We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Chic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hoi An Chic Hotel to your Saves list
Hoi An Chic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nguyen Trai Street | Cam Chau Ward, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST PRICE ON OUR WEBSITE
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hoi An is a gem to visit, and this hotel deserves the high praise it consistently receives. We stayed in March for 2 nights. Situated just on the outskirts of town, and overlooking paddy fields, it was a comfortable ride to town on the hotel bikes (complimentary). Our scrupulously clean room was large, & well appointed with contemporary colours and furnishings that reflected Vietnam and not just another beige-designer suite for westerners. The bathroom was a delight; opening to a little courtyard and outside bath.
The breakfasts were super with every option you could wish for, and overseen by a chef who took pride in his kitchen and service. in fact, all the customer service staff demonstrated a love of the hotel, their work and were just incredibly happy to be of help. If you are wondering whether to pay the extra to stay here, it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you so much for your kind and sincere feedback. We are all very passionate about our hotel and committed to doing everything we can to make your stay a memorable one. We are focusing heavily on the quality of our food and look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Hoi An. Next time you may join us for a buffalo cart excursion and BBQ in the rice paddies. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    61
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
309
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a great hotel. Large room. Spotlessly clean and serviced twice a day. Massive bed, very good quality mattress and pillows. Nice products too.
The pool and location Are lovely. Breakfast was good. We loved the fresh juices. Staff were really friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay again.
The hotel would have got 5 stars but dinner in the restaurant lets the hotel down. We didn't get what we ordered. The taste and quality of the meat was lacking too. This needs to improve. Luckily we only tried it one night.
The water could be hotter. Although I loved the outdoor bath. The water was only luke was so you could never have a hot bath.


Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you for your very kind words and feedback. We are introducing a new menu at Hoi An Chic and we are focusing heavily on the quality of our food. We hope that you will come and stay with us again so that we have the opportunity to show you our improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hoi An Chic hotel in mid April and could not have been more impressed. The place has a lot going for it but the main asset that this hotel is definitely the staff. The rooms, location, pool are all of a high, boutique, standard and set in a lovely tranquil setting. We arrived at their hotel and were immediately put at ease by the friendliness of the people working there along with their willingness to help us in any way. We were travelling as a family of four (two young boys) and also my parents-in-law. We all absolutely loved the place. The hotel clearly caters for all types rather than just young families - it had backpackers, honeymooners, young families and middle aged historical sightseers staying there at the same time as us. Their breakfasts are lovely especially their handmade juices/smoothies. We also loved the fact that we could borrow their bikes to ride around the countryside as well as being driven from the hotel into the center of Hoi An by American jeeps. We did book a tour which I would highly recommend - it was their Buffalo/BBQ sightseeing tour; the guide was from the hotel and had so much knowledge to impart. We initially had a buffalo cart ride around the countryside showing us the natural landscape and crops growing there before an opportunity to ride the buffalo bareback, then a short walk to a gazebo and loungers for a foot massage while we waited for our BBQ to start - it was fantastic. Also take their advice and book a treatment at the Ginger Spa just up the road - delightful.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and we aim to return here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Traveler
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you return, perhaps your family might enjoy a tour to the beach in US Jeeps with your very own butler to take care of your every need and bring you sunset drinks before returning to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had the most amazing time here at the hoi an chic. It is just outside hoi an (3km) and not far from the beach (2km). Hoi an is so flat which makes riding around very easy the hotel supplies complimentary bikes which are comfy and the guys who get the bikes are incredibly friendly.

The hotel staff are so friendly and will help you organise anything you wish but also to get good advice. Always smiling and always happy to help.
The rooms are very nice we stayed in room 388 and it over looked the rice fields. It was so bright and airy and the outside bathtub made this room very special.
We even whilst having breakfast was invited onto a sunset boat ride. Free of charge if staying for 3 night or more I believe. It was very nice and they supplied nibbles some beer water and fresh juice.
There is so many other added extras this hotel will do for you but you cannot write them all. You just have to stay here and then realise why this is no1 in hoi an.
Thank you for a lovely stay.
P.s we still have our bracelets on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You are right - everyone who stays with us for 3 nights or more enjoys the choice of a complimentary sunset cruise, cooking class or buffalo cart ride. It's all part of the fun staying with us. You are part of our Chic family. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent hotel. Such a relaxing way to start each day overlooking rice fields and local villagers going about their business. Staff superb -friendly and helpful - rooms on top floor have beautiful views over rice fields. Quick 10 minute drive in jeep to the town....or jump on a bicycle and explore the nearby beach. Hotel had ample bikes in good condition. Went on a fabulous kayaking trip organised by the hotel...it allowed us to see first-hand life on the river around sunset - great experience, would highly recommend it...also had fun floating bar so you kayak enjoy the sunset whilst drinking a beer/fruit juice and eating snacks. Can't wait to come back!!! Arrived feeling exhausted, left feeling truly blessed to have had this wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Loved the grand suite. I'm a terribly light sleeper - use blue tack every night to block out A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Traveler

