We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food of our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ms Nam

Ms Nam
Lot 5, Food court, 5 Nguyen Phuc Chu, An Hoi islaet | Nguyen Phuc Chu, Hoi An, Vietnam
0126 2523 622
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 456 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Ms. Nam! The famous dishes of Hoi An including the freshest seafood, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. Vegetarian options. Soft and alcoholic drinks.
Surrey UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We walked passed this resturant having already eaten, but glanced at the menu, and promised we would be back the following night.
We returned,and were so glad we did. The food was fantastic, cheap beer and very friendly service.
The fried wantons were to die for. We all loved the food so much that we did a cookery class there the following morning. Great fun, and fantastic value. We went around the market first to buy the ingredients, and then returned to cook our lunch.
The evening after the cooking course, we thought we'd eat somewher else for a change. We regreted this. our meal was no where near as good as at Ms Nam's , so for the rest of our stay in Hoi An, we ate at Ms Nam's where we gould guarantee good fresh food . We even finished off one evening by learning to play a Vietnamese card game.
I would definately recommend this resturant and the cooking class. Fantastic food and good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“delicious local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Was a little skeptical about the place at first but decided to try it anyway. Ordered the local dishes like White Rose and Fried Wanton, and they were very delicious. Had a second servings for the white rose as it was just too good! As for the wanton, it also beats those that were served in the fancy restaurants in Hoi An.
We went there on the second night and decided to try different food. Had grilled beef which turns out to be a little disappointing as it was tough to chew. Perhaps Ms Nam was a little too busy with the overwhelmed business that the beef was overcooked. We had the fried soft noddles with shrimp and it was so delicious we ordered a second servings. Overall the price was reasonable and food was good. Throughly enjoyed the dinner on both occasions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice and cheap street food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

the food we enjoyed at Ms Nams was really good and the atmosphere there was lovely. Ms Nam and her husband are so friendly and do everything for you. Ms Nam is a great alternative to get some great food instead if going to one of the expensive restaurants along the river..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were also told about this place by someone we met and were so glad we went with their recommendation!

The staff are so lovely, I think they might be one family. The food is fresh and prepared right in front of you (literally). We actually ended up going back a second time we enjoyed the food so much. All the food we had was delicious - white rose, morning glory, chicken with cashew and chicken with chilli and lemongrass and probably the tastiest spring-rolls ever - chicken and duck!

At the end of your meal they give you fresh fruit to finish up with which I thought was such a lovely gesture.

Best part of it all is the price is great - you are getting delicious food for a fraction of what the nearby restaurants charge.

Definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place to eat!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Was told about this place by another traveller. It's amazing. I loved it. I had pho and it was the best pho I've had in Vietnam.
And so cheap. 30000 dong for pho.

G

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ms Nam also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Ms Nam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ms Nam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.