort, helpful for info and bookings. Showers are great, wifi is not bad. Room was very big (we had an upgrade to the family room) and had a great view.

On the negative side, things are a little too laid back...rooms were never cleaned, towels never refreshed, garbage never emptied, floors never swept, had to find toilet paper a couple of times. By the end of five days it was pretty dirty. For the price I expected a little cleaner accommodations. They hire several staff for the bar; maybe someone to clean the rooms would be a good addition. Beds are very hard; we put the duvet from the extra bed under us to sleep on.

Despite the downsides, it was an enjoyable stay. This place has tons of potential.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Awesome bar with legit whiskey selection, amazing atmosphere and great place to chill out overseeing the river. Close by market across the river just a boat ride away ... And as a bonus: free swimming pool and motorbike rental for very good price...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleepy Gecko Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Gecko Homestay

Address: To 5 Thon Xuyen Trung, Cam Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sleepy Gecko Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleepy Gecko Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.