We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, calm and relaxed hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Earth Villa

Save Saved
You added The Earth Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Earth Villa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Cua Dai St., Hoi An 84510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Only 50 USD until 30 Augu
Ranked #6 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
St Austell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful, calm and relaxed hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked through Agoda and actually liked it so much we booked an extra couple of days.
The hotel is very new and was running an opening offer of 50% discount, at this price it is exellent but at full price I am not too sure, maybe a tariff somewhere between the 2 would be more appropriate, It is located on the main road about half way between the beach and the old town, both are in reasonable walking distance but you can hire mopeds or bicycles if you're not up to the walks. It is also very quiet with the rooms set well back from the road.
The hotel itself is very extremely clean and the rooms are very spacious, we had a smaller Earth room and it was near on perfect, good size, nice balcony, seperate shower/ wc room, kettle with tea and coffee, my only minor complaint about the room is the length of the quilt, I am just short of 6ft and my feet stuck out from the bottom of the quilt by a good foot! I slept diagonally! The shower room/ wc is a wet room and the floor of the actual shower is covered in round pebbles which you can move aside if you don't like standing on them, when running the water you can hear the thumping of the outside water pump, this happens everytime someone runs the water or flushes the wc and it really needs silencing, it didn't bother us too much but I know some people commented on it!
The pool area is very welcoming and has sun loungers and it is nice to see all generations of their family sat around it and the owners children occasionally swimming there. a very friendly, family orientated hotel.
Breakfast is very good and has a good variety that you can mix and match.
We had an evening meal here and whilst it was not disappointing it was not as good as we had expected.
The staff here will also organise most of what you need to see in Vietnam, hotels, tours, bikes, taxis, cars, with drivers, boats and even flights and can do it quickly with no drama and I found they did it cheaper than I could find myself online, Thank you Cherry for all your help there.
In summary this hotel has potential of being a top quality hotel once they get over one or two teething problems and we would happily rebook next time we are in Hoi An

Room Tip: Heaven rooms are larger than the Earth rooms but the Earth room is spacious enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear obiwanwasabe


Thank you very much for your time to write a comment us on tripadvisor.com.
We are very happy to read that you had a enjoyable days staying with us recently.
Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Nguyen Son Thuy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    40
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
91
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Earth Villa. It's a family run hotel and the staff are very friendly. Two of the girls speak excellent English and were very helpful in hiring us bicycles, a moped, recommending routes and things to do. The hotel is about 2km from the old town centre, but its a nice walk or a short cycle.

Our room was large, and clean, with a/c, a fridge, complimentary water daily and a huge comfortable bed. The bathroom had a rainfall shower and complimentary toiletries. We spent the first night in the room at the front, facing the road. As the Vietnamese both rise early and love to toot their horns, it was quite noisy for a light sleeper. We asked to be moved if possible and the staff were great, very understanding and moved us within the hour to a room at the back which was just as lovely, but quiet.

The included breakfast is unlimited choice and they do their best to accommodate requests. It's served in the dining area overlooking the lovely pool area. There's so much to do in Hoi An that we didn't spend much time around the pool, however it was a lovely place to cool down after a day on the bike!

Really recommend The Earth Villa if you're looking for a welcoming and relaxing base to explore Hoi An!

Room Tip: Room 10 is at the front and light sleepers would find it noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Flamingo,

Thank you very much for your time to write a comment us on tripadvisor.com.
We are very happy to read that you had a enjoyable days staying with us recently.
Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Nguyen Son Thuy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Earth Villa has upside potential; nice rooms, comfy bed, good location and marketing as an eco-friendly environment.
Our room (Heaven) had a smell in the bathroom that continued throughout our stay - despite cleaning by the staff; a sewage smell. (as an aside, the shower itself was odd - in the room, no curtain, and lined with hard, movable stones which, while nice looking are real impractical)

In response to our several complaints we were offered another room (but not at a comparable hotel but one with no pool and mediocre trip reviews). Only after prodding were we relocated to their "sister" property - Wind Bell Homestay - which is VERY GOOD!

The manager declined paying for our cab fare (it was less than two dollars so it was a matter of principle, rathre than money) claiming "the owner is away so I dont have any money") adding "sorry about the room, you are just unlucky".

Very unprofessional.

