We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko

Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko
341/6 Nguyen Duy Hieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Blue Gecko Restaurant and Bar)
+84 510 3914 097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $2 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dear Our value customers,Warm greetings from Blue Gecko Restaurant & Bar.We are pleased to take this opportunity to introduce ourselves as one of the freshest and greenest Restaurant & Bar in Hoi An, Vietnam. We are constantly looking forward to your listed destination from different countries. Thus we would like to explore the possibility of being included in your accredited list in Hoi An. We specialized in Vietnamese cuisines and asian foods...You will be satisfied and pleasured with servives at Blue Gecko restaurant & bar. Please feel free to get in touch with us to discuss further how we can be of service to you.With best regards,Ms. Phan Thi Le ThuyBlue Gecko Restaurant & Bar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

After reading many good reviews on tripadvisor, we went to Blue Gecko. In a narrow side street, we found this hotel introduced by many cute little lamps which brought us to the entrance. They parked our bikes for us which was sweet. The menu was quite big, so we chose 2 mains that we shared. Our expectations were really high so we expected something very special. The food was just good, but not very special or different than other restaurants we went to.
It's definitely a nice place to eat, very nice staff, who are eager to learn English. They also do cooking classes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Liz coopey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Just had a lovely evening meal at Blue Gecko ( 27th November 2014 ). Down an alley off the Main Street on the way to the market.
Food was delicious & cocktails lovely.
The staff & owner were friendly & helpful & it was very reasonably priced. Will definetely be visiting again before we leave Hoi An
Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit-wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

This restaurant is down an alleyway in Hoi An and well worth finding. The staff are really friendly and helfpul and the meal was full of flavour. It was expertly cooked and presented. All the dishes we had were fresh, tasty and interesting. They do have cooking classes at this restaurant which we have not tried. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone!!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Off the track but worth making the effort to get there..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Tucked away down an alleyway and away from the main areas of Hoi An but a very private restaurant. Lovely staff and the food was special. Individually cooked, wonderful fresh flavours and just something different. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“All that glitters is not gold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

After reading so many glowing reviews. I popped in for dinner last night,
It was going to be for a quick dinner. Ordered 2 serves of Cao Lau and 1 serve Banh Xeo
Chatting to my colleague for quite some time. A motor bike arrives with take out.
We are served 2 bowls tepid Cao Lau and one cold Banh Xeo with a dipping sauce that was inedible.I have my favourites in Hoi An, decided to get out of my comfort zone, I live by reviews on trip advisor when i am travelling. so tried two new places today. ! wins 1 doesn't

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Restaurant - Blue Gecko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.