We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Lan Riviera Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Van Lan Riviera Villas to your Saves list
Van Lan Riviera Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Village 04, Cam Thanh Ward, Hoi An, Viet Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We have just spent 4 magical days in heaven. After viewing many fancy resorts this place caught our eye because of its uniqueness and tranquility. The villas are very clean, beautiful and the surrounding area is pretty awesome. However, the special mention goes to the outstanding staff who work here. We felt at home from the first day. They couldn't do enough for us. We were treated like family! They really made our special day ( 6 year anniversary) a day to remember.

We wanted to experience true Vietnam and thanks to the Van Lan family we really did! A motorbike ride with them through vegetable patches, rice fields, local villages, made our last day a day to remember! They shared so much about the culture, something we would never have got from the big hotels.

The generosity, simplicity and general kindness of this family along with an awesome location by the river make the place a 5 star!

If you're looking for peace and quiet, and you want to experience true vietnamese culture at its best, this is the place to stay! Be prepared for true sadness when you leave....



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngoctranau, Manager at Van Lan Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Ms Nathalie!

Warmest Greetings from Van Lan Riviera Hoi An, Vietnam.
How are you? We hope you well!

Thank you so much for your kind review of Van Lan Riviera, we are very happy to know you had a good relaxing time here. And you were happy with our staff, services.

Thank you so much again for taking time out of your day to review us, please take care and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards and A Happy New Year to you and your family,

Management Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Danang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our second happy visit to the Van Lan Riviera Villas. We first arrived there on October 4th, 2013, and Typhoon Nari struck Hoi An hard overnight. We were "forced" to extend our stay for two extra days because the rest of the area was devastated. The villas were all unaffected however. They're all new, strongly constructed above flood levels and impervious to heavy winds, rain and river water. We know! The beautifully-designed, spacious rooms and kitchen provided the perfect haven and the lovely staff checked on us regularly. The worst thing that happened was when Mr. Phong had to come to our room late at night, equipped with an amazing twenty-foot long net, to rescue a giant moth that was also sheltering from the oncoming storm and meanwhile frantically dive-bombing us from the high ceiling.

Well, like the others, we can't say enough good things about the Van Lan Riviera Villas, in every respect, so I won't! The friendliness, the cleanliness, the service and relative solitude are unique. The villas have a special aura that can't be explained until you've stayed in one. I hear that the family is planning some special surprises at Christmas and the New Year, in addition to the customary, delicious guest birthday cakes! Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngoctranau, Manager at Van Lan Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your kind review of Van Lan Riviera, we are very happy to know you had a good relaxing time here. And you were happy with our staff, services.
We were past experience the storm and that is special time with you and us. We always remember and thanks your family accept to stay us.

Thank you so much again for taking time out of your day to review us, please take care and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards and A Happy New Year to you and your family,

Management Team & Mr Phong,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November and I must say we could not of been in better hands. When we arrived Typhoon Hiayan was due to hit Hoi An head on. The staff had emailed us that morning to see if we wished to cancel our stay with them as other guests had done so and those who were there had left. We had just landed and had no where else to go, so continued with our trip as planned. On our arrival we were shown straight to a Villa at the back of the premises. all the windows were tapped up and it was phong and his sister (who own the villas) that were there to greet us, the res of the staff had been allowed home to prepare for the typhoon. They gave us one of their mobile phones so that we had a local phone at no cost to us. They did not want us to leave the villa until there was more news on the storm that was to hit. they brought anything that we wanted to us. food, drink nothing was too much. we were lucky and the typhoon passed with out much trouble. The next day we were able to get out and explore. Phong gave us advice on where to go, called us a taxi and made sure we had a taxi number in the phone he had given us so that we could get back. The taxi was only 45,000 dong and took just a few minutes into the town. That night we ordered food at the villas again. Phongs sister brought us some chicken fried rice which was the best in our 3 week stay in Vietnam. She also brought us some Banana bread that her mother had made us, it was beautiful. she sat and spoke with us for a while and we really felt at home. I was very sad to leave and wish we could have spent longer here. The villa was extremely spacious, finished to a high standard, private and quite and excellent value for money. The pictures you see on the internet is exactly what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngoctranau, Manager at Van Lan Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello you!

Thank you so much for your kind review of Van Lan Riviera, we are very happy to know you had a good relaxing time here. And you were happy with our staff, services.

We were past experience the storm and that is special time with you and us. We always remember and thanks your family accept to stay us.

My sister is very happy with your review, she want to say hello with you. She say if you comeback, she will guide you and your family go to around Cam Thanh with local tour and enjoy speciality Hoi An dishes.