Room Tip: the Heaven villa smelled like something other than heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear DrRoy52,

Thank you very much for your time to write us a comment on tripadvisor.com.

But we are very very surprised to read your bad comment about us here. We understand our fails on pipe problem. We always try to keep a good service and facilities for all guest staying with us as a family. But somethings the technic has a problem and out of our control. And we are willing to find out a better room at better hotel for your stay. We have to pay double price for your room at windbell homestay.

But it is terrible to read your comment here. I know you have been living in Viet Nam for long time and understand our cultural on polite treatment. We are always polite and never evaluate anyone who knew their fails and did apologies.

I understand that the client is a King, but before write a bad words to someone, the King should consider what they did for him !

Thanks
Thuy Nguyen Son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place, we felt like it was a little touch of paradise!!5mins ride to the beach and hoi an.amazing pool very relaxing and such a nice family!the breakfast was yummy to!thankyou and good luck for the future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuy-IUT, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Chrisandijade,

We are very happy to see your vote us maximum star of services on Tripadvisor. These nice comments wil encourage for all family members recently and we are still happy to effort the best to keep this marks in the future.

Hope to see your stay back on the next season.

Best regards,

Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pros: comfortable beds, large rooms, hot water, nice showerhead, balconies, clean pool, good wifi. The family was nice and although not as put together as some of the more established places they are working on it. Bicycle and motorbike rentals available. Umbrellas available to borrow.
Cons: loud water pumps - particularly noticeable at night, no safe in room, would not recommend the food.
We liked the location because it was half way between Cua Dai beach and Hoi An old town. Walking was doable but we used bikes and a motorbike to get around most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuy-IUT, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear MelWG,

Thank you very much for your time to comment about us on Tripadvisor. we are very happy to read your nice words on this and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Earth villa is located right in the middle of Cua Dai street between town and the beach, making it a great location. They had a bike available to rent which I recommend doing, as its about 2km to the beach and 2km to the town. I did have, however, a few issues with this hotel. One issue i had is that there are way too many workers. They start cleaning the whole place very early and are at it all day long. Which should be a good thing, but it doesn't feel very private and I didn't feel comfortable sitting by the pool with a dozen workers power cleaning the deck. Additionally, the owner of the hotel's children played in the pool all day and were very loud, making it hard to relax. I went to the beach instead. They also don't have a safety box available in the rooms or at the front desk, which all good hotels should have... A final issue I had was that they tried to make me pay in cash when I was checking out-- they said they didn't accept cards.... When I became upset (since I don't carry hundreds of dollars of cash on me in dong) they magically produced a card machine and swiped my visa. I am undecided on whether I would stay here again. In the least, the room and shower were lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuy-IUT, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Lauren F

Thank you very much for your time to write a comment on Tripadvisor. I apologied for any un-convenience made your unhappiness staying at my villa recently.

I was regretted that on last sunday, we had cleaned the swimming pool with many workers and it made you not much private and beside that my children was off at home and made noises at the pool and arounds.

i hope that these things will be not happend again in the future and we are happy if you back to stay with us on next season.

Once again thank you very much
Best regards,

Thuy

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We found the Earth Villa on booking.com and were very looking forward to stay there. Unfortunately we got an email saying that they are full and therefore we got a room in their sister hotel "windbell Home Stay Villa" which was very nice but not in the same area and on our arrival they didn't know about us but at the end we got a nice room.
after one night we had to change again because they were full as well and finally we got to the Earth Villa Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay there and the family and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and dinner as well.
It's a new hotel with a nice swimming pool.
it would have been perfect if we could have stayed there from the beginning on as booked without change...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoiantravel1, Owner at The Earth Villa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Nici90,

Firstly, thank you very much for your time to write us a good words and recommend our property in tripadvisor.com. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed to stay with us recently.

We hope to welcome your return in the future.
Bix thank for your kind.

Nguyen Son Thuy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Earth Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Earth Villa

Address: 380 Cua Dai St., Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Earth Villa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Earth Villa is established as a new style of accommodation by a traditional family with 4 generations. This is new trend of sustainable tourism in Hoi An. The villa is not only place for your relaxing during your holiday, but also a worth opportunity for your understand the cultural life of local people in Hoi An.The villa has totally 10 boutique rooms, 1 pretty swimming pool, a family resta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Earth Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Earth Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.