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kayaking on the river is a lovely way to spend a couple of hours getting to know the local river culture in this part of the country. It is a part of Hoi An that many people don't get to experience. Our floating bar, housed in a basket boat and floating on the river, stocked with beverages and snacks is a smash hit with our guests! We are glad that you were able to experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la pietra grezza
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Not a lot I can add to the existing reviews, just to add to the overall high recommendation of this place. Set a couple of streets back from the hubbub of the tourist hotels on the main street and away from the high end beach resort hotels, this "boutique" hotel is set in a very tranquil location, amongst paddy fields aongside the local community. With only 17 rooms, the interaction with the friendly and ever helpful staff is on a personal first name level and they go out of their way to assist you in every way they can.
The rooms are perfect, clean and fully serviced to a high standard daily, good hot water supply, aircon, comfy bed, tv, wifi, good view, etc. We took a standard room, as there were no "superior" rooms available at the time of booking. We planned a possible upgrade on arrival (if possible), but when we saw the standard room we were more than happy. Recommend the "front rooms", quiet and secluded, patio looking onto the paddy fields, outdoor "under-the-stars" bath tub (also has seperate shower).
Good breakfast, similar menu daily, great start to the day. Essentially adequate buffet service, with a chef preparing omlette and eggs. They have a resteraunt service, we didnt get chance to try it, but I'm sure it was good.
Old Hoi An is a 20min walk away, 10 min by the bicycles they provide or 5 mins by the shuutle service they provide (fixed timetable) or US$3 by taxi, which they arrange. The beach is a similar distance.
We took one of the day trips they offer; to the My Son ruins, approx. 50km away. Cost was US$65 and was in one of the fleet of ex-US military Willys jeeps they have. Great fun and perhaps th highlight was back-street route the driver took, seeing lots of local village life and stopping for lunch at a local resteraunt; delicious meal for two, with drinks at a total cost of US$5.
We took the bicycles for one day and toured the back routes, including the herb farms, which was fun and relaxed and you get to see how the local popolus live their days. Third day we hired a small motorcycle on the front street (US$6 for the day) and took a trip to Danang to see the Lady Buddha and the San Tra peninsula. Highly recommended trip, but a bigger engined bike if you are going two-up as the road becomes very steep on the mountain road and the bike may not coe. Also take a rain suit (supplied by the hotel) as the rain showers tend to appear from nowhere.

All in all, our stay at Hoi An Chic hotel contributed in a big way to a fantastic trip to northern Vietnam.. a highly recommended vacation trip!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "front" area were great. Away from the brestraunt and pool area. So nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Traveler

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our guests are like part of the family so it is important that you leave happy. We have 17 bicycles available for free use and are indeed a great way to explore the local life here. Thanks for taking a trip with us as well. We try to make sure our tours are bespoke and unique and take you to places that are "off the beaten track". We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Hoi An.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and thought everything was pretty much perfect!. The staff are tremendous, always smiling and helpful. The location is great about half way between town and beach. Getting into town is easy either by taxi (a couple of dollars) or with their shuttle. The room was fantastic and the restaurant very good too. They have bikes to use for free and we really enjoyed riding around the local villages.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoianchic, Owner at Hoi An Chic Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Traveler

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. It is important to us that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Chic next time you visit Hoi An. We have complimentary bicycles as well as a shuttle service in US military style jeeps. For stays of 3 nights or more we have a range of complimentary excursions available and one is included in your room price. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Chic Hotel

Address: Nguyen Trai Street | Cam Chau Ward, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoi An Chic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOI AN CHIC, a boutique retreat is destined for those who want the basics done right - a good night's sleep on a comfortable bed, a good breakfast, great connectivity and all the necessities for a relaxed stay. The ideal place to bring home unforgettable travel experience amidst the fascinating landscape of the pastoral paddy fields.The unique design of HOI AN CHIC coupled with its red terracotta tiled roofs reflects the typical architecture of the ancient town of Hoi An.Location: set amidst the paddy fields and Hoi An countryside, HOI AN CHIC is an ideal place to capture unforgettable travel experience. The retreat is about 37km from Danang airport, 2km from Hoi An ancient town and 2km from Cua Dai beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hoi An Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Chic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.