Thank you so much again for taking time out of your day to review us, please take care and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards and A Happy New Year to you and your family,

Management Team & Mr Phong,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I both wished we could have stayed longer at this lovely place. Unfortunately we'd only booked for one night with our son and his girlfriend so we didn't have time to fully appreciate the surrounding area. I would definitely go back there though. The villas were spacious and clean and it was great to have a kitchen and living area when we'd been travelling nonstop and living in hotel rooms for two weeks. Above all else though, the owners were wonderful friendly people. When they noticed on my passport that it was my birthday they hurriedly organised me a beautiful birthday cake which they presented to me before we left. I felt very touched by this generous and thoughtful gesture.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngoctranau, Manager at Van Lan Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Mrs Helen!

Warmest Greetings from Van Lan Riviera Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us only night.

We are all very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your time, staff and service, we are very happy to service your husband birthday.

We hope welcome your family on next time with long time, we will Introduct some local tour for you enjoy.

Wishing you and your family all the Best Happy New Year.

The Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Van Lan for 2 nights in October and we loved it. We stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 storey villa with our 2 children. The Villa was beautiful! It was relaxing, clean and just what we needed. Having a pool was the perfect way to cool down in the afternoon though it did have a few broken tiles and my son cut his foot on it. We loved using the bicycles to cycle into town and to the beach, although we did get lost numerous time!! The staff were so friendly and willing to help whenever needed. They organised our pick up from the airport and back again for a very good price. Breakfast next to the river was lovely and a great start to the day. Would highly recommend staying at Van Lan, particularly if you have children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngoctranau, Manager at Van Lan Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello you!

Thank you so much for your kind review of Van Lan Riviera, we are very happy to know you had a good relaxing time here. And you were happy with our staff, services.

We were past experience the storm and that is special time with you and us. We always remember and thanks your family accept to stay us.

My sister is very happy with your review, she want to say hello with you. She say if you comeback, she will guide you and your family go to around Cam Thanh with local tour and enjoy speciality Hoi An dishes.

Thank you so much again for taking time out of your day to review us, please take care and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards and A Happy New Year to you and your family,

Management Team & Mr Phong,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

When I left Van Lan yesterday I started to miss it. Our vacations were perfect and mostly because of the place we lived. We traveled with big company and rent 2 villas - one family and one double. When we arrived we were inspired by nature around and peaceful atmosphere of the place. And kids of course were crazy about the pool. We spent 4 days there and nothing to complain at all. Even more. Our kid have had a birthday and Van Lan presented us a big and very tasty cake and support a celebration in the everning. I highly recommend this place to all my friends in Vietnam and abroad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngoctranau, Manager at Van Lan Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello!

Warmest Greetings from Van Lan Riviera Hoi An, Vietnam.

Thank you so much for your kind review of Van Lan Riviera, we are very happy to know you had a good relaxing time here. We always support to arrange party if we know that is speciality date of guests. We hope you until remember us and will comeback near time.

With kind regards and A Happy New Year to you and your family,

Management Team,

Management Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is certainly a place to stay when you are looking for a peaceful, family friendly environment. The Villas are beautiful and gave you sense of luxury without the 'pomp' of a resort. Our children loved the pool as it was very refreshing and very clean!
Breakfast by the river was a lovely way to start the day, yummy food. The friendly and helpful team at Van Lan Riviera were were never too busy to offer advice, book a cab or attend to our needs.
I recommend this place and will definitely return to this place. We were genuinely sad to leave there.

Room Tip: The beauty of Van Lan Riviera is that there are only 5 Villas. I had two children who had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngoctranau, Manager at Van Lan Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Ms Lester!

Thanks a lot for your comment. It´s very important to us know what you think about our villas and services. Your experience will serve for a better improvement in the near future.

Thank you so much again for taking time out of your day to review us, please take care and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards and A Happy New Year to you and your family,

Management Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van Lan Riviera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Lan Riviera Villas

Address: Village 04, Cam Thanh Ward, Hoi An, Viet Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Lan Riviera Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the 7th generation of the Le Family and Van Lan Riviera Villas is named under the name of our grandfather who was an herbalist helping people in Hoi An area ages ago.The idea of building Van Lan Riviera Villas comes from the initiative to introduce you our mother land- the peaceful village of Cam Thanh. Your holidays will be guaranteed of high relaxation in the most quiet and natural place in Hoi An. Our Van Lan Duong family members will especially take good care of you and your companions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Van Lan Riviera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Lan Riviera Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.