We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and affordable for Hoi An but don't book the overnight bus to Nha Trang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vesper Homestay

Vesper Homestay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vesper Homestay to your Saves list
Vesper Homestay
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   03 Hai Thuong Lan Ong Street, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 120 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Homely and affordable for Hoi An but don't book the overnight bus to Nha Trang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We chose this home stay initially for the price as it much more reasonable than most places in the center of Hoi An, but stayed an extra night as it turned out to also be very decent. Run primarily by the husband of a newly married couple and his sister, we were made to feel very welcome (although on the last night of our stay we encountered the wife more and got the impression we might have been putting her out a bit which made us feel a little less welcome). It is located out of town but is quite a pleasant 20 minute walk to town and there are some nice restaurants just a couple of minutes walk down the road, one with Bia Hoi for 4000VND.

The rooms are decent and what I would describe as what you might expect from going to stay with family. The place seems pretty new, at least well kept with clean bedrooms with a little bit of dust gathering behind the beds which were rock hard (possibly the hardest we've encountered in our month in SE Asia) but this didn't really bother me as the sheets were clean. Hot water and A/C included as was breakfast which was a choice between very nice traditional Vietnamese noodle soup breakfast (has meat and fish so mention this to them before and you can the alternative which is...) or eggs and bread, with a very nice but small cup of coffee and fruit. It's very quiet around but there is a cockeril that will wake you in the morning as is pretty standard in more out of town rural areas.

The only real negative I have to add (although not the fault of the manager if he is unaware) is that the night/sleeper bus booked through the guest house was an absolute farce! It was run through Vietnam Backpackers by a company called Cuc Tung. The organisation was a shambles with everyone fighting to get on, being hurried by the very unhelpful and unfriendly 'coordinator' who was shouting at people. My seat didn't work and had only half a seat belt. The bus was run down and overbooked so had people sleeping on the floor in the gangways including some very obnoxious and drunk Vietnamese locals (friends of the driver we gathered). To top this the driver was diabolical, speeding and swerving and eventually hit a pot hole at 3am and with an overloaded bus bent the rear axle so we ended up being stranded for 3 hours in the middle of nowhere 160km from Nha Trang whilst some very suspect repairs were being done to the axle because the bus driver, pretending not to understand us, refused to call for a replacement bus and only agreed to get going when 'lynch mob style' everyone on the bus started to have a go at him. Needless to say the next 3 hours of our journey was very uncomfortable wondering whether the bus was structurally sound to be driven by the mad man at the wheel and whether we would survive. Additionally the plethora of frozen goods rammed on to the bus at some point on our trip melted and wet my bag soaking my clothes. There motto on the side of the bus was - 'Safe' (not likely), 'comfortable' (hardly), 'on time' (definitely not!), 'friendly' (you've got to be joking?!). Under NO circumstance book your bus through the guest house, or this company for that matter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night, the best thing about the stay is the manager who is very friendly. The room was OK and fairly clean. Location is not ideal, as it's far from the center and from the beach, but if you use one of their bicycles (for 20,000 VND a day) it's quite easy to get around. The bicycles aren't great quality though. It's very nice to venture away from the center though, there's plenty to see around, for which the location is quite ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After one night in the city center of Hoi An we decided to go another place. We found this lovely recently build house just outside of the city of Hoi An. The area is away from all the tourism and feels really Vietnamese. The 'manager' of the Homestay is a charming guy who does everything to make you feel at home without pushing you or being all around every time. The rooms are clean and lovely, as well as the bathrooms. I would recommend this place if you like to avoid sleeping in the middle of the touristic hotspots, but still want to be able to get there in a short time of period (motorbike takes you approx. 2 minutes). Rates are good, especially compared to the luxury you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodung, Owner at Vesper Homestay, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you very much for this great review. I am very happy to read this.

I will hope to see you again some time.

Kind regards,

Dung Do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose Vesper Homestay for the very low price we were able to get on Booking.com. Though it is slightly out of the citycenter, with a bike (VND 30,000 per day if you book through booking.com, otherwise free) everything is very close and manageable.

It is a very new property and it still looks that way. All is clean and proper. Beds are very comfortable and shower is nice and hot. Room was a bit smaller than most that we had in Vietnam.

Staff speaks English, though not fluently which makes communication sometimes challenging, but all in good fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's a good 20 to 25 minutes walk away from Hoi An town center. Infact, walking is quite pleasant. Depending on the route you take, you walk pass by a buzzling local morning market.

Bikes are provided by Vesper if you choose to cycle into the center instead!

Vesper's very homey! Clean and comfortable room, and spacious common area for chill out. For those who prefer quiet getaway from the lively town center, this is the place! I ended up staying longer than originally intended, and I've heard similar story with other travelers as well.

I would say the only inconvenience is that for breakfast, you would travel to their family restaurant in town center to enjoy it. But as said before, the walk isn't bad and there's always the bike!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vesper Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesper Homestay

Address: 03 Hai Thuong Lan Ong Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vesper Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vesper Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vesper Